Charlene Y. (CharleneY) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 81 - Page:
The Alchemist
The Alchemist
Author: Paulo Coelho, Alan R. Clarke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Very good classic story that everyone should read.


All Over But the Shoutin'
All Over But the Shoutin'
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 10/16/2006


this is a ver good memoir


The Archivist
The Archivist
Author: Martha Cooley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/19/2007


I would say an enjoyable and challenging read, nothing earth-shattering.


As I Lay Dying
As I Lay Dying
Author: William Faulkner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Somewhat interesting, though sometimes the language and writing style was hard to muddle through.


At Risk
At Risk
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I don't like Alice Hoffman in general but would say this is her best book that I know of. It's a touching and sad story, even if its telling is slightly sentimental.


Beloved
Beloved
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 1/19/2007


Really good writing but somehow hard to get through. But I really do think it's a great story.


Best Friends
Best Friends
Author: Martha Moody
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/19/2007


The characters aren't too likeable, disappointed by the ending.


Birds of America
Birds of America
Author: Lorrie Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/19/2007


Very entertaining if you like short stories-- unusual characters and inventive storylines.


Blackbird : A Childhood Lost and Found
Blackbird : A Childhood Lost and Found
Author: Jennifer Lauck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Really good book, if you're not already sick of coming of age stories like I am! If so, wait a little while so you can fully appreciate this one.


The Book Borrower: A Novel
The Book Borrower: A Novel
Author: Alice Mattison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A novel inside a novel-- the contemporary story examines (pseudo-)friendship and betrayal, and was interesting enough; wasn't too enthralled with the historical back-story involving an anarchist and her sister.


Breath, Eyes, Memory
Breath, Eyes, Memory
Author: Edwidge Danticat
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Good writing. For example: "I come from a place where breath, eyes and memory are one, a place from which you carry your past like the hair on your head. Where women return to their children as butterflies or as tears in the eyes of the statues that their daughters pray to."


Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 604
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


LOVED it. of course it's totally drivel, but if something makes you laugh, it's worthy, in my opinion.


Butcher Boy
Butcher Boy
Author: Patrick McCabe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Very twisted and insane story told by a demented young boy who surely needs some Ritalin. Patrick McCabe is a very talented writer and this novel was nominated for the Booker prize; it is a little hard to follow at times, between Francie's disjointed narrative and his madness, but well worth the effort.


Cat's Cradle
Cat's Cradle
Author: Kurt Vonnegut
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 2/11/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is the BEST book. I don't like "science fiction" but this is nothing like you've read. If you're already a Kurt Vonnegut fan, you know what I mean. I LOVE this author!


The Center of Everything
The Center of Everything
Author: Laura Moriarty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Another "coming of age" novel but this is one of the more memorable ones. i really liked the main character and felt a lot of sympathy for her being stuck with the family she was, although as you read they do have redeeming qualities, like most people in the world I guess.


Charming Billy
Charming Billy
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/19/2007


Really enjoyed it-- I think the author is extremely gifted.


Crime And Punishment
Crime And Punishment
Author: Fyodor Dostoevsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a GREAT novel. And I didn't read it because anyone forced me either. People try to make it out to be such an intimidating book, but the language is easy to understand (unlike say Charles Dickens or Jane Austen), after a while you get used to all the Russian names, and it's a fabulous, fascinating story.


CRUDDY: An Illustrated Novel
CRUDDY: An Illustrated Novel
Author: Lynda Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


LOVED IT! and i'm not a teenager. but it was really cool. i guess you'd say it's a little (okay, a LOT) dark?


The Dress Lodger
The Dress Lodger
Author: Sheri Holman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 2/11/2007
Helpful Score: 7


I just finished reading this and it was the most original, wonderfully written story I have read in a long time. It brought out a lot of emotion in me; this book makes you sympathize with seemingly unredeemable personalities. If you're looking for a happy ending or any kind of romance, this isn't for you. But I recommend highly to anyone who wants a fascinating literary experience that sucks you in and keeps you absorbed until the very last page.


The Drowning People
The Drowning People
Author: Richard Mason
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/19/2007


I thought this was a very entertaining book; meanwhile, my friend's opinion was that richard mason should stop attempting to write books. hmm, i guess you'll have to decide for yourselves.


1 to 20 of 81 - Page: