Reviews - Kellie S. (acountkel)

1 to 20 of 96 - Page:
All Fall Down
All Fall Down
Author: Erica Spindler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 10/13/2006


"Awesome book.
Edge of my seat thru the whole thing."


The Amateur Marriage
The Amateur Marriage
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/22/2006


"Love Anne Tyler. This one especially because it brought back so many memories of my Polish heritage."


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3632
Review Date: 2/18/2007


"Haven't read a Dan Brown book I didn't like. This is no exception."


The Bone Collector (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 1)
The Bone Collector (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 1)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 359
Review Date: 10/13/2006


"First of the Lincoln Rhyme series
Read them all.
Great series!!"


The Christmas Train
The Christmas Train
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 8/25/2006


"The central character of the story is Tom Langdon, an investigative reporter who has relegated himself to writing about furniture following his more adventurous existence with his longtime girl friend, Eleanor, in foreign lands covering wars and such. He decides to take a cross-country train trip partly to fulfill a request from his now deceased father and partly to reflect on his own life and to see a friend on the West Coast. The Capitol is the train to Chicago where he changes to the Southwest Chief for the rest of the trip. There are colorful characters on the train and one gets a good insight into the domain of travel by rail. Tom is very surprised to find that Eleanor is on the same train. He has never forgotten her but has not seen her since she left him while overseas. He is overwhelmed by the coincidence and does some checking to try to verify that it indeed was a coincidence. Eleanor is on the train with her boss Max Powers, a movie producer as he is considering a movie with a train setting. For Eleanor seeing Tom was certainly not love at second sight. Two other travelers are planning to get married on the train as they go from Chicago to Los Angeles. Max decides to give them a great wedding and film it as well. After being snowbound in Colorado, the train continues to L.A. where mysteries are solved and some surprises revealed. A great X-mas story."


Circle of Friends
Circle of Friends
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 451
Review Date: 9/4/2006
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"As always, Binchy turns out another great story. Eve and Bennie are friends since grade school. The story takes you from there to their college years. Eve's mother was a rich lady whose family lives in the largest house in the small town. The family wants nothing to do with Eve even after her mother and father die. The father was a handy man who obviously did not have the respect from his in-laws. Therefore, Eve is raised by the nuns of the town. She is a small, petite girl with a strong personality. Bennie, whose father owns the local gentleman's clothing store, is a big boned girl with beautiful long chestnut hair. The Circle of Friends is actually Bennie and Eve as the core and then friends they meet thru college in some instances, tragically. Bennie falls in love with one of the most popular good looking boys. He loves her but he also loves other women. Which gets him into trouble. Nan is from a family of modest means whose father is a drunk. She is desperate to get out of this life and will do just about anything to get there. Including betraying her friends. I enjoyed this book very much"


The Closers (Harry Bosch Bk 11)
The Closers (Harry Bosch Bk 11)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 422
Review Date: 10/3/2006


"Love all of his"


Cold Mountain
Cold Mountain
Author: Charles Frazier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 7/18/2006
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is about a man who is making is way home from the Civil War after being injured. (Through the North Carolina Mountains) His drive is behind a woman he barely knows. The story goes back and forth between his journey and what is happening in her life as he is making his way. I enjoyed the depiction of what life was like in the mountains during this time. How hard life was. How hard you had to work to survive. I enjoyed it so much, it made me wants to learn to grow and cook like they did. Just to get the feeling"


Cold Mountain
Cold Mountain
Author: Charles Frazier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 687
Review Date: 11/10/2006
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is about a man who is making is way home from the Civil War after being injured. (Through the North Carolina Mountains) His drive is behind a woman he barely knows. The story goes back and forth between his journey and what is happening in her life as he is making his way. I enjoyed the depiction of what life was like in the mountains during this time. How hard life was. How hard you had to work to survive. I enjoyed it so much, it made me wants to learn to grow and cook like they did. Just to get the feeling"


Colony
Colony
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 10/18/2006


"One of her best!"


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4280
Review Date: 8/20/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is an excellent book written in the voice of an autistic boy who is dealing with the separation of his parents. The Incident of the Dog is just a small part of the story. The intriguing part of this book is how well the author has painted the picture of this autistic boy. You could swear he was autistic himself. Turns out, the author has worked closely with autistic kids. He certainly has worked close enough to almost become one. HE does a wonderful job showing how the autistic person deals with all of the aspects of life. I loved this one."


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3275
Review Date: 1/15/2007


"Love ALL of Dan Brown's books."


Deception on His Mind (Inspector Lynley, Bk 9)
Deception on His Mind (Inspector Lynley, Bk 9)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 1/5/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Another great one by George! This was about Barbara and her Pakistani neighbor. She finds out he is called away to the beach to help out some family in crisis. She figures out through press releases that he is there to help his family with the murder of the future son-in-law. Since she is on leave to recover from her injuries from the last book, she decides to go to the coast and see if she can see what's going on. She finds out, the lead investigator is someone she went to the academy with. Emily. Emily lets her in on the case and it takes off from there. This is strictly about Havers. Lynley, and Helen are on their honeymoon and St. James and Deborah do not appear. The plot revolves around the relationship between the Pakistani's and the local British who are trying to live in harmony in this coastal town. The murder exposes true prejudices and Barbara ends up in the middle. George is a master at the mystery and suspense. Her plots are so intricate, she weaves her way to grab your attention and you are caught in the web till the end. She has become one of my favorite authors."


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1696
Review Date: 9/22/2006


"Love All of Dan Brown's books."


Deck the Halls (Alvirah Meehan, Regan Reilly)
Deck the Halls (Alvirah Meehan, Regan Reilly)
Author: Carol Higgins Clark, Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 12/25/2006


"Pretty good for a holiday novella. I am not a particular fan of Mary Higgens Clark and have never read Carol. I enjoyed this. It was a quick mystery with suspense, mystery and romance. From Amazon.com-Three days before Christmas, Luke Reilly, who owns a string of funeral homes, and his young female driver, Rosita Gonzalez, are kidnapped for ransom. Luke is the husband of Nora Regan Reilly, a bestselling mystery writer based somewhat on Mary Higgins Clark; both are parents to Regan Reilly, Carol Higgins Clark's series detective (Twanged, etc.). Regan gets on the case at once, but she doesn't make much headway until she pairs up with Alvirah Meegan, the cleaning woman who turned private eye after winning a $40-million lottery in Mary Higgins Clark's Weep No More My Lady. (Here, Regan and Alvirah make each other's acquaintance at a dentist's office.) Meanwhile, Luke and Rosita remain chained on a small boat offshore from New Jersey as their two bumbling kidnappers plan, execute and bobble a ransom run. The boat starts to sink. Will Luke and Rosita drown? There's probably not a reader alive who thinks they will, and it'll surprise no one when Regan and Alvirah trip over clues as big as Christmas trees to save the day."


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 842
Review Date: 11/29/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"If not for the title that peaks your interest, or for the humor and undeniably great insight on what it would be like to work for a debutante of the fashion world, this book held my interest from beginning to end. If you are looking for a deep literary read, this is definitely not for you. This is a light, funny read that I, quite frankly, could not put down. Having no knowledge of fashion, designers, or New York City for that matter, I felt like I had an education on the fast paced, cut throat and very competitive industry that most girls can only dream about participating in. I thought Weisberger showed immense talent in poking fun at this glamorous way of life and I thouroughly enjoyed it."


Digital Fortress
Digital Fortress
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1713
Review Date: 9/22/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Love all of Dan Browns.
This was one of my favorites"


The Distant Echo
The Distant Echo
Author: Val McDermid
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 10/18/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"First one of Mcdermids I read
Bookclub book.
I really liked this one."


The Dive From Clausen's Pier
The Dive From Clausen's Pier
Author: Ann Packer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 2/4/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I read this when it first came out in 2002. The book is all right. I just disliked the main character. She was weak. This is a story about a guy and a girl. The girl is thinking of breaking up with the guy. They are out with their friends swimming in a creek and the boy breaks his neck diving from the pier. The rest of the story is about how she dealt with their relationship and her life after the accident."


The English Patient
The English Patient
Author: Michael Ondaatje
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 10/2/2006
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Terrible. I didn't like this at all. I guess I don't appreciate this style of writing. I know the basics. Four people in a bombed out Italian Villa. They are a nurse, a thief, a "sapper" and the English Patient. The book is about them towards the end of the war and how they are dealing with loss, death, destruction and their lives. That's about all I got from this. This book did not flow nicely at all. It was sparatic. One of the worst books I ever read. And I feel bad about that. I thought I was going to like it."


1 to 20 of 96 - Page: