Vivian Q. (bellasgranny) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 469 - Page:
The 13th Hour (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The 13th Hour (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Richard Doetsch, Dennis Boutsikaris (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/21/2010


I really enjoyed listening to this one. Clever and original concept,fast paced, edge of your seat suspense and terrific narration by Dennis Boutsakaris, this book has it all. I hated to stop listening when I was not in the car and brought it inside to finish. I thought that the story in reverse idea worked very well. Would very highly recommend.


212 (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 3)
212 (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 3)
Author: Alafair Burke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/30/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Happy to say that I was not disappointed in Ms. Burke's newest book in the Ellie Hatcher series. It has really good writing and story development and Ellie seems to be maturing. Premise was not too over the top and hard to believe. I'm looking forward to her next effort. Recommended.


24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 344
Review Date: 8/19/2009


I picked this one up for a change of pace. I wanted something fast and entertaining. This fit the bill perfectly. While not exactly believable, it was a fun read. I'll probably read more from this author in the future.


500 Best Quinoa Recipes: Using Nature's Superfood for Gluten-Free Breakfasts, Mains, Desserts and More
Review Date: 11/15/2012


Excellent collection of recipes using quinoa have a side, appetizer, or as a main meal. I make often and have made a made several of the recipes and I've never been disappointed. Highly recommend.


Aberrations
Aberrations
Author: Penelope Przekop
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/24/2009


Zzzzz. All of the reviews I've read make me think I'm crazy. Readers have absolutely loved it. My reaction is the polar opposite. I found it dull and boring. Everytime I picked it up, I wanted to put it down and go to sleep. It was a chore to try to get through it, and I gave up three quarters into the book. However, I would look forward to the author's next effort as she writes very well.


Above Suspicion (Anna Travis, Bk 1)
Above Suspicion (Anna Travis, Bk 1)
Author: Lynda La Plante
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/13/2011


This is a new to me author in print, although I'm familiar with her work because of her excellent Prime Suspect and Trial and Retribution British TV series. This first book in the Anna Travis series is as taut, well plotted and well written as her TV work. I've already started book two and pleased to have added La Plante to my growing list of favorite British authors.


The Absence of Nectar
The Absence of Nectar
Author: Kathy Hepinstall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 2/12/2009
Helpful Score: 5


And now for a dissenting review. Most readers have loved this book and praised it endlessly. I didn't care for this book at all. It is incredibly slow moving. You have to read more than 250 pages for anything interesting to happen. The book could have benefited from a few more rewrites and better editing. The novel is way too long, boring and the weak willed mother's sudden awakening at the end was a ridiculous wrap up to the story. I still have two of her other books to read. They will probably go to the end of my endless TBR pile.


The Absent One (aka Disgrace) (Department Q, Bk 2)
Review Date: 10/9/2012


Sadly disappointing. The first entry in the series was so terrific that I couldn't wait to start this one. While I love the characters, the setting, and the addition of Rose's character, the story line was juat plain boring. I skimmed the last 50 or so pages because I was so underwhelmed. I do want to see where he goes next with the series.


Absolutely, Positively (Lucy Valentine, Bk 3)
Absolutely, Positively (Lucy Valentine, Bk 3)
Author: Heather Webber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 2/19/2012


I love this series. The characters and story continue to be as charming and funny as in the previous books. The characters and their relationships continue to grow. Can't wait to see where Ms. Webber takes Lucy next.


All the Numbers
All the Numbers
Author: Judy Merrill Larsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/4/2008


I picked this one up after reading "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" and gave up after about 50 pages. I honestly cannot understand the great reviews. Neither the story or the characters, as written, grabbed me. I found Ellen to be one dimensional, the writing sophomoric and lacking in originality. Many of the scenes did not feel real - the younger son's shoe shopping expedition, the talk with Melanie at Union Terrace. She calls her sons "babe", her friend calls her "babe". And on and on ..... I thought that I was in the middle of a poorly written, made for TV movie. Stories about the loss of a child have been done before by far better authors. Larsen's book has been compared to Jaqcueline Mitchard's "Deep End of the Ocean" and Judith Guest's "Ordinary People". Do yourself a favor, skip this one.


All The Pretty Girls (Taylor Jackson, Bk 1)
All The Pretty Girls (Taylor Jackson, Bk 1)
Author: J. T. Ellison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 3/14/2010


I enjoyed this first book in a series but wouldn't go crazy recommending it to anyone. I thought that the book was just a little too long and that there was something missing. I'm not sure that it's because I thought that the who and the why were a little far fetched. Will continue with the series and see where it goes.


Ancient Grains for Modern Meals: Mediterranean Whole Grain Recipes for Barley, Farro, Kamut, Polenta, Wheat Berries & More
Review Date: 9/20/2012


Gorgeous keeper. Beautifully written and photographed. I absolutely love grains and can't wait to try every single recipe. The author's passion comes rhrough on every single page. Very highly recommend!


Angels Flight
Angels Flight
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/9/2011


Another terrific entry in the Harry Bosch. I was so engrossed that I stayed up late last night to finish it. I love the Harry Bosch character and the action and storyline kept me racing to the end. Highly recommend.


Angel's Tip (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 2)
Angel's Tip (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 2)
Author: Alafair Burke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/27/2010


This was an okay follow-up to the debut novel "Dead Connection", The storyline and writing were very good, but I didn't see much character development with Ellie from the first book. Makes me wonder if she"ll be a target in every book and change boyfriends in every book, too. I'm starting her most recent in this series, "212", today and am bracing myself for possible disappointment.


The Anniversary Man (Paperback)
The Anniversary Man (Paperback)
Author: R.J. Ellory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/19/2010


Roger Ellory's work was suggested by a forum member on an Amazon thread that I follow. I started with this book which is a winner. A very intelligent read that is very well written and researched. An absolute page turner, I could not put it down. Most books about serial killers all start to sound the same after a while. Not this one. It had plenty of twists and turns and characters that you care about. Set in New Jersey and Manhattan, you would never guess that the author is British, he got it so right! It will definitely be on my list of best reads of 2010. I can't wait to read his other books. Very highly recommend.


Arctic Chill (Reykjavik , Bk 5)
Review Date: 11/21/2009


Fifth book in the series is a solid, well written story about the murder of a Thai child. Detective Erlendur and his fellow policemen investigate the death and along the way uncover much about racism and immigrants living in Iceland. If you like police procedurals, you will really enjoy this one.


The Art of Keeping Secrets
The Art of Keeping Secrets
Author: Patti Callahan Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 1/11/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Patti Callahan Henry's writing just gets better and better. This one is a definite page turner that hooked me from the first page with its beautiful descriptions of the Lowcountry. Ms. Henry is a talented Southern writer in the tradition of Mary Alice Monroe, Dorothea Benton Frank and Anne Rivers Siddons.

Two years after Annabelle's husband dies in a plane crash, his body and that of a woman are found in the wreckage. With the help of her family and friends, Annabelle explores the reality of her marriage and looks for answers about the identity of the woman in the plane with her husband and why they were together. Annabelle wants an answer to her question - "What if everything she ever thought about her husband and her marriage were not true?".

This is a wonderful novel about love, loss, trust and forgiveness. Very satisfying read. I highly recommend.


The Art of Simple Food: Notes, Lessons, and Recipes from a Delicious Revolution
Review Date: 6/15/2012


I borrowed this one from tbe library and renewed it multiple times. I hated to return it and am going to buy my own copy. Terrific recipes that are simple, fresh and delicious. Very highly recommend.


Astrid and Veronika
Astrid and Veronika
Author: Linda Olsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 1/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was my first experience with listening to a book instead of reading, and what an introduction it was. I was totally swept away by the story of the friendship between these two women. The writing is lyrical and the descriptions of the landscape are vibrant and beautiful. I usually see the story as a movie playing in my head, but this time it felt like I was there. Ms. Olsson's writing is so vivid that I saw and touched and felt everything, and cried when Astrid and Veronika recounted their stories of love and loss. I found it hard to let go of the characters once I had reached the end of the discs, and have since ordered it in paperback to keep and reread. Very highly recommended.


The Attack
The Attack
Author: Yasmina Khadra
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/27/2009


This is a fascinating book. I was breathless from the opening scene of the attack to the very last page. I could not put it down. Eye opening, it is a beautifully written account of the Arab-Israeli conflict. Gripping, horrifying and haunting, this is the second of Mr. Moulessehoul's books that I have read, but will definitely not be the last. Very highly recommend.


1 to 20 of 469 - Page: