Sara A. (sarabelle) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Change of Heart
Change of Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 451
Review Date: 1/11/2010


I am surprised by all of the negative reviews of this book. I thought it was fantastic, and while it was sometimes slow in the middle, the purpose was character development that drove the plotline. This one had a tearjerker ending for me, too. This is the first I've read of hers, and if it's the "worst", I can't wait to read the best!


The Dead Don't Dance (Awakening, Bk 1)
The Dead Don't Dance (Awakening, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 2/16/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This is one of my favorite novels of all time. I am afraid I may never again read another one this good. This is a strongly character-driven novel in the voice of a man waiting for his wife to awake from a coma. I was hooked from the very first page and finished it in two days. Dillan's love for his wife is heartwrenching and so pure. This is Charles Martin's first book, and in my opinion, his best. Have the tissues ready for this one! I can't wait to read it again.


Lost & Found (Rocky Pelligrino, Bk 1)
Lost & Found (Rocky Pelligrino, Bk 1)
Author: Jacqueline Sheehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 488
Review Date: 6/28/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was amazing. If you are a dog lover, you must read it. This is a very moving story about a broken woman and the dog she thinks she has saved, but who really saves her and the people around her. I read it in a few days and hated that it was over. Highly recommend!


Me and Mr. Darcy
Me and Mr. Darcy
Author: Alexandra Potter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 305
Review Date: 1/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Honestly, it took me awhile to get into this book. But once I got into it, I really enjoyed it. It is a great book when you need something lighthearted and I loved the ending! I would definitely recommend it for anyone who enjoys classic literature (especially Pride & Prejudice), because there are tons of literary references. I also loved the main character. She was a very real person who often reminded me of myself. Good read!


Message in a Bottle
Message in a Bottle
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 288
Review Date: 2/19/2010


This was an amazing love story and an amazing book! One of Sparks' best. Don't see the movie. It was terrible.


Rosie Dunne (aka Where Rainbows End) (aka Love, Rosie)
Rosie Dunne (aka Where Rainbows End) (aka Love, Rosie)
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 2/16/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I couldn't finish this book. I rarely put a book down without finishing it, but I couldn't get into it due to it being written in the form of letters and emails. If you like that way of writing, then I think the story would be good. If you're like me and want more actual dialogue, I don't think you'll like it very much.


Something Blue (Darcy & Rachel, Bk 2)
Something Blue (Darcy & Rachel, Bk 2)
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1651
Review Date: 2/17/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book made me laugh, made me cry, made me want to scream at the main character at times, and I LOVED it! This is my favorite of the author's books. You must read "Something Borrowed" first to really get this book. Both are great reads!


Under the Dome
Under the Dome
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 324
Review Date: 8/20/2010


This is my first read by Stephen King. I only read it because it was chosen by my book club, so I may have a different opinion from those who frequently read his books.

The book is about how people behave when in a crisis situation.

It took me about 300 pages to even become remotely interested in the storyline. King is great with description and it felt like you were really there, but I didn't really care to be there. I really liked some of the characters, and really detested the ones I was supposed to, so he did his job in that arena. I guess this just wasn't a story that interested me.

King also uses so much description that it took him 1,064 pages to get through 6 or 7 days. The first 300 pages covered approximately 10 minutes in "real" time in the book. I found myself frequently thinking, "okay, I get it already, let's get on with the point." Since I have no previous experience with King books, I can't say if this is his norm or not. The book was also quite violent. If you enjoy that kind of thing, you will like this book. I don't, particularly. Again, just not my thing.

Additionally, I felt that the end of the story just sort of fizzled out. Like he didn't know how to end it and he was running out of space or something. My book club friends agreed, for the record, though they loved the rest of the book.

SPOILER ALERT!!!
I wondered the entire time if it was going to be aliens controlling the dome. I hate alien stories. I don't know why, but I do. It was aliens, which annoyed me, but it still wasn't what the story was about, so it didn't really matter.


The Undomestic Goddess
The Undomestic Goddess
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 877
Review Date: 2/17/2009


This is my second book by Sophie Kinsella and I absolutely loved it! I flew through it and never wanted to put it down. Rarely does this happen to me, so I was really pleased! The heroine is a smart gal who gets herself into a bit of a mess. I absolutely love the leading man and rooted for them to get together from the beginning. If you love chick lit, you'll love this book!

I want a sequel!


When Crickets Cry
When Crickets Cry
Author: Charles Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 2/16/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Fantastic book about relationships, love, and the human spirit. The little girl is amazing and the story is heartwrenching and heartwarming at the same time. Charles Martin has done it again! Great read.


1 to 10 of 10