Reviews - Marie S. (booksandmusic)

1 to 20 of 52 - Page:
101 Ways to Make Your Classroom Special: Creating a Place Where Significance, Teamwork, and Spontaneity Can Sprout and Flourish
Review Date: 7/18/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Inside you will discover:
28 ways to reach out to youngsters, including shy or resistant students
16 ways to help youngsters understand their needs and feelings and support the needs and feelings of others
32 ways to encourage youngsters to initiate and complete tasks
8 ways to introduce students to the five powerful principles that translate into success in the working world
17 ways that youngsters can develop their own special project that improves the lives of others and the environment
8 ways to finance special projects"


The Art of French Kissing
The Art of French Kissing
Author: Kristin Harmel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 4/19/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved this book. I didn't want to put it down or see it end. I enjoyed that KH made Paris and the sites such an important part of this book. I loved re-visiting the places I had seen when I was in Paris. It makes me want to go back and share it with my husband now.

I have enjoyed all of KH's books. I look forward reading much more from her."


Asking for Trouble
Asking for Trouble
Author: Elizabeth Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 2/1/2009


"Funny story once you get used to reading the British jargon."


Aussie Rules
Aussie Rules
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 7/27/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Ok, I may be in the minority here with this review, but here goes...

I didn't love this book, but I didn't hate it either. It was just ok for me.
I found the plot to be interesting, however it was way overshadowed by the sexual tension and intimate situations that seemed to be a constant theme in the entire book. I would have much rather read about a more developed plot than all the four letter words referring to body parts. If you are wanting a mindless read, this is your book."


Beating Heart
Beating Heart
Author: A. M. Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/20/2010


"I read the review of this book and thought it would be a good story to read. It has been a while since I have read a YA book and I usually enjoy them. I did like this book, however I was shocked that a YA book talked so freely and openly about teen sex and treated the subject so casually. It became the focus of the book, I believe. I was hoping for a more detailed story about something other than 2 teens having sex."


Being Catholic Now: Prominent Americans Talk About Change in the Church and the Quest for Meaning
Review Date: 3/15/2010


"I would much rather spend my time reading books by Scott Hahn and Matthew Kelly."


Between, Georgia
Between, Georgia
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 9/4/2009


"Made it through 1 and a half chapters. Had to give it up. Not my idea of a good read. I was so-so about gods in Alabama, but I wanted to see if I liked this book any better, evidently not. So glad I borrowed it from the library and didn't waste a credit."


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 256
Review Date: 7/20/2010


"I loved this book! I was sad to see it end. The characters are so real that sometimes you forget you are reading a fiction book. I would love to see this story continued...maybe several years down the road after the girls have grown up. I would be the first in line to buy it. Until then, I will be reading all of Sandra Krings books."


The Camel Club (Camel Club, Bk 1)
The Camel Club (Camel Club, Bk 1)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 632
Review Date: 9/3/2009


"This could have been a great book...........however, the "political lecturing...blame America first and always" slant this book seemed to preach throughout became tiresome at best."


Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 10/20/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was my first time reading a Fannie Flagg book but it won't be my last! I was hooked from the first few pages. The characters are fantastic and easy to identify with. This book is a fun read with a real message. A feel good story that will stay with you."


Chosen by a Horse
Chosen by a Horse
Author