Holly H. (hharris) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 47 - Page:
Ahab's Wife : Or, The Star-gazer
Ahab's Wife : Or, The Star-gazer
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 10/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a great historical novel. It encompasses a lot of adventures for Ahab's wife from when she is a child to an adult. It is good for one who is interested in sailing or lives in New England. She grows up in the Appalachians. Don't be daunted by the length, there are some exciting stories here.


Along the Edge of America
Along the Edge of America
Author: Peter Jenkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/5/2011


This book was a good slice of Gulf Coast Americana both the gritty and the great. Jenkins does a good job of describing the characters, landscape, and a bit of natural history. He is Christian and Republican, but there is not much proselytizing, about a paragraph on each of these. Mostly he is down to earth and self-deprecating.


Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned (Socrates Fortlow, Bk 1)
Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned (Socrates Fortlow, Bk 1)
Author: Walter Mosley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a set of morality tales set within one man's experience in Los Angeles. There are many tales of redemption here that I found satisfying.


Atomic Marbles & Branding Irons: A Guide to Museums, Collections, and Roadside Curiosities in Washington and Oregon
Review Date: 7/31/2012


Although this book is a bit out of date, the reviews are good and it is easier to look things up rather than surfing through the web.


Bicycling California's Spine: Touring the Length of the Sierra Nevada
Review Date: 10/11/2012


This is a very fun nostalgic look at cycling years ago in California. I even recognized a name of an old cyclist in here. The maps are good and I like the hand made way of the book - typed with hand drawn maps.


California Chaparral: An Elfin Forest
California Chaparral: An Elfin Forest
Author: W. S. Head
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/6/2009


Good overview of a southern California flora and fauna that I may use elsewhere for California too. There is some overlap.


Compass American Guides : Oregon
Compass American Guides : Oregon
Author: Judy Jewell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/14/2011


Compass guides are my favorite for travel guides. They seem to have the best writers with interesting information on the history of a place.


Complete Garden Guide to the Native Shrubs of California
Complete Garden Guide to the Native Shrubs of California
Author: Glenn Keator
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/9/2014


This book has great information on the individual species. Practical information on fire hazards, origination of species, soil type - many practical things.


Dear Mad'm (Women of the West)
Dear Mad'm (Women of the West)
Author: Stella Walthal Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/12/2014


This is a very fun book that takes place in Northern California.


Displays of Affection
Displays of Affection
Author: Jean-Jacques Sempe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/2/2013


Sempes is very fun and draws wonderfully. He has a good sense of humor.


The Distant Land of My Father
The Distant Land of My Father
Author: Bo Caldwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 1/21/2010


This book shows a great love for the city of Shanghai. It also shows though a great nostalgia for the old Los Angeles orange groves. The father daughter relationship is a great story here. This book is adapted somewhat from a true life story. Our book club loved it too.


Downhill: The Life Cycle of a Gravity Goddess
Downhill: The Life Cycle of a Gravity Goddess
Author: Marla Streb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/2/2010


Marla is one of the more unique and dedicated racers. I think it took a lot of courage to write this book. She is very talented both on and off the bike.


Driving Mr. Albert: A Trip Across America with Einstein's Brain
Driving Mr. Albert: A Trip Across America with Einstein's Brain
Author: Michael Paterniti
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 10/30/2013


This book was very fun. It was entertaining. The insights into the physiologist he travels with and Einstein are interesting.


Facing The Extreme : One Woman's Story Of True Courage And Death-Defying Survival In The Eye Of Mt. McKinley's Worst Storm Ever
Review Date: 9/13/2012


I have heard the author speak in a book store. I enjoyed the story as she is a consummate climber that trained very hard.


Feel This Book : An Essential Guide to Self-Empowerment, Spiritual Supremacy, and Sexual Satisfac tion
Review Date: 2/10/2009


Janeane Garofalo is a good writer and has been on the Henry Rollin's show. The chapter contents are funny, but are not the actual contents of the book. However the book is funny too. It is a fast readable book.


The Fragile Islands
The Fragile Islands
Author: Bettina Selby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/1/2012


This was another good one by Bettina Selby. She gives a good description of the landscape and people of the Outer Hebrides of Scotland. It seems like it rains there a lot. She is camping and biking around. The people there have a strict church in some parts which looks down upon any other activity on Sunday except for Bible reading.


Heft on Wheels : A Field Guide to Doing a 180
Heft on Wheels : A Field Guide to Doing a 180
Author: Mike Magnuson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/7/2010


We read this for book club. I thought it was a good one and inspiring. Biking is a great way to lose weight. The author has other things to say too as he is an English professor.


Highroad Guide to the California Sierra Nevada
Highroad Guide to the California Sierra Nevada
Author: Mark Grossi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/8/2011


Although I haven't read this book cover to cover this is my third Highroad guide book. The information is very good and accessible. There are great maps and illustrations.


Historic Spots in California
Historic Spots in California
Author: Ethel G Rensch, Hero Eugene Rensch, Mildred Brooke Hoover
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/14/2012


This is a thorough book on the history of California locations. It is a good one while going on road trips through the state.


How I Learned to Ride the Bicycle: Reflections of an Influential 19th Century Woman
Review Date: 11/28/2012


I read this book long ago and remember enjoying it.


1 to 20 of 47 - Page: