Charlene (ATraveler) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 194 - Page:
The 6th Target (Women's Murder Club, Bk 6)
The 6th Target (Women's Murder Club, Bk 6)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 428
Review Date: 3/24/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent 6th book in Patterson's series. This one has a lot more going on at once so it felt like it jumped around a lot more than previous books. It had two distinct crime stories which of course also include a trial. Then there was two romantic storylines for Boxer. The sidekicks were a lot less developed in this book and the Women's Murder Club really didn't work together to solve the crime.


7th Heaven (Women's Murder Club, Bk 7)
7th Heaven (Women's Murder Club, Bk 7)
Author: Maxine Paetro, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 623
Review Date: 8/26/2008
Helpful Score: 5


Another good read in the Women's Murder Club. This one had three storie lines intertwined -- fire-based murders, a missing sick young man, and the court drama. Yuki, the young lawyer, shared the spot light with Lindsey for this story. And again an unexpected twist at the end. I did feel the the other characters in the 'Club' were tossed in and their events did not really fit into the overall story line -- kind of an after thought to make sure they were included and not forgotten. If you have stuck with the Club this long you will enjoy this book. I look forward to the next one too.


The ABC Murders (Hercule Poirot, Bk 12) (aka The Alphabet Murders)
Review Date: 4/16/2011


This is the first Agatha Christie I have read . . . I am a murder mystery fan but have never picked her books up before. This one was out of the H Poirot series; the first mystery since he has retired. I enjoyed it and even though I was tuned into looking for the who-dun-it I was surprised at the revelation of the murder. So newbees to murder mysteries -- this is a good book and I suspect I will enjoy other Agatha Christie novels now that I have 'tested the waters'


Acqua Alta (Guido Brunetti, Bk 5)
Acqua Alta (Guido Brunetti, Bk 5)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 9/3/2008


This is one of my favorite Donna Leon books. She has brought back the characters from her first book -- The Singer and her 'friend' Brett, the American -- and really 'fleshed' them out. The story centers around Brett and her work with ancient Chinesse porcelain. Once again the bad guys don't necessarily see the inside of a jail but in the end got their 'due'. I hope we see them in future stories.


After the Fall
After the Fall
Author: Arthur Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/15/2008


Interesting book . . . odd yet common story. Man's view and justification in the aftermath of the results of his afair. As a classic, was worth the time to read.


Airtight Case (Lindsay Chamberlain, Bk 5)
Airtight Case (Lindsay Chamberlain, Bk 5)
Author: Beverly Connor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/19/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was a very interesting story especially pulling in the details on how history of the community helped in the 'dig'. I especially liked the twist at the very end that
neatly wrapped up the 'why' of the mystery of the historical families.

WARNING do not read this as your first Lindsay Chamberlain novel -- you need the background from other novels to understand her since she starts out with amnesia.


The Alchemist
The Alchemist
Author: Paulo Coelho, Alan R. Clarke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 747
Review Date: 7/21/2008
Helpful Score: 8


A well written easy read. Reminisent of the Little Prince. Interesting flow of events showing that life is always teaching through trial and tribulations and that maintaining your faith in your dreams should always be a priority. Happiness comes to those who look for it.


The Alexandria Link (Cotton Malone, Bk 2)
The Alexandria Link (Cotton Malone, Bk 2)
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 279
Review Date: 6/28/2009


Good stand-alone story -- didn't need to read the first Cotton Malone story; but it did make references to the previous story.

This is similar to the Da Vinci Code where religion, as accepted today, is called into question. And a quest for the truth is full of twists and turns where friends and foes overlap. Lots of double crossing from obvious as well as surprising sources.

I'll be checking out the other books with this main character.


The Amazing Mrs. Pollifax (Mrs Pollifax, Bk 2)
The Amazing Mrs. Pollifax (Mrs Pollifax, Bk 2)
Author: Dorothy Gilman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 6/1/2010


Another great Mrs Pollofax adventure. This time she is headed to Turkey to pass a defecting spy money and a passport . . . but of course things don't go as planned and its Mrs Pollifax's charm and wit that save the day. The traditionally good guys and the bad guys just aren't who they seem.


