Susan D. (mom2nine) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 332 - Page:
365 Guide New York City: Drink. Eat. Save. Every Day of the Year. a Guide to New York City Restaurants and Bars.
Review Date: 12/24/2015


I waver on the star ratings, so I will give my insights on this book and you can decide. I agree with the other reviews. This book is a nice size with a wonderful layout: restaurants are listed in alphabetical order and there is an index. The book's subtitle is: drink.eat. save. Each listing has a deal, but the vast majority are drink deals. There is also a "365 extra" space where author gives her insights on the venue. "You must try one of the homemade pastas. I like the oxtail ravioli." At this point a price could have been easily inserted. I realize prices may change, but the reader can take that into account. She had no problem listing the beer and wine prices. Another: "$3.50 well, beer, margaritas.... I go for the chicken wrapped in a spinach tortilla, and I love the jalapeno toppers." no price on food. For a book which is so extensively researched, this was for me, a huge void. There are websites noted for each listing, so no doubt savvy readers will pull up the menu, if this is an issue. Book received in goodreads contest in expectation of fair/unbiased review.


50 Children: One Ordinary American Couple's Extraordinary Rescue Mission into the Heart of Nazi Germany
Review Date: 4/29/2014
Helpful Score: 2


Wow, just when we thought there were no more stories to be told about Nazi Germany. What a family legacy, the author's wife's maternal grandmother helped save 50 children from Nazi Germany. She kept a diary, so this book has no assumptions; everything came from the diary, interviews or articles from the time period. I did not want to put this book down, the couple stepped up to the task, with scarcely a second thought of their own danger. From the other side, parents put their trust in strangers from across the sea, to save their children. "The parents stood in completely orderly and quiet fashion. Their eyes were fixed on the faces of their children...It was the most heartbreaking show of dignity and bravery I had ever witnessed." p. 177
Eleanor's diary included very real insights from their trip to Germany and Austria, what the response was in America, and the families.


The Abundance: A Novel
The Abundance: A Novel
Author: Amit Majmudar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/9/2014


Gentle story about family ties. A bit of insight about Indian culture and assimilation.


The Adventures of Miles and Isabel
The Adventures of Miles and Isabel
Author: Tom Gilling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/16/2012


I don't think I have ever read a similar book. Short, fun read. Set in turn-of-the century Australia, following first balloon flight, levitation and other flying machines and the people who experimented with such.


After Her
After Her
Author: Joyce Maynard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/6/2013


I normally enjoy Maynard's books, but just couldn't get into this one. Rachel was unlikeable and unbelievable, seemed sex was on her mind most of the time. The story just went on and on... with the killings an excuse to explain rape and murder. The sisters keep seeing and hearing about sex, people in various states of undress.The main character has too much power for a 13 yr. old, really, she ruins her father's professional and personal life. She also has visions, which just happen to go away as she gets older, I guess one more superhuman power that comes with puberty. I won't ruin the ending, if you make it that far, but the finale really clinched my dislike for the character. If you have never read Maynard, start with any other book.


After Lucy : A Novel
After Lucy : A Novel
Author: Daniel Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/9/2013


This book is not a downer! The story starts a few weeks after Lucy's death, Porter has not gone back to work and is trying to figure out where to go from here. I found the characters believable and likeable. The story flowed nicely and I read it in one day. Each person in the family: the husband, children, her parents and his parents all trying to find their way in a world that hasn't turned out as planned.


After River
After River
Author: Donna Jonas Milner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/10/2014


Well done first novel! I did not want to put this book down, Milner's characters came to life. A strong, happy family until one day of mistakes and lies to cover their errors. One comment, though, the point is made that the difference between Vietnam and Iraq is that the soldiers chose to go to Iraq. The soldiers who I have known, choose to serve their country. They do not choose where to fight and many do not necessarily choose to fight at all, as the majority of military jobs are non-combat. Or to look at it another way, perhaps if the military were not "volunteer" the country would be much angrier about the battles that our country is now fighting, as they were during the Vietnam era.


After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 10/2/2016


"Me Before You" was a hit. It was the type of book that made the reader ask what would they do. Not so with "After You". I simply have nothing good to say about this book. There is nothing outstanding, a particular problem after a bestseller. The teenagers were ridiculously over the top. I thought I could put up with it just to see what happens to Lou (as though she is real) Then 200 pgs in (yes 200!) Lily jumps the shark, ugh, no, I shut the book. Try to think of the worst, dumbest and most dangerous things a teen can do and throw it all in a book. No thanks, if I want that I will read a memoir and at least have it be real.


All the Finest Girls
All the Finest Girls
Author: Alexandra Styron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/27/2012


story about a lady who, although raised "privileged", doesn't seem to have a complete adult life. when her childhood nanny dies, she goes to the funeral and their learns about her nanny's family, life and culture. In doing so, she learns about herself.


All the Places to Love
All the Places to Love
Author: Patricia MacLachlan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/24/2016


Love this book! The illustrations are frame-able, they are so beautiful. It is an especially wonderful story, if there is an older sibling, as he is pleased to have a new baby in the family.


All the Single Ladies (aka Carolina Girls) (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 10)
Review Date: 6/7/2015


I have been curious about this author and was pleased to win this book through a goodreads.com contest. In the spirit of the giveaway, I read it through to the end. About 100 pgs. into the story, I really didn't care what happened to any of the characters and was so tired of Pickles, the dog, and her life and feelings. I stumbled upon this: "for the first time in at least ten years I felt a powerful twitch south of the Mason-Dixon Line in my personal Lowcountry." What the story line lacked in imagination, the author continually made up for in sophomoric sex talk. There was also much discussion about how randy nursing home patients were, including a story about hiding a ducky during a joint shower...There were enough middle-aged, accomplished men (without baggage) to go around and no doubt many readers would love to find that town. I will admit, my daughter and I are still laughing over some of the phrases, so this will certainly appeal to many readers. Personally, though, I am thankful that I didn't pay for this book.


All the Winters After
All the Winters After
Author: Seré Prince Halverson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/23/2016


Perhaps a bit of editing. Book started strong, then so many lessons to learn


Allie and Bea
Allie and Bea
Author: Catherine Ryan Hyde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/30/2018


Hyde has written this story one too many times. Rough circumstances bring two unlikely people together, better together and learning experiences. The book is enjoyable and could be thought provoking, unfortunately story was just too similar to a few of her other books


The Almond Tree
The Almond Tree
Author: Michelle Cohen Corasanti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/14/2013


This story is very one sided. The Palestinians (Arabs) are innocent of a take-over, by the Israelis (Jews) of a country where until after WWII they lived together peacefully. Because of the one-sidedness, I lean toward a lower rating, except the fact that the author is Jewish. For this reason, the story is chilling, with insights that we certainly do not see in the news. Corasanti believes that the hopeless state of young Arab men lead them to violence. Am I alone in wondering if the Arab countries believe that our re-building "help" is actually occupying their country and creating the same issues? Book received in goodreads.com contest.


Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
Author: Kat Rosenfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/1/2013


I received this book through a goodreads.com contest, so need to note that in each review. I read through this book quickly, in just a few hours, so it is an easy read and the writing flows. It is a mystery about a girl (Amelia) found dead on the side of a road in a very small town. The book follows Becca, a recent high school graduate, determined to get out of this town and Amelia, a recent college graduate. The book has a YA target, but the girls are not young teens and the sex and murder scene are a bit graphic, so the book would not be recommended for high school libraries.
The premise of the book was that the murder causes Becca to question her decision to leave the town. I didn't make this connection, so feel that there was something lacking in the characterization. The characters just didn't have the depth that I think they need in a mystery.


American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History
Review Date: 8/12/2015


Well done and well written. It gives insight into something that most of us know so very little about. My 25 yr. old son and I both read this book and then discussed the mindset of someone who is capable of such a job. Discussing Kyle's story with my Airman son added another level of respect. My thanks to his service in a war that is unlike any that our world has ever faced before.


Among the Ten Thousand Things: A Novel
Among the Ten Thousand Things: A Novel
Author: Julia Pierpont
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/5/2015


This book is beautifully written, unfortunately it does not contain a story. The first 100 pgs. covered a few days after a woman and her two children find out, in graphic details, about the husband/father's affair. Book randomly bounces ahead a few decades, then back again. The only surprise is that the book went no where, no story, undeveloped characters. Apparently a very capable writer needs a story to tell. book received in goodreads contest.


And the Mountains Echoed
And the Mountains Echoed
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 8/20/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I think the reviews on this page sum up the story well, so I will try to add a different insight. Hosseini's writing continues to get better. Very few authors have one book that sells on the level of the Kite Runner, but I believe his next two surpass his first. I like his characterization, each character is separate and believable. As a mom to many, I especially appreciated the relationship of the big brother to his little sister. I also like the obvious love that the author has for his home country. He shows it in all of its war torn poverty with a very caring voice.


And When She Was Good
And When She Was Good
Author: Laura Lippman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/1/2016


The story was more about how to run an escort agency, than a suspense story. As usual, Lippman holds her own and the story is an easy read.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 819
Review Date: 8/16/2010


humorous book following a neighborhood of housewives through the decades. another two generation recommended


1 to 20 of 332 - Page: