Sara D. (JillSparrow) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Penguin Classics)
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Penguin Classics)
Author: Mark Twain, Guy Cardwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 6/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great classic portrait of American life back in the day. One of my favorites. Simple language and easy read for the casual reader.


Agents of Chaos I: Hero's Trial (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 4)
Review Date: 10/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


One of many in the New Jedi Order series. This was gifted to me and I never really read it. I just really had a hard time getting into some of the earlier NJO books because I found that I could either read a great synopsis on-line by a fan or the most important points were summed up in later books.


Agents of Chaos II: Jedi Eclipse (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 5)
Review Date: 10/3/2007


One of many in the New Jedi Order series. This was gifted to me and I never really read it. I just really had a hard time getting into some of the earlier NJO books because I found that I could either read a great synopsis on-line by a fan or the most important points were summed up in later books.


All-American Girl (All-American Girl, Bk 1)
All-American Girl (All-American Girl, Bk 1)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 8/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Not a large departure for Cabot but still an interseting story about an unlikely situation that seems like it could happen. I read through it quickly and really enjoyed it.


Review Date: 10/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


An ok book but for the casual APBT/AST owner who is new to the breed and just wants a good family pet it seemed a bit over my head at times.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 10/3/2007


People say it is better than DaVinci Code but I had a hard time getting into this one. Another interesting plot and I'm sure Brown explained things well but I just felt lost because I had no background on the groups involved.


Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Author: Anne Frank, B.M. Mooyaart-Doubleday (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 670
Review Date: 8/16/2007
Helpful Score: 8


An all time classic. I really believe that every girl starting around 13 or 14 should read this book. So truthful and the emotions and things Anne went through just being a teenage girl still ring true. First loves, first kisses, puberty it's all there and relatable.


Black Lotus (Sano Ichiro, Bk 6)
Black Lotus (Sano Ichiro, Bk 6)
Author: Laura Joh Rowland
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/8/2007


Interesting Ichiro series that I lost interest in when new books came into my conciousness. But it's a good fiction for those that are interested in Japan and Japanese history.


Bloodlines (Star Wars: Legacy of the Force, Bk 2)
Bloodlines (Star Wars: Legacy of the Force, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Traviss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 8/16/2007


If you like Mandos thrown in with the other Star Wars characters here is your book. It's an interseting plot line with Boba and Han teaming up for the first time but it opened the door to other issues in the fandom that is causing alot of strife. But like with other series you can't understand the other books without reading this one.


The Cat's Meow (Hearts of Gold, Bk 4)
The Cat's Meow (Hearts of Gold, Bk 4)
Author: Emily Carmichael
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/16/2007


I really enjoy all of Emily Carmichael's books. They are romances centered around pet owners and something that I could find relatable and funny.


The Cestus Deception (Star Wars: Clone Wars)
The Cestus Deception (Star Wars: Clone Wars)
Author: Steven Barnes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/3/2007


I purchased this because it had my favorite alien on it (I'm a Kit Fisto fan) but a friend of mine who had read it before and I trust said not to bother with it.


The Concubine's Tattoo (Sano Ichiro, Bk 4)
The Concubine's Tattoo (Sano Ichiro, Bk 4)
Author: Laura Joh Rowland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 6/8/2007


Interesting Ichiro series that I lost interest in when new books came into my conciousness. But it's a good fiction for those that are interested in Japan and Japanese history.


Dark Journey (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 10)
Dark Journey (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 10)
Author: Elaine Cunningham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 8/16/2007


One of my favorites of the NJO simply because there is more Tenel Ka and Hapes packed into this book than in all the other non YJK books combined (even the Dark Nest and Legacy books). It really shows the YJK girls all grown up and dealing with thier crappy situations.


Dark Tide I: Onslaught (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 2)
Review Date: 10/3/2007


One of many in the New Jedi Order series. This was gifted to me and I never really read it. I just really had a hard time getting into some of the earlier NJO books because I found that I could either read a great synopsis on-line by a fan or the most important points were summed up in later books.


Dark Tide II: Ruin (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 3)
Dark Tide II: Ruin (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 3)
Author: Michael A. Stackpole
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 10/3/2007


One of many in the New Jedi Order series. This was gifted to me and I never really read it. I just really had a hard time getting into some of the earlier NJO books because I found that I could either read a great synopsis on-line by a fan or the most important points were summed up in later books.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 860
Review Date: 10/3/2007


Good movie but I just don't have the time or drive to read the book that was given to me. I like the young, strong female character who isn't afraid to go after what she wants I just don't like how she has to assimalate to fit in. Ugly Betty makeover and I prefer UB.


Edge of Victory I: Conquest (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Bk 7)
Edge of Victory I: Conquest (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Bk 7)
Author: Greg Keyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 10/3/2007


One of many in the New Jedi Order series. This was gifted to me and I never really read it. I just really had a hard time getting into some of the earlier NJO books because I found that I could either read a great synopsis on-line by a fan or the most important points were summed up in later books.


Edge of Victory II: Rebirth (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 8)
Edge of Victory II: Rebirth (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 8)
Author: Greg Keyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 10/3/2007


One of many in the New Jedi Order series. This was gifted to me and I never really read it. I just really had a hard time getting into some of the earlier NJO books because I found that I could either read a great synopsis on-line by a fan or the most important points were summed up in later books.


Enemy Lines I: Rebel Dream (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 11)
Enemy Lines I: Rebel Dream (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 11)
Author: Aaron Allston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 10/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


One of many in the New Jedi Order series. This was gifted to me and I never really read it. I just really had a hard time getting into some of the earlier NJO books because I found that I could either read a great synopsis on-line by a fan or the most important points were summed up in later books.


Exile (Star Wars: Legacy of the Force, Bk 4)
Exile (Star Wars: Legacy of the Force, Bk 4)
Author: Aaron Allston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 8/16/2007


I never really even finished this book before moving on to the next one. I've never really read Allston's stuff before Betrayal and that book was so amazing I really had high hopes. But some of my favorite new characters from that book were not brought over to the other books, even this one by Allson himself. A very big let down.


1 to 20 of 49 - Page: