Karen B. (dietqueen) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Bloody Silks
Bloody Silks
Author: Merle Horwitz
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/10/2010


Harvey Ace has had enough of bloodshed. A retired private eye, he plays the horses, socializes well up in the L.A. elite, and tries tgo keep out of trouble.

But Ace is a sucker for murder cases. Which is why, when young Mary Jarn drops dead at his feet at the racetrack, cryptic note in hand, he soon finds himself up to his nose in a drug trafficking scheme and a price on his head.

Haunted by Mary Jarn's death, Ace hits the detective trail in search of answers. His questions shake up the principal players in a big-time drug deal: an overweight, has-been jockey, a wealthy entrepreneur and a mysterious partner from Ace's own circle of trusted friends. Their net of greed, lust and deceit traps Ace in a deadly stranglehold.

Running a race against time, Ace is the dark horse. The pressure is sky-high-win or die. But Ace is a gambling man, even if the stakes are his own life.


The Case of Lucy Bending
The Case of Lucy Bending
Author: Lawrence Sanders
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/8/2011


Good book, interesting read.


A Christmas prayer (Tis the season)
A Christmas prayer (Tis the season)
Author: Michi Fujimoto
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  ?
Review Date: 9/15/2010


This is a childrens book about a family's love for Christmas.


Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Bk 8)
Conspiracy in Death (In Death, Bk 8)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 575
Review Date: 7/8/2011


I love this series and LOVED this book.


Fergus the Farmyard Dog
Fergus the Farmyard Dog
Author: Tony Maddox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/26/2011


This is not a paperback book, it is an audio cassette. I could have sworn I put it in that way. My 3 year old grandson loved this but I don't get to see him much and so now I would like to pass this along for someone else's child to enjoy.


GOLD MEDAL BREADS AND SPREADS
GOLD MEDAL BREADS AND SPREADS
Author: Gold MEDAL
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  ?
Review Date: 6/30/2010


This is a brand new book. I bought it a couple of months ago, but I don't have as much time to cook as I used to and thought maybe someone else would be interested in it.


Grave Surprise (Harper Connelly, Bk 2)
Grave Surprise (Harper Connelly, Bk 2)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 579
Review Date: 1/26/2012


I love this series and this book is no exception. I am anxiously waiting to see if she will come out with book 5.


Hearse of a Different Color (Hitchcock Sewell, Bk 2)
Hearse of a Different Color (Hitchcock Sewell, Bk 2)
Author: Tim Cockey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 8/6/2011


This is a new author for me. I read the first in the series and was interested enough to want to try the whole series. I found this one to be as entertaining as the first and am really looking forward to number 3.


Holiday in Death (In Death, Bk 7)
Holiday in Death (In Death, Bk 7)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 557
Review Date: 7/3/2011


I am addicted to this whole series so of course I loved it. I would recommend it to anyone who loves a godd paced mystery.


The Master Butchers Singing Club
The Master Butchers Singing Club
Author: Louise Erdrich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 7/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't know if I was going to like it or not, but once I started reading it I could not put it down. I kept drawing me to it.


Off We Go!
Off We Go!
Author: Jane Yolen, Laurel Molk
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/18/2011


Very cute book. My littlest grandson has had me read it to him so many times I have lost count.


Plum Spooky ( Between-the-Numbers, Bk 4) (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14.5) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 8/3/2011


I really liked the book. I didn't think it was as funny as the numbers books, but it had it's moments that made me laugh out loud.


Red (Circle, Bk 2)
Red (Circle, Bk 2)
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 8/19/2011


I love this series. As usual Ted Dekker does not disappoint. Once you start to read the book it is hard to put down. And once I put it down I find myself thinking to when I can squeeze in a moment to read some more. This is the second in the series and contiues Thomas Hunter's adventures between two different worlds. I think what makes this series so fascinating is that in the back of your mind you know that what is happening could actually be a probability someday.


Red (The Circle, Book 2)
Red (The Circle, Book 2)
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 8/5/2011


I loved it. As with all his books, it pulls me in until I finish it. I couldn't wait until I got White to find out how it ends. Quite surprising. All in all, a wonderful trilogy and I would recommend it to everyone.


Them (Remnants, Bk 3)
Them (Remnants, Bk 3)
Author: K. A. Applegate
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/6/2011


I know that these books are supposed to be for the younger set, but this series has really sucked me in. They are small enough to read in one day, have enough suspence to keep me intrigued, and when I'm done, I'm already looking forward to reading the next one. I liked this book very much, it was just as good as the two previous ones.


True Courage (Uncommon Heroes Series #4)
True Courage (Uncommon Heroes Series #4)
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/6/2011


Enjoyed it very much.


1 to 16 of 16