Lori S. (Dreamwords) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 51 - Page:
5-Minute Retreats for Moms
5-Minute Retreats for Moms
Author: Sue Augustine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/11/2006


"Are the responsibilities of motherhood robbing you of daily joy? Do you feel overwhelmed? Find your spirit and patience reservoir refilled as you begin to purposely schedule moments of solitude - reading this book, having tea on the back porch, even doodling and dawdling." -- from the back cover.

Full of ideas for mini retreats for mom. Most can be done right at home!


American Red Cross basic aid training instructor's manual
American Red Cross basic aid training instructor's manual
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/29/2006


A great lesson book in first aid, including CPR. The book is over 200 pages long. You don't need the student text with this instructor's manual. You could easily teach yourself or a child basic first aid from this book.


Avoiding the Greener Grass Syndrome: How to Grow Affair Proof Hedges Around Your Marriage
Review Date: 3/12/2006


From the back of the book: "From a woman who strayed to the other side of the marital fence - and returned to find forgiveness and restoration - comes this practical book about predicting and preventing an extramarital affair." I have personally met the author, who truly is a humble and wonderful person.


The Beloved Invader (St. Simons Trilogy, Bk 3)
The Beloved Invader (St. Simons Trilogy, Bk 3)
Author: Eugenia Price
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/10/2006


I adore Eugenia Price books. This is another of her well-written historical novels set in the Deep South. Her characters come alive in her stories. If you visit the towns in her writings, you can find gravestones, houses, and other historic sites that were mentioned in her novels. I'm only posting this book because I have another copy of it. I'd never let my last copy of a Eugenia Price book go!


Biscuit (My First I Can Read Book)
Biscuit (My First I Can Read Book)
Author: Pat Schories (Illustrator), Alyssa Satin Capucilli
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/29/2006


A good reader for those starting to read.


Captivating : Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul
Captivating : Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul
Author: John Eldredge, Stasi Eldredge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 198
Review Date: 5/14/2007
Helpful Score: 7


I love John Eldredge's books, so I was extremely excited to get this book for women. I stood in line for quite a while to get one of the first copies available. I was disappointed in the book, in a huge way.

Instead of embracing all types of femininity, the book pushes one toward the single type preferred by the authors: a strong woman who is nothing like "Martha" (both Martha Stewart and the Martha in the Bible who was working in the kitchen while her sister, Mary, was relaxing at Jesus' feet).

Passages like this one bother me: "For a woman to unveil her beauty means she is offering her heart. Not primarily her works or her usefulness (think Martha in the kitchen). Offering her presence. At family gatherings, my (Staci's) mother hid in the kitchen. She cooked and baked and prepared and served and cleaned and for the life of us, we couldn't get her out of there. We wanted her to share her life with us, not just her efforts. She wouldn't come. And we were less because of it."

Perhaps the mother was showing love in the way she was most talented. Why couldn't anyone join her in the kitchen and offer HER their presence?


The Complete Guide to Decorative Stamping: Decorate Your Home Simply and Beautifully With Your Own Easy-To-Make Stamp Designs (Watson-Guptill Crafts)
Review Date: 6/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A beautiful book with many, many full color photographs to aid you in decorating your home with stamping. Full instructions included.


Creative Cash : How to Profit From Your Special Artistry, Creativity, Hand Skills, and Related Know-How
Review Date: 6/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


One of my favorite books. This one will get you started toward making money through your crafts and art.


Dillard's Celebrate the Holidays Hand in Hand
Dillard's Celebrate the Holidays Hand in Hand
Author: Dillard's
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/20/2007


Includes a CD of holiday music! Brand new book and CD. Book includes art and craft projects.


Disney's Parent's Guide (Disney's Read and Grow Library, Vol 19)
Review Date: 7/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A book full of activity ideas that can be used alongside many of Disney's favorite books. This book would be a wonderful addition to your summer activity list or to your homeschool.


Doctor Dolittle Tales
Doctor Dolittle Tales
Author: Hugh Lofting
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/12/2006


A classic!


The Do's and Don't s of Low Blood Sugar: An Everyday Guide to Hypoglycemia
Review Date: 5/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a simple book, easy to read. It is 129 pages long and contains many helpful tips on managing your blood sugar, whether that be for hypoglycemia or for losing weight.


Dried Flowers: Over 20 Natural Projects for the Home (Inspirations Series)
Review Date: 10/12/2006


Many ideas and beautiful photographs


Dying to Decorate (Friday Afternoon Club, Bk 1) (Motherhood Club)
Dying to Decorate (Friday Afternoon Club, Bk 1) (Motherhood Club)
Author: Cyndy Salzmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 4/22/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I really enjoyed this novel. It's a lot different than your average fictional mystery. Interspersed throughout the novel are the complete recipes that the characters are creating, including Johnnycakes, Cowpoke Chicken, and Audrey's Strawberry Spinach Salad.


Find Nat (Get Ready Get Set Read)
Find Nat (Get Ready Get Set Read)
Author: Kelli C. Foster, Kelli Foster, Gina Erickson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/29/2006
Helpful Score: 1


When learning to read, my kids loved this book. It is about Nat and includes many rhyming words.


Florida Lawn Handbook: An Environmental Approach to Care and Maintenance of Your Lawn
Review Date: 10/12/2006


Includes all the information you could possibly need, based on U of Florida research, on growing a lawn not only in Florida but in the SouthEastern US.


French Women Don't Get Fat: The Secret of Eating For Pleasure
French Women Don't Get Fat: The Secret of Eating For Pleasure
Author: Mireille Guiliano
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 7/31/2007
Helpful Score: 15


Absolutely love this book! I let it sit on my shelf for six months. I guess the title made me a little defensive, yet it intrigued me enough to order the book. Finally, bored with nothing to read, I picked up the book, and couldn't put it back down.

It just makes sense. Eat healthy, whole foods. Eat chocolate. Drink wine. But do everything in moderation.


God's Daily Answer
God's Daily Answer
Author: Elm Hill Books
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/12/2006


A beautiful gift book full of devotionals that are followed by quotes from famous people or from God's Word.


Good Habits For Gods Kids My Clean Room (Happy Day Book)
Good Habits For Gods Kids My Clean Room (Happy Day Book)
Author: Jean Fisher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/3/2006


A full colour book encouraging children to keep clean rooms. Faith-based teaching.


Grandma's Wisdom: Secure in His Love, Faith and Joy
Grandma's Wisdom: Secure in His Love, Faith and Joy
Author: Susan Fuller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/17/2006


Includes an envelope inside the back cover for storing the paper dolls (included)


1 to 20 of 51 - Page: