Karen K. (krin) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 405 - Page:
1776
1776
Author: David McCullough
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 6/3/2008


This book is a very informative look at a single year in American history. I liked learning about the British and Loyalist point of view as well as the problems Washington had in keeping the army together. The portraits, letters and the maps also add to the experience.


2041: Twelve Short Stories About the Future by Top Science Fiction Writers
Review Date: 1/1/2010


I enjoyed this collection of short stories about possible future. Connie Willis' Much Ado About [Censored] made me both think about censorship and chuckle at the absurdity of various groups banning lines from Hamlet until there was practically nothing left. On the opposite spectrum, stories such as Carol Farley's Lose Now, Pay Later and Bruce Coville's Old Glory made me think about not taking responsibility and rights for granted.


3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1050
Review Date: 5/27/2008


This was a good suspenseful mystery as Lindsay and her friends try to figure out who the murderer is before the next victim dies. I liked the characters and the plot and I look forward to reading the next book in the series, 4th of July.


The Alchemist's Daughter
The Alchemist's Daughter
Author: Katharine Mcmahon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/28/2010


This was a great book to read at the end of one decade and the beginning of another. I liked how gradually Emilie learns how her isolation has left her ignorant of not only the city life in London but how others perceive her.


All Our Worldly Goods (Vintage International Original)
All Our Worldly Goods (Vintage International Original)
Author: Irene Nemirovsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/26/2012


This was a moving story about love and courage which repeats down the generations. It was also about tradition and change and how holding on too tight often leads to loss.


Alphabet Of Thorn
Alphabet Of Thorn
Author: Patricia A. McKillip
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/14/2007


Librarians, magic, kingdom, time travel, strange languages made of thorns -what more could one want?


The Amateur Cracksman
The Amateur Cracksman
Author: E. W. Hornung
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/14/2007


I enjoyed these stories, especially as Raffles eludes capture through various disguises and travel changes. I also noticed the similarities between Raffles and Holmes and Bunny and Watson. Like Watson with Holmes, Bunny is often miffed at the way Raffles doesn't share the plan and expects him to know what to do.


Ambassador to the Penguins: A Naturalist's Year Aboard a Yankee Whaleship
Review Date: 9/6/2008


This book combined many of my interests - ships, Antarctica, the naturalist's wonder and interest in the animal world. I liked following Murphy's voyages both literal as he learned about the ways of whaling on the brig Daisy and emotional as he wished to get home to his new wife, Grace.


The Amulet of Samarkand (The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Amulet of Samarkand (The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Jonathan Stroud
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 2/10/2009


I enjoyed this fantasy featuring the djinii Bartimaeus. I liked his footnote asides and his trying to fulfill his missions without getting caught. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, The Golem's Eye.


And the Mountains Echoed
And the Mountains Echoed
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 4/28/2015


I liked this book about family told from different points of view. I especially liked how the events in the past rippled into the future in unexpected ways.


Anything Considered
Anything Considered
Author: Peter Mayle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/26/2007


Maybe it was the setting - southern France, palm trees, Monaco. Or maybe the characters - roguish Bennett, confident Anna, mysterious Poe, etc. Yes, there's lots of adventure and close calls, but it reminded me of the movie It Takes a Thief and I could imagine the 1960s soundtrack as our heroes try to stay one step ahead of the bad guys.


Apocalypso
Apocalypso
Author: Robert Rankin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/9/2008


While this rather strange and quirky book made me chuckle at times, I felt that it could have used some trimming here and there. In particular, some types of jokes, while funny, were overused from time to time. Still, I liked the story of the put-upon Porrig learning about other worlds and creatures and finding the courage to save this world.


Arcadia
Arcadia
Author: Jim Crace
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/14/2007


At first, I wasn't sure if I would like this book. Victor wasn't a likable character, and following Rook into the city wasn't that interesting. By the third chapter, however, I was hooked on Victor's story and how his childhood in the Soap Market influenced him throughout his life. I also liked the themes of city vs. country, the market, fire, and food that played throughout the book.


The Archivist's Story
The Archivist's Story
Author: Travis Holland
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/29/2009


Though low-key in action, this was a powerful story about personal courage and how one person can quietly make a difference even when it means putting his own life in danger.


Arctic Chill (Reykjavik, Bk 5)
Review Date: 4/28/2015


I enjoyed this mystery set in Iceland. The possibilities kept me guessing right until the end. I look forward to reading earlier books in this series.


The Arctic Incident (Artemis Fowl, Bk 2)
The Arctic Incident (Artemis Fowl, Bk 2)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 7/28/2009


I enjoyed this second book in the Artemis Fowl series. I especially liked how Artemis, Butler, Holly and Commander Root worked together to save the day. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, The Eternity Code.


Arson and Old Lace (Far Wychwood, Bk 1)
Arson and Old Lace (Far Wychwood, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Harwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 1/12/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was a good cozy mystery with interesting characters. I liked how Catherine sought the truth in the death of her neighbor and I look forward to reading the next book in the series, Slaying is Such Sweet Sorrow.


The Art Of Cartography (Short Stories)
The Art Of Cartography (Short Stories)
Author: J.S. Marcus
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/10/2015


This is an interesting collection of short stories. I liked the narrator meeting different people and reflecting on who they are.


Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 7/14/2007


I enjoyed this battle of wits and magic between the genius Artemis Fowl and the LEPrecon captain Holly Short, her boss Commander Root, and Foaly the Centaur. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, The Arctic Incident.


Arthur and George
Arthur and George
Author: Julian Barnes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 2/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


An interesting book about late 19th century English life as seen through the eyes of two men who seem very different but who also share some similarities. At times I felt the story lagged as the author focused on George and then a long section on Arthur, but when the two men meet and Arthur agrees to help George, the book regained my interest. I also liked learning about how Arthur created his fictional detective, Sherlock Holmes.


1 to 20 of 405 - Page: