John F. - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
11 Harrowhouse
11 Harrowhouse
Author: Gerald A. Browne
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/28/2007


This is a great story about getting even with the international diamond cartel in London. Browne sets up an impossible problem, then his characters solve it. Delightful.


Dave Barry Hits Below the Beltway : A Vicious and Unprovoked Attack on Our Most Cherished Political Institutions
Review Date: 4/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Dave Barry's usual crisp insights, this time into the world of the Federal Government. I always like his stuff.


Dave Barry's Bad Habits
Dave Barry's Bad Habits
Author: Dave Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 10/15/2006


I really miss Dave Barry's newspaper column. This is a collection of his columns from the early '80's that still make the reader (at least this reader) laugh out loud.


Envy
Envy
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 448
Review Date: 6/17/2006


"...explosive tale of a long-ago crime and the victim's plan for revenge" -- from the back cover. Excellent.


For One More Day
For One More Day
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 721
Review Date: 3/1/2007


Easy read, good story. Kept me guessing with a couple neat twists.


Gods and Generals (Civil War Trilogy, Bk 1)
Gods and Generals (Civil War Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Jeff Shaara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 10/7/2006


This is an excellent "prequel" to Shaara's father's "Killer Angels" covering Lee, Jackson, Chamberlain, and Hancock in the years before Gettysburg. The dinner at which Hancock and his best friend Armistead say goodbye, knowing that the next time they see each other will very likely be from opposite sides of the battlefield, moved me to tears.


Hong Kong  (Jake Grafton, Bk 8)
Hong Kong (Jake Grafton, Bk 8)
Author: Stephen Coonts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 7/1/2006


From the back of the book: "Jake Grafton finds himself pulled into the vortex of a high-tech civil war. . . ."


How Few Remain
How Few Remain
Author: Harry Turtledove
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 7/1/2006


From the back cover: "1881: A generation after the South won the Civil War, America writhed once more in the bloody throes of battle." This is a sequel to Turtledove's "Guns of the South," an alternative history where the Confederacy won the War Between The States. In this novel, the two nations fight again with each other, as well as with the Apaches, French, and English.


The Kid from Tomkinsville
The Kid from Tomkinsville
Author: John R. Tunis, Michael Koelsch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/21/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great baseball story from 1940, when the Dodgers were still in Brooklyn (and the Giants at the Polo Grounds) and the game was accessible to most people only by radio and newspaper. The humble "Kid" tries out for the team as a pitching phenomenon, enjoys some early success, suffers an accident, and works on a comeback. Nothing's easy and nothing's all wrapped up neatly, as some stories worked back then. This one is supremely enjoyable with its "inside baseball" perspective for both youngster and "seasoned" fan alike. Highly recommended.


The Killer Angels (Civil War, Bk 2)
The Killer Angels (Civil War, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Shaara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 385
Review Date: 6/18/2006


"A dramatic re-creation of the battleground for America's destiny." (from the back cover). A novelized version of the Battle of Gettysburg, the best historical novel I've ever read. Told from the perspective of Lee, Longstreet, and Chamberlain, it's the basis for the movie "Gettysburg."


Life With Jeeves: The Inimitable Jeeves / Very Good, Jeeves! / Right Ho, Jeeves
Review Date: 6/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I say, actually 3 books in 1, Old Egg: Right Ho, Jeeves; The Inimitable Jeeves; and Very Good, Jeeves. Different cover, though, what?


Matarese Circle
Matarese Circle
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 11/14/2006


I think this is Ludlum's best -- a tale of two archenemies recognizing a global threat and reluctantly (but urgently) joining forces at the height of the Cold War. I had trouble putting it down both times I read it.


Rebel (Starbuck Chronicles, Bk 1)
Rebel (Starbuck Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Bernard Cornwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/17/2006


Vol. 1 of "Starbuck Chronicles", Cornwell's saga of an anti-hero fighting for the Confederacy. Excellent series.


The Switch
The Switch
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 432
Review Date: 1/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Another Sandra Brown twister. After identical twins trade places for an evening, one sister is brutally murdered. Lots of plot twists and surprises, most of which I didn't see coming. Well-plotted and presented.


Tricky Business
Tricky Business
Author: Dave Barry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 4/6/2007


This is just a riotously funny book, as you'd expect from my all-time favorite humor writer.


1 to 15 of 15