Maryann H. (mimih) - , - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
ADD-Friendly Ways to Organize Your Life
ADD-Friendly Ways to Organize Your Life
Author: Judith Kolberg, Kathleen Nadeau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/13/2015


This book was very good if you are an adult with ADD or know an adult with ADD. It gave me a better insight to how their mind works, how they think. I always felt my person was either lazy or just didn't care about all the chaos in her life. But I feel now I can empathize more with her situation and hopefully help her towards some solutions. The book gave many real life examples, some that I have experienced, and practical step by step solutions. Now to try and implement them without her getting upset. There lies the challenge. Wish me luck!


The Book of Old Houses (Home Repair is Homicide, Bk 11)
The Book of Old Houses (Home Repair is Homicide, Bk 11)
Author: Sarah Graves
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/26/2016


I'm not a big mystery reader but thought I would try this one out. The summary on the jacket had a some things that I'm into - stolen old book, rehab old house, and a murder mystery. Only giving it 2.5 stars because I just wasn't into the authors writing style. It seemed to drag for me. I felt like it could have been so much more.


The Book of Ruth
The Book of Ruth
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 587
Review Date: 10/3/2016


Although this was a quick read for me it some how felt slow, sluggish to me. I was surprised to find out halfway through that the setting was 1977, it seemed so much older to me, maybe late 40's or 50's. But the main character Ruth, she was so complicated to me. Sometimes I just wanted to shake her....ugh girl, wake up! What are you doing? But in the end I saw how fragile she was, how the love within her was crushed and yet she still carried on.


Eleanor and Park
Eleanor and Park
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/30/2016


I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick read that brought me back to those awkward days in high school and your first real feelings of love. The time when it physically hurt to be apart. If you've never read any YA fiction this would be a great first read!


Empty Stockings : A Brooklyn Christmas Tale
Empty Stockings : A Brooklyn Christmas Tale
Author: Denis Hamill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/1/2017


Rory is a 14 year old kid growing up in an Irish tenement in Brooklyn. The family's sadness is deepened when Kennedy is killed. Rory's determination and constant drive to find the truth about his fathers service in the Merchant Marine for himself and his family push him on.Ultimately they are the richer having the best gift of love in their home. And helping to reunite a long separated father and son.

This was a quick, enjoyable Christmas read. One that I would recommend.


It's Not Really About the Hair: The Honest Truth about Life, Love, and the Business of Beauty
Review Date: 9/14/2016


I love Tabatha on her TV show Salon Takeover, so I was eager to read her book. I knew a little about her upbringing but she's lays it all out here in her no nonsense style. What I most liked about this book was the insight to her business sense. She is a very shrewd woman and makes no beef about the things she says or the choices she has made.

I believe this will be going up on my shelf as a keeper for a while. I will definitely be rereading it again to get some of her business ideas more solidly in my brain.


Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, Bk 1)
Review Date: 9/7/2015


I haven't read YA fiction in a long time - not since I was a YA! But this book really intrigued me. When I saw it in the store, the pictures had me so curious. I thought what a creative author to add this wonderful "art" to his story.

I love how the story unfolds in your mind - the relationships Jacob has with his grandfather, his therapist and then all the peculiars and his Dad. It kept me turning pages all the way to the end. My biggest surprise being the note at the end just prior to the acknowledgements, knocked my socks off! Can't wait to read Hollow City!


Olive Kitteridge
Olive Kitteridge
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/30/2015


I enjoyed this book. The authors style was a little different to me. The chapters were made up of different short stories. They all reflected different aspects of the main character Olive. It was interesting to reflect on how everyone interacted with her and saw her, and in so doing how I sometimes see myself.


Sarah's Key
Sarah's Key
Author: Tatiana de Rosnay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1469
Review Date: 9/14/2016


If you like WWII fiction, a good tear jerk er, and strong characters this is the book for you. I was never good in History so I don't know if we were taught about the Vel' d'Hiv' in France in 1942. But learning the truth about what actually happened at that dark time to thousands of innocent people, especially one strong little girl gives me goose bumps now as I type.

Once I was in Sarah's world I didn't want to leave. I had to find out what happened next. I was totally addicted to the end. Tatiana de Rosnay is a tremendous author. I'll be looking up her other titles soon!


The Silent Twins: A true story of love and hate, dreams and desolation, genius and destruction
Review Date: 1/21/2017


The true story of June & Jennifer Gibbons. Twins girls who rarely spoke to outsiders, even their own family. This book goes into their world, into their minds which are full of the love/hate relationship that I think most twins share. In this case one twin is stronger than the other and uses her power over the other throughout their lives. They stay in their silent world straying out rarely. They pour their hearts out in diary's, poems, short stories and even a novel.I found this book interesting because I myself have twin boys. I only gave it 3 stars because the writing style is a bit tedious.


1 to 10 of 10