Anguished English: An Anthology of Accidental Assaults upon Our Language
Review Date: 3/24/2009


A short book on the english language and the funny ways we abuse it. Some of the humor was familar -- probably made the rounds of the internet -- but other were new. Light enjoyable read.


The Anonymous Venetian a/k/a Dressed for Death (Guido Brunetti, Bk 3)
The Anonymous Venetian a/k/a Dressed for Death (Guido Brunetti, Bk 3)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/11/2008


Also under the title Dressed for Death, this was another enjoyable cop mystery. This one peeked into the Transvestite community on the edge of the Venetian society. It was well done. It did not get wrapped up in a debate on pervisions or their right/wrong-ness. Again it was a great mystery with a weel told story.


The Autumn Castle (Europa Suite)
The Autumn Castle (Europa Suite)
Author: Kim Wilkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent story weaving fairy folklore into a modern day story. Although I was not surprised by the story's turns I like how they were handled. And at the end I liked the fairytale style wrap-up of the story. It ended as I wanted it to. If you liked Gaints of the Frost then I think you will like this one too.


Before Adam
Before Adam
Author: Jack London
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/27/2010


very good and very different . . . interesting idea that the modern man has genetic memory of the primative times. well presented with enough science to sell the idea but not bog the story down. Worth the time for the read . . . only just over 100 pages.


Before I Wake
Before I Wake
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 8/4/2008


Very enjoyable Dee Hernderson book. It is set to be the start of a new series. The main character Rae has just quit being an undercover FBI agents (last mission went bad) and has taken an old friends offer to be his partner in a detective agency in a small town. They join forces with the Town sherrif and al become friends. Myster revolves around a young woman reporter that dies in a hotel. Rae was the last to see her alive and the parents come to her to answer questions of why she was in town.


The Bible of Clay
The Bible of Clay
Author: Julia Navarro
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/9/2010


Interesting story with multi-plot lines going on. For me I saw right through a couple of the twists but it was still well done. She used flash-backs to set up the present plot and explain twists and turns. Definitely worth the time to read. Skipped the religious implications of the "find" which really wasn't important to the story line.


Blood from a Stone (Guido Brunetti, Bk 14)
Blood from a Stone (Guido Brunetti, Bk 14)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/20/2008


Another excellent Dona Leon. This one details the society on the outskirts of Venice where third country nationals are coming to the western countries trying to make a better life yet seem not to exist when not in public view. The title aludes to the African conflict developed from the continent's natural resources yet poor and violent societies. Once again Leon's character struggles between society's prejudges and the reality of the individual.


Blood Oath : Vol. 1
Blood Oath : Vol. 1
Author: David Morrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/10/2011


An OK read. The plot was interesting -- a son looking for the grave in Germany of his WWII father finds it missing. He stubles onto a mystery someone does not want solved. The girl/love interest was lacking in reality since he starts the story with a wife. But the adventure was plausable and the action at the right speed. I wouldn't put off reading something else for this story but it would be good for a vacation or traveling book.


The Boleyn Inheritance
The Boleyn Inheritance
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 616
Review Date: 6/13/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Another good book by Gregory. I found this one a little harder to read from the three different women's views but it added and interesting dimention to the story to see how differently the situation was precieved.
For Jane, Gregory gets to you understand if not like her character. Hemmed in by historical fact, I didn't like the way Jane's story ended.
For Anne of Cleves, I found the insight to this character plausable and I liked this strong woman.
For Katherine, Gregory developed a believable frivolous little girl . . .she was only 15!


Bones to Ashes (Temperance Brennan, Bk 10)
Bones to Ashes (Temperance Brennan, Bk 10)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 10/15/2008


One of her best storylines. Just shy of enough hints of what was wrong with the skeleton to guess before hand and very nice tie-in to the story as a whole. She did tidied-up the loose ends/side detractions a little fast as she ended the story. As for the personnally relationship between Tempe and Ryan, I didn't like the track she took but I guess to continue with their relationship in future books it needed this turn. Looking forward to the next book to come out soon.


The Bourne Identity (Bourne, Bk 1)
The Bourne Identity (Bourne, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 2/13/2008


Warning to Movie Watchers: Do not expect it to be the same as the movie although of the three in the series I think this one the movie followed the closest. It was a good book as a stand alone and sets the book series up well.


1 to 20 of 194 - Page: