Amy H. (IntrepidOne) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 158 - Page:
The Abstinence Teacher
The Abstinence Teacher
Author: Tom Perrotta
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 10/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed reading this book. The characters were well developed and realistic. I loved the subject matter as well. For me, I could have done with less narrative about the soccer games; I would usually skip a paragraph or so when the book just went on and on describing the plays and what was happening on the field. OK, I get it, they're playing a soccer game! Also, I would have liked to have had a resolution to a couple of things that just kind of got dropped by the wayside and forgotten; but I won't go into that because I hate spoilers.


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 10/6/2010


I love the way Alice Sebold writes. She has a way of making dark and violent content very inviting. This is the third book of hers that I have just been unable to put down for any length of time. This one took me just two days to read. This book was fascinating and I would have given it 4 stars if only it wasn't left open-ended. I absolutely loathe the "it-could-end-any-number-of-ways-so-pick-your-favorite" endings; I've spent my time reading the book and I feel I'm entitled to an actual ending. Humph!


The Art of Mending
The Art of Mending
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 11/22/2010


I really enjoyed this book. It kept me reading till the end. 4/5 stars.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 977
Review Date: 8/19/2010


Can I give this book more than 5 stars? It's so much more than a book about a dog, so much more. It will make you think about the world and your place in it. It was a pleasure to read and I won't soon forget the wise dog, Enzo.


Ask the Fruitcake Lady: Everything You Would Already Know If You Had Any Sense
Review Date: 4/28/2009


I love this lady! She makes me laugh out loud with her no-nonsense answers. She reminds me of my maternal grandmother, but with more cuss words!


Beach Road
Beach Road
Author: James Patterson, Peter de Jonge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 464
Review Date: 11/9/2007


This book was just ok for me. I really liked the short chapters. The ending was a complete let down. :-(


Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 9/11/2009


This was good, but not great. I really enjoyed Midwives, but this book doesn't hold a candle to Midwives. It didn't suck eggs, but didn't rock my world either.


Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth About Pregnancy and Childbirth
Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth About Pregnancy and Childbirth
Author: Jenny McCarthy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 4/28/2009


She talks about it ALL! While you are in the midst of the same aches and pains of pregnancy it is so funny to read her story. She writes about her pregnancy like your best friend would talk to you.


A Bend in the Road
A Bend in the Road
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 500
Review Date: 9/11/2009


Quick and Easy read. I haven't read any Nicholas Sparks books in quite a while because they are all the same and run together in my head until I can't keep them straight in my head anymore. Same story, different title.


Best Friends
Best Friends
Author: Martha Moody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 406
Review Date: 9/25/2009


My sister gave this book to me several years ago, so it's been a while since I read it. I think it took me a while to get into it, but I eventually started to like it. Some twists were predictable, but not in an "oh how lame" sort of way. This is the kind of book to me that is good to read during a "resting" phase. You know, the book you read AFTER you've finished a book that was emotionally exhausting? It's an easy read, not too deep.


Bitsy's Bait & BBQ
Bitsy's Bait & BBQ
Author: Pamela Morsi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 9/30/2008


I really enjoyed this book! The characters were likeable and the adventure plausible. Seemed like something that really could have happened to one of your friends.


Bless Me, Ultima
Bless Me, Ultima
Author: Rudolfo Anaya
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 8/29/2010


A little boy questions his faith. Good book. He seems much more mature than his 6-7 years of age though.


Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality
Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality
Author: Donald Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 358
Review Date: 9/11/2009


I read this for my book club. Really didn't like it at all.


The Boleyn Inheritance
The Boleyn Inheritance
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 617
Review Date: 9/11/2009


Not as good as the others in this series, but definately worthwhile. It is a little distracting in the beginning being written from 3 points of view. Once the viewpoints start to weave it is easy to find a rhythm and really enjoy this book.


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 9/6/2013


For me, this book was a little slow to begin with. I forced myself to read for 20 minutes each night before going to bed. About halfway through I got hooked. Thie characters are well written and it's easy to imagine them as people you know. This is a sweet and sad story at the same time. This is what I would call an "airplane" book. A pleasant read, but nothing needs to be explored and analyzed.


The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Perennial Classics)
The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Perennial Classics)
Author: Thornton Wilder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/6/2010


Interesting premise. Boring book.


Brooklyn on Fire (Mary Handley, Bk 2)
Brooklyn on Fire (Mary Handley, Bk 2)
Author: Lawrence H. Levy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/25/2016


Wow! So many famous people in this story. Vanderbilts, Carnegies, and Rockefellers, oh my! Our fair heroine got to hang out with them all. Of course, a Vanderbilt fell in love with her and it didn't matter in the least that she was from a lower social class. It was all just so utterly unbelievable.

Mary Handley isn't all that likable, but I could have gotten over that. There are plenty of books that I have really enjoyed while finding no redeeming value in the protagonist. The story was just so on the surface. It was as if the goal of this book was to have the heroine interact with as many famous people as possible instead of make the story engaging.

Boo!

This book was sent to be by blogging for books for this review.


Case Histories
Case Histories
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 6/25/2010


I liked it. Fast read, fun. Right up my literary alley


Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 365
Review Date: 11/19/2010


I got bored with this one and didn't finish it.


The Commitment Cure: What to Do When You Fall for an Ambivalent Man
Review Date: 9/11/2009


I found this book somewhat useful and entertaining back in my single days.


1 to 20 of 158 - Page: