Lou N. (bookmanpc) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 53 - Page:
2012: The War for Souls
2012: The War for Souls
Author: Whitley Strieber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 3/25/2010


Based upon a calender that even the Maya abandoned as inefficient 800 years BEFORE the end of their civilization once again Streiber milks the money tit for current hysteria and cultural ignorance.
Don't bother.


The Art of Detection (Kate Martinelli, Bk 5)
The Art of Detection (Kate Martinelli, Bk 5)
Author: Laurie R. King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 1/7/2012


Not bad. I vastly more enjoy the Mrs. Sherlock books.


Asimov on Science Fiction
Asimov on Science Fiction
Author: Isaac Asimov
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/29/2006


The master on the subject!


Beach Girls
Beach Girls
Author: John D. Macdonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/9/2010


You just can't beat old John McD for a wacking good quick beach or rainy afternoon read!


The Book of Intentions: The First Step in Creating a More Fulfilling Life
Review Date: 12/21/2012


If I had known this book was simply a set of VERY tired Aphorisms I would not have gotten it.


The Bookman's Promise (Cliff Janeway, Bk 3)
The Bookman's Promise (Cliff Janeway, Bk 3)
Author: John Dunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 6/20/2011


One of my lesser favorites of this series. Dunning is a very talented writer but i read it because the series is about books and book people. This one wandered onto the horse track and stayed there.
Still,... a fun read, just a little bit disappointing.


The Burglar on the Prowl (Bernie Rhodenbarr, Bk 10)
The Burglar on the Prowl (Bernie Rhodenbarr, Bk 10)
Author: Lawrence Block
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 8/29/2006


The bookstore owning burgular!


The Burglar Who Liked To Quote Kipling (Bernie Rhodenbarr, Bk 3)
The Burglar Who Liked To Quote Kipling (Bernie Rhodenbarr, Bk 3)
Author: Lawrence Block
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 8/29/2006


The Bookstore owning Burgular!


Callahan's Key
Callahan's Key
Author: Spider Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 5/27/2010


I've read them all. I read some of the stories when ANALOG first ran them before they were sold as books. The originals were good, even great. This one sucks. It was a complete disappointment in almost every way. The gang goes to DISNEYWORLD for sights sake and when they damage something they literally throw money at the problem.

I bought it new and hated that, don't swap a perfectly good PBS book credit for this one.

Should have been titled "SPIDER SELLS OUT"...


Callahan's Lady (Callahan, Bk 4)
Callahan's Lady (Callahan, Bk 4)
Author: Spider Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 5/27/2010


I've read them all. I read some of the stories when ANALOG first ran them before they were sold as books. The originals were good, even great. This one sucks. It was a complete disappointment in almost every way. The gang goes to DISNEYWORLD for sights sake and when they damage something they literally throw money at the problem.

I bought it new and hated that, don't swap a perfectly good PBS book credit for this one.

Should have been titled "SPIDER SELLS OUT"...


Cinnamon Skin
Cinnamon Skin
Author: John D. Macdonald
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/17/2010


All of the Travis McGeee books though a bit dated now are wonderful. McDonald set the stage for so many writers to use in telling the story of greed corruption and carpetbagging that Florida has become.


Colony
Colony
Author: Ben Bova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/17/2017


One of the better 'worldship' political sagas. Bova at his best plotting the demise of both ends of the story!


Coming into the Country
Coming into the Country
Author: John McPhee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/21/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this. It came to me in the winter, just during the holidays when, because of events in my life it is a dark time.
This book swept me away to Alaska and not Ms. Palin's Alaska but the AK of the first major Federal incursion.
People three generations on the land were dispossessed.
From going into the wilderness and staking a claim, building a cabin it went to where you could not buy a fifty foot BUILDING LOT.

Fascinating.


Container Gardening
Container Gardening
Author: Alan Toogood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/7/2010


pretty good for its type.


The Crack In The Cosmic Egg
The Crack In The Cosmic Egg
Author: J.C. Pearce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/29/2006


"Challenging Constructs of Mind & Reality"


Cyberbooks
Cyberbooks
Author: Ben Bova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/31/2006


A great sendup of the publishing industry from Science Fictions greatest living Master! Written in the late 1980's!


Deepdrive
Deepdrive
Author: Alexander Jablokov
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/4/2010


In all my years reading Science Fiction going back into the late fifties and reading older books because there WERE no newer ones until Star Trek (gack) and Star Wars showed the stuff made money, THIS is one of the WORST books I have ever read, S-F or not.
It is slow, sloppy and makes VERY little sense.


Double Image
Double Image
Author: David Morrell
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/14/2010


Wonderful story and the audio book seems to follow very closely!


Dune - The Butlerian Jihad
Dune - The Butlerian Jihad
Author: Brian; Anderson, Kevin J. Herbert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/26/2018


I really like Anderson's work including his movie treatments usually.
This was disappointing. At near 600 pages it ends close to where I felt it should have started.


End of the Tiger and Other Stories
End of the Tiger and Other Stories
Author: John D. Macdonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/14/2010


You just cannot BEAT John MacD.... be sure to try his 'Travis McGee' series if you are at all interested in great stories and riveting insights about coastal Florida!


1 to 20 of 53 - Page: