BookwormKath - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
The American Heiress
The American Heiress
Author: Daisy Goodwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 11/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book reminded me of the gothic romances I read as a teenager, just without the half naked man and swooning woman on the cover. Predictable plot, predictable characters, predictable ending. Still, an easy and not unpleasant read... A good book for when you just want something mindless to occupy your time.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 542
Review Date: 10/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book, plain and simple. I don't know many other authors who could tell such a tragic story and make you laugh all the way through it, but McCourt does it, and does it well, without losing the message of the story. It'll make you laugh, it'll make you cry, it'll make you think. I can't recommend it highly enough.


Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Author: Kris Radish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 10/25/2009


I've read all of Kris Radish's books and this is probably my favorite. All of her books revolve around women's relationship and the empowerment of women, but this one has something for just about everyone. Likeable characters, a good dose of humor, and a message for all of us. A thoroughly enjoyable read.


At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 679
Review Date: 4/9/2010


The best word I can use to describe this book is "sweet." The second best would be "simple." Nothing profound happens, there's no murder or mayhem, adulterous sex or children switched at birth, but if you're just looking for a happy, simple read, this book will fit the bill. And sometimes it's nice to take a breather from the murder... mayhem.... Well, you get my drift.


Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 11/18/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I don't know how I missed these books for almost 20 years, but I'm glad this one caught up to me. It was simply delightful.... Entertaining, endearing characters and a plot that kept me interested during the quick read. A great book to pick up after you've just finished a heavy tome and just want to read something enjoyable that leaves you feeling good.


Benny & Shrimp
Benny & Shrimp
Author: Katarina Mazetti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 4/7/2010


Besides the fact that I kept trying to call this book "Benny and Joon," it was an enjoyable, quick read. The characters were interesting, though I would have liked a little more character development. The only REAL problem I had with the book was that, even though it takes place in Sweden, my mind kept telling me it was England... Something about the way the book read screamed English. But all in all, enjoyable... I'd recommend it for a time when you just want to kick back and read without having to concentrate too much (which for me is most of the time!).


Benny and Shrimp
Benny and Shrimp
Author: Katarina Mazetti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/7/2010


Besides the fact that I kept trying to call this book "Benny and Joon," it was an enjoyable, quick read. The characters were interesting, though I would have liked a little more character development. The only REAL problem I had with the book was that, even though it takes place in Sweden, my mind kept telling me it was England... Something about the way the book read screamed English. But all in all, enjoyable... I'd recommend it for a time when you just want to kick back and read without having to concentrate too much (which for me is most of the time!).


Breathing Lessons
Breathing Lessons
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 273
Review Date: 10/25/2009


It's not often that I don't finish a book..... I didn't even make it halway through this one before giving up.


Caleb's Crossing
Caleb's Crossing
Author: Geraldine Brooks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 6/30/2012


First, let me say that I am a Geraldine Brooks FAN. That said, I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book, only to find that it really missed the mark compared to her other novels. It felt like a basic storytelling novel, without the depth of her other books. And it felt like it just... ended.

All in all, very disappointed. I always look forward to this author's books, but I wouldn't recommend this one.


A Cast-Off Coven (Witchcraft, Bk 2)
A Cast-Off Coven (Witchcraft, Bk 2)
Author: Juliet Blackwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 11/7/2010
Helpful Score: 4


I read and enjoyed the first book in this series, so looked forward to the second and enjoyed it just as much.

I don't know the exact defintion of a "cozy mystery," but this might qualify for one -- with a little Wiccan magick thrown in to set it apart from others of the same genre. Don't be thrown by the cartoony artwork on the cover... It's got a "little" more depth than the cover might imply, but you're not going to get bogged down in a heavy read.
I like the author's writing style -- clever without being cutesy -- and the characters are likeable.

I've already put the third one in the series on my wishlist. Thumbs up.


Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 3/27/2010


Our book club decided this would be a good summer read after a winter full of heavy books. "Catering to Nobody" fit the bill perfectly. It's entertaining and amusing with enough suspense to make you want to know what happens next. The recipes included in Mott's books are a lot of fun. I enjoyed it enough to pick up other books in the series and have enjoyed those, too.


Conversations with God : An Uncommon Dialogue, Bk 1
Conversations with God : An Uncommon Dialogue, Bk 1
Author: Neale Donald Walsch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 10/25/2009


Did Neale Donald Walsch "speak" to God? I don't know. Did God communicate with him via automatic writing? I don't know. Did this book make me take a look at my beliefs, the role of Source in my life and my place in the universe? You bet it did! It's not often that I write in my books..... My copy of CWG has so many notes in the margins that it would probably be hard for anyone else to read. It gives you so much to think about that I actually had to put it down occasionally and digest for a while.

I don't necessary agree with everything that the book says, but that's not really the point. The point is that it made me THINK about it, roll it around, see what resonated and what didn't.

Read without judgment and with an open mind.... You could have some "aha" moments. I did!


The Devil, The Lovers and Me: My Life in Tarot
The Devil, The Lovers and Me: My Life in Tarot
Author: Kimberlee Auerbach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/31/2010


The title of this book might lead readers to think that it's a new age book about tarot cards or readers when, in actuality, it's a memoir of the author's life. She uses the cards drawn for her during a tarot reading as a clever introduction to each chapter.

It's a quick and entertaining read, nothing that will rock your world, but I think that most readers will be able to relate to some element in her story and parts of it will make you chuckle.


Dogs and Goddesses
Dogs and Goddesses
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Anne Stuart, Lani Diane Rich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 5/6/2010


This is by and far the dumbest book I've ever enjoyed. Talking dogs, resurrecting gods and goddesses, magic cookies..... It's all pretty ridiculous. But the characters are a hoot and some of the catch phrases made me laugh out loud. If nothing else, the book is worth reading just to hear what the dogs have to say.

This is the perfect book to read if you've just finished a Jodi Picoult novel and need to lighten up with something you don't have to concentrate on and just want to have a good time.


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 6/28/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Having enjoyed "The House at Riverton" by this author, I looked forward to reading "The Forgotten Garden," and I think I actually enjoyed it more than the former. There's something for everyone... Mystery within mystery (without being heavy and difficult to read), love, betrayal, intrigue. Interesting characters that hold your attention. The story moves back and forth through time, and you have to keep up with who's who, but it's pretty well done.

I read it on a long car trip and it made the miles fly. Can't wait for her next book! *thumbs up*


Frank: The Story of Frances Folsom Cleveland, America's Youngest First Lady (Excelsior Editions)
Review Date: 11/23/2010


I was so disappointed in this book. It was a dry and superficial look at the life of the country's youngest first lady. I felt like I didn't know much more about her after I read the book than I had before. The book was simply a recitation of information that the author had found and that's how it read. If you want to learn about Frances Folsom Cleveland, you might want to look elsewhere first.


Full Scoop (Full, Bk 6)
Full Scoop (Full, Bk 6)
Author: Janet Evanovich, Charlotte Hughes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 602
Review Date: 3/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I'm not a fan of Janet Evanovich's other series (isn't it an alphabet theme or something?), but somewhere along the line I picked up this one and was glad I did. It was thoroughly enjoyable -- good writing, interesting characters and a good story line. Another perfect "summer read."


Ghostlight (Witchlight, Bk 1)
Ghostlight (Witchlight, Bk 1)
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 9/1/2010


I first read "Witchlight" in this series by Marion Zimmer Bradley and enjoyed it, so looked forward to reading the others in the series. At first it was confusing, because this is probably one of those series that you should probably read it order and "Ghostlight" must be the first book.

As always, the author's writing was good, but the story was ehhhhh..... I'll read the others, because I usually like Bradley's books, but this one was not one of her best.


The Girl On Legare Street (Tradd Street, Bk 2)
The Girl On Legare Street (Tradd Street, Bk 2)
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 2/23/2011


I really enjoyed this book. Victorian houses, ghosts, mystery, intrigue, quirky love story. Does it get any better? I was torn between wanting to read it quickly to find out the answer to the mystery and wanting to read it slowly, to do draw out the suspense. Alas, in the end I couldn't stop myself and read it straight through.

In order to make sense of the story, you really need to read the first book in the series, "The House on Tradd Street," first because the author doesn't do any back-tracking on character formation.

And as for a third one in the series? Well, the author certainly left the door open for it!

I enjoyed both books in this series and recommend them. *thumbs up*


The Girls from Ames: A Story of Women and a Forty-Year Friendship
The Girls from Ames: A Story of Women and a Forty-Year Friendship
Author: Jeffrey Zaslow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 5/19/2010


We read this book for our bookclub. It was okay.... I'm not sure why it made the bestsellers list, though. The women involved in the book grew up during my era, so the stories were a flashback to my teenage years.


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: