June P. (junebug4) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
Afraid to Die (Selena Alvarez/Regan Pescoli Series)
Afraid to Die (Selena Alvarez/Regan Pescoli Series)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/2/2014


I listened to this entire book (5 discs) in one afternoon and evening. It was that good that I just kept putting in the next disc because I wanted to hear the rest of the story. If you are a Lisa Jackson you will really enjoy this book too. It is about the detectives Salena Alvarez and Regan Piscoli as they try to catch a serial killer who is killing women and freezing them into blocks of ice and then doing ice sculptures with the women in side.


American Evita: Hillary Clinton's Path To Power
American Evita: Hillary Clinton's Path To Power
Author: Christopher Andersen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/22/2015


I'll say right up front I am not a Hillary Clinton fan. If everything in this book is true it was really an eye opener for me. I learned more about Hillary than I ever wanted to know.


Angel Dogs: Divine Messengers of Love
Angel Dogs: Divine Messengers of Love
Author: Allen Anderson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/7/2017


My daughter got me this book for Christmas because she know how much I love reading. The title of the book describes it a lot. It is a compilation of short (@-5) page stories of all different breeds of dogs doing amazing things for their families. I really enjoyed this book.


Angel on a Leash: Therapy Dogs and the Lives They Touch
Angel on a Leash: Therapy Dogs and the Lives They Touch
Author: David Frei
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/17/2014


If you have ever loved a therapy or service dog this is the book for you to read. There are few people that know dogs like David Frei does. he makes comments on the dog show that is televised after the Thanksgiving parade each year. Frei tells you about all the dogs he knows that has brought so much happiness and affection to hospitalized patients. I guess this book meant so much to me because I have a therapy dog.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 990
Review Date: 1/22/2015


As an avid dog lover I enjoyed this book very much. It was written through the eyes of the dog. He is telling the story. It's a tearjerker in some spots and then the next page I found myself laughing out loud at some of the things this dog said and did. It was a very enjoyable book.


Choosing to See: A Journey of Struggle and Hope
Choosing to See: A Journey of Struggle and Hope
Author: Mary Beth Chapman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 2/1/2015


This book was written by Mary Beth Chapman, wife of Christian singer/songwriter, Steven Curtis Chapman. The Chapmans have 3 children of their own and then adopt 3 Chinese girls. Tragedy happens to the family when one of their sons hits their youngest daughter with a car and kills her. The story unfolds as to how the Capmans handle the death of their daughter and how they lean on their faith in God to help them get through. I enjoyed the book very much.


The Day Christ Died
The Day Christ Died
Author: Jim Bishop
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/17/2017


I thought this was a very good book. It takes you from midnight Maunday Thursday all the way through Jesus' trial, persecution, and crucifixion. A journalist-historian's approach to the most dramatic day in the history of the Christian world, this is a moving and inspiring recreation of those events. I begins at 6 PM--the beginning of the Hebrew day and the time Jesus moved toward Jerusalem and the Last Supper with his apostles--and takes us trough to4 PM of the last day, the sorrowful moment when he was removed from the cross.


The Deep End of the Ocean
The Deep End of the Ocean
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 7/1/2014


This book is about a mother of 3 children that leaves her home in Wisconsin and goes to her class reunion in Chicago. Upon arriving at her hotel her youngest son is kidnapped. The older boy was supposed to be watching him so now the older boy has guilt feelings. Of course the Mother is feeling very guilty as the boy was stolen while in her custody. Year later the boy comes to the family's home to ask for a lawn mowing job. The boy's adopted family and his birth family finally come to know each other and it is heart wrenching for the boy to decide which family he wants to live with. I read it twice and recommended for my book club


The Elephant Keeper
The Elephant Keeper
Author: Christopher Nicholson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/15/2015
Helpful Score: 1


What was written 298 pages could have been written in 200. It takes place in the late 1700's in England. It's about a man who buys 2 very sickly elephants thinking he is going to breed then and have a whole herd of elephants. A young boy, Tom, who takes care of his horses is hired to take care of the elephants. One of the elephants is sold so now Tom has just Jenny to care for. The book continues with the adventures Tom and Jenny have during the next several years. Not one of the most interesting books I have ever read.


Handle with Care
Handle with Care
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 427
Review Date: 11/26/2016


I thought this was an excellent book. Jodi Picoult always seem to have a very surprising twist at the end of her books and she certainly doesn't disappoint in this book either. Charolette O"Keefe has a daughter born with osteogenesis imperfecta or what we would call brittle bone desease. She wants to sue her OB-GYN because she should have seen this imperfection at the ultra-sounds that were preformed during the pregnancy. The big drawback is that her OB-GYN is also her best friend. Her husband is a witness against her and they have an older daughter that is feeling very left out and unwanted. I love Jodi's writtings and this one is right up there at the top of Jodi's best.


Heaven Hears: The True Story of What Happened When Pat Boone Asked the World to Pray for His Grandson's Survival
Review Date: 6/19/2015


In the year 2001 famous singer Pat Boone's grandson accidently stepped through a skylight and fell three stories to a cement floor. As Ryan lingered between life and death in intensive care, Pat and Lindy decided to take action in a big way; they went on Larry King Live, shared their faith, and asked millions of TV viewers to pray for Ryan. This is the story of tragedy and triumph from the Boone family, It's a story of the unmovable power of prayer, and the undeniable evidence that heaven hears us. I enjoyed the book very much.


Here We Go Again: My Life in Television
Here We Go Again: My Life in Television
Author: Betty White
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/29/2017


I found this to be a very enjoyable read. It tells about her beginning in television. She tells of her successes and failures of different shows she was on. She tells of her marriages to Allen Ludden and of the wild escapades with THE GOLDEN GIRLS.


House Rules
House Rules
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 4/20/2018


This book is about a single mother with 2 teenaged sons, Jacob who is 18 and has Asbergers Syndrome and his brother Theo who is 15. Jacob has a tutor, Jess, who is working with him on his social skills. Jacob goes to Jess's house for their weekly session and fids Jess dead. He takes her to a culvert and wraps her in his quilt. When the police find out about the quilt they arrest him for her murder. Did he really kill her? I really liked this book but then I like most of anything Jodi Picoult writes.


I Promised My Dad
I Promised My Dad
Author: Cheryl Landon Wilson, Jane Scovall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/17/2014
Helpful Score: 1


If you ever liked the tv shows "Bonanza", "Little House on the Prarie" and "Highway to Heaven" you will be very interest in this book about Michael Landon. It is written by his eldest daughter Cheryl. She talks of the heart aches and depressions he went through as a child and the happiness he found in his family. His greatest joys were his children, all nine of them. She goes through Michael's long and courageous struggle with pancreatic cancer and his strong will to fight his disease. He was a fighter right to the end.


I'll Find You
I'll Find You
Author: Nancy Bush
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 2/1/2015


I have read some of Nancy Bush before when she writes with her sister, Lisa Jackson. This book is right up there with Lisa Jackson's books, full of suspense and mystery. I thought it was a good read.


Killer Dreams
Killer Dreams
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 397
Review Date: 12/26/2014


I found this book to be confusing at first with so many characters being introduced within the first few pages. Later on you can tell who is the bad person and who are the good. It was sort of long and drawn out in some places. It was a good book but not one that is unforgettable.


The Last Child
The Last Child
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 8/1/2016


This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. It's about a young teen boy who had his twin sister abducted a year previous. Johnny goes on hi own searching for her. Detective Clyde Hunt is also searching for her. I found this book very hard to put down. It just had one twist after the other. It is a very good thriller. I recommend it highly.


Left Neglected
Left Neglected
Author: Lisa Genova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 6/24/2014


This book is about a busy career woman who has a sever car accident and has brain damage. She can't see or feel anything on her left side. It's about her strong courage and her fight to get back what she had before the accident. Very inspiring for anyone who has ever had a struggle to go through.


A Lion Called Christian: The True Story of the Remarkable Bond between Two Friends and a Lion
Review Date: 7/1/2014


A very heart warming story of 2 London boys who buy a tiny lion cub and raise it in London. As Christian gets years older and larger and more hard to handle they decide to see if they can return him to the wilds of Africa.


Lovesick Blues : The Life of Hank Williams
Lovesick Blues : The Life of Hank Williams
Author: Paul Hemphill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/6/2014


I have been a fan of Hank Williams for many years. I knew he had a problem with alcohol but I never knew of all the hardships he had during his life until I read this book. It was very informative and very well written. It was hard to put it down.


1 to 20 of 37 - Page: