Kathleen A R. (katink) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Andrew Henry's Meadow
Andrew Henry's Meadow
Author: Doris Burn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderful book that teaches us to be tolerant of people that are different.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 5/23/2010


People raved about this book. I found it very depressing. I didn't see the humor in people's suffering. Portions of the book were entertaining but I found myself looking forward to the end.


The Art of Mickey Mouse : Artists Interpret The World's Favorite Mouse (Disney Miniature Series)
Review Date: 9/8/2008


About the size of a small paperback but a hardcover, this miniature book is a perfect, unique gift for any Mickey Mouse fan. Mickey Mouse, that classic, loveable icon of the Walt Disney Company is portrayed in art by some of the world's most famous artists. Andy Warhol, Peter Max, Charles Schultz, Ward Kimball, R. Crumb, Keith Harding and even Michael Jackson. The works are pictured in many different mediums, making for a very interesting book.


The Art of the Lion King (Disney Miniature Series)
The Art of the Lion King (Disney Miniature Series)
Author: Christopher Finch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/16/2009


Beautiful artwork in a miniature book from Disney's award winning animated feature The Lion King. With a foreword by James Earl Jones.


Best Kept Secrets
Best Kept Secrets
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 1/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Good but not as captivating as other Sandra Brown Books. It does have it's twists and turns and kept me guessing until almost the end of the book. Read it once...won't read it again!


Birthday Cakes for Kids (Favorite All Time Recipes)
Review Date: 6/11/2012


This recipe book is for the non-professional baker. You can used boxed cake mixes and canned frosting. Contains easy instructions for making decorated kid's birthday cakes for the do-it-your-selfer.


Book of Saints Part 3 (St. Joseph Picture Book)
Book of Saints Part 3 (St. Joseph Picture Book)
Author: Rev Lawrence G. Lovasik, SVD
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/15/2009


Part of a series of religious books for children illustrated in full color and simply written, to help them better understand the catholic faith.

Part 3 tells the stories of 16 saints. St. Francis De Sales; St. Thomas Aquinas; St. Isidore; St. John the Baptist; St. Benedict; St. Clare; St. Bernard; St. Augustine; St. Charles Borromeo; St. Francis Cabrini; St. Elizabeth; St. Cecilia; St. Catherine Labourne; St. Francis Xavier; St John of the Cross; Our Lady, Queen.


Book of Saints Part 5 (St Joseph Picture Book)
Book of Saints Part 5 (St Joseph Picture Book)
Author: Rev Lawrence G Lovasik SVD
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/15/2009


Part of a series of religious books for children illustrated in full color and simply written, to help them better understand the catholic faith.

Part 5 tells the stories of 15 saints. St. Basil the Great; St. Anthony the Abbot; St. Isidore of Seville; St. Vincent Ferrer; St. Gemma Galgani; St. Philip Neri; St. Camillus of Lellis; St. Christopher; St. Ignatius of Loyola; St. John Eudes; St. Gregory the Great; St. Robnert Bellarmine; St. Paul of the Cross; St. Leo the Great; St Peter Canisius.


Book of Saints Part 6
Book of Saints Part 6
Author: Rev Lawrence G Lovasik SVD
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/15/2009


Part of a series of religious books for children illustrated in full color and simply written, to help them better understand the catholic faith.

Part 6 tells the stories of 15 saints. St. Francis of Assisi; St. Edward; St. John Neumann; St. Benedict Labre; St. Bonaventure; St. Madeleine Sophie Barat; St. Maximilian Kolbe; St. Gabriel the Archangel; St. Jerome; St. Ignatius of Antioch; St. Anthony Mary Claret; St. Pius V; St. Catherine of Sienna; St. Martin of Tours; St. Ambrose.


Charade
Charade
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 5/17/2009


I couldn't put this book down and stayed up all night reading it. It went all around the office and everyone of us read it in one sitting. Lots of twists and turns.....Sandra Brown kept me guessing until the end.

A book I would read again.


Dark Summer
Dark Summer
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 4/27/2009


Excellent read!! Finished it in one day! If you are a Johansen fan, this won't disappoint.


Deadlock
Deadlock
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 7/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I love Iris Johansen. I read this book in one sitting. I started it and got dragged in. It moved along very quickly with many twist and turns. I never saw the twist at the end coming. I highly recommend this book. Great read!


Garden Style
Garden Style
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/10/2009


A wonderful book that is full of ideas for turning your home into a quiet retreat. Includes decorating ideas for porches, great rooms, decks, apartments just about any living space. Describes how to make every room feel like a garden with flowery fabrics, painting techniques, and shelving. Also includes a shopping list by area on the USA.


The Hard Way (Jack Reacher, Bk 10)
The Hard Way (Jack Reacher, Bk 10)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 426
Review Date: 2/15/2009


Excellent read. Jack Reacher does it again! Thrills, and twists and turns.


I Can Hardly Wait (The Three Stooges)
I Can Hardly Wait (The Three Stooges)
Author: Bob Italia, Clyde Bruckman
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/14/2009


Curly's sore tooth is the cause of several humorous stories. Written for a child ages 9-12, but great nostalgia for those of us who grew up in the 50's and 60's. The Three Stooges performed a brand of comedy known as slapstick. They used harmless props and horseplay. The book contains many pictures. Brings back a lot of memories.


Killer Dreams
Killer Dreams
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 396
Review Date: 2/15/2009


I read this book in one afternoon. I couldn't put it down. Many twists and turns and a happy ending.


Killer Year: Stories To Die For ...
Killer Year: Stories To Die For ...
Author: Lee Child (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/7/2010


Great read for those that like to read a variety of crime stories from up and coming authors. I only found one story confusing due to the writing style but the book was interesting.


Long After Midnight
Long After Midnight
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 3/9/2009


I've been on an self imposed Iris Johansen read-a-thon. This is the best book I have read in a long time. I couldn't put it down. Contains romance, betrayal, intrigue, action, suspense and several different personalities that keep the storyline moving. Just when I thought there was going to be a "happiliy ever after" there was another twist to the story. It's a long book with 430 pages.


The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen
The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen
Author: Donna Klein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/30/2009


My favorite is mushroom barley pilaf. The book has easy Mediterranean recipes without using meat, dairy or tofu. I have a dairy allergy so I find the book wonderful. I don't find the ingredients hard to find. The book calls for fresh fruits and vegetables and common ingredients.


Mystery Writers of America Presents Death Do Us Part
Mystery Writers of America Presents Death Do Us Part
Author: Harlan Coben (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/1/2010


Wonderful short stories from some great mystery writers. Harlan Coben, Ridley Pearson, Lee Child and RL Stine to name a few. Get it......you'll like it.


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: