Victoria B. (vicky555) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove Chronicles, Bk 11)
1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove Chronicles, Bk 11)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 1/22/2012


Great book. This series reads as a friendly soap opera with many story lines going on at once. It's like sitting down with friends in the neighborhood and catching up on everyone.


The Alpine Uproar (Emma Lord, Bk 21)
The Alpine Uproar (Emma Lord, Bk 21)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/1/2012


By the time you reach 'U', the residents of Alpine are old friends. The conflicts are satisfying as is the mystery.


The Cape Cod Mystery (Asey Mayo, Bk 1)
The Cape Cod Mystery (Asey Mayo, Bk 1)
Author: Phoebe Atwood Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/8/2012


A well thought out mystery. You might figure out who did it before the handyman and the woman but it is still fun to watch how they do it. An enjoyable experience.


A Catered Valentine's Day (Bernie and Libby Simmons, Bk 4)
A Catered Valentine's Day (Bernie and Libby Simmons, Bk 4)
Author: Isis Crawford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/1/2012


Another enjoyable read about Bernie and Libby. Although it takes place around Valentine's Day, there are lots of Halloween type references.


A Christmas Homecoming (Christmas Stories, Bk 9)
A Christmas Homecoming (Christmas Stories, Bk 9)
Author: Anne Perry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/4/2014


Not much about celebrating Christmas but a great story about a play about the new book, Dracula, by Bram Stoker which is being performed at a private viewing at a snowed in manor.


Christmas Peril: Merry Mayhem \ Yule Die
Christmas Peril: Merry Mayhem \ Yule Die
Author: Margaret Daley, Debby Giusti
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/14/2014


Two novellas centered around Christmas which I enjoyed very much.


Deadly Currents (RM Outdoor Adventures, Bk 1)
Deadly Currents (RM Outdoor Adventures, Bk 1)
Author: Beth Groundwater
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/22/2014


Great first book in series. It held my attention from the first chapter. I learned from the river rafting sequences but they didn't distract from the mystery. Well done!


Everybody Kills Somebody Sometime (Rat Pack, Bk 1)
Everybody Kills Somebody Sometime (Rat Pack, Bk 1)
Author: Robert J. Randisi
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/11/2012


This is book is true to the period of time and to the people it is about. Some of the language is a bit harsh but the mystery is solid and kept my interest. It is staying with me so I will probably read others in this series in spite of the language.

The main Rat Pack Character in this book is Dean Martin. I'm interested in seeing who the next book features.


The Excalibur Murders (Merlin Investigation, Bk 1)
The Excalibur Murders (Merlin Investigation, Bk 1)
Author: J. M. C. Blair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/14/2014


Merlin is not a magician but a detective using the same powers as Sherlock Holmes. Nice twist.


A Fatal Feast (Murder, She Wrote, Bk 32)
A Fatal Feast (Murder, She Wrote, Bk 32)
Author: Jessica Fletcher, Donald Bain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/17/2011


These are good, light reads. Jessica realizes murder follows her everywhere but there is a logical reason for her to become involved and solve the mystery anyway. I was on the right track, but not quite right.


Fire and Fog (Fremont Jones Mysteries, Bk 2)
Fire and Fog (Fremont Jones Mysteries, Bk 2)
Author: Dianne Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 4/30/2012


Suspenceful, hard to put down. San Francisco's 1906 Earthquake, a oouple of murders, and a great mystery.


Garden of Deadly Delights: Stories from Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine
Review Date: 8/26/2012


As in many of these collections of short stories, some are great and some are mediocre. All of these have a garden and/or plants as their primary setting.


Honolulu
Honolulu
Author: Alan Brennert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 3/17/2016


Not as good as the previously written "Molokai" but good, nonetheless. Interesting as he wove facts about people actually living at the time into his fictionalized version. His choice of using a Korean picture bride and her culture and background made the book hard to put down.


The House Without a Key (Charlie Chan)
The House Without a Key (Charlie Chan)
Author: Earl Derr Biggers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/7/2011


This is a great book! It takes place in 1920's Hawaii. It took me a long time to guess the solution. The mystery is woven into what appears to be a romance, heavy on early Hawaiian atmosphere. It has many clues and red herrings. This is the first of six books about Chan who is an interesting person, although stereo-typed. Highly recommended. Written in 1925 and reissued.


Jane Austen in Boca
Jane Austen in Boca
Author: Paula Marantz Cohen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 1/14/2014


Thoroughly enjoyed this take off about senior citizens in Boca Raton. Light hearted, interesting, and funny. I hope she writes more in this vein.


Killer Blonde (Jaine Austen, Bk 3)
Killer Blonde (Jaine Austen, Bk 3)
Author: Laura Levine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 1/9/2012


Enjoyable, especially the emails.


A Killer Plot (Books by the Bay, Bk 1)
A Killer Plot (Books by the Bay, Bk 1)
Author: Ellery Adams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 10/7/2012


A book review group has a member murdered and manages to solve the mystery before the police. Great characters, hard-to-solve mystery with twists, and an interesting beginning to a new series. I'm sold. I have a new author in Ellery Adams to add to my list of want-to-reads.


The Lightkeeper's Legacy (Chloe Ellefson, Bk 3)
The Lightkeeper's Legacy (Chloe Ellefson, Bk 3)
Author: Kathleen Ernst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/4/2016


This series gets better and better. Great historical series mixed with contemporary plot with no mystical influences. Plots are intertwined with skill and I was eager to revisit each plot to see what was happening. A very satisfying read. I've ordered the next in the series and it will be at the top of my many piled waiting books.


The Memorial Hall Murder (Homer Kelly, Bk 3)
The Memorial Hall Murder (Homer Kelly, Bk 3)
Author: Jane Langton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/9/2017


I greatly enjoy this series. Homer Kelly and his wife Mary are teaching at Hahvard in the late 1960's with bombs going off during the rehearsals of the Handel's "Messiah" to be presented at Christmas. Very interesting, especially since I spent time in that area of Boston last month.


Miss Zukas Shelves the Evidence (Miss Zukas, Bk 8)
Miss Zukas Shelves the Evidence (Miss Zukas, Bk 8)
Author: Jo Dereske
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 8/28/2010


I guessed who the villian probably was early on but enjoyed the book anyway. I wouldn't have been surprised if it had been someone else. This is a cozy with a good mystery with lots of clues.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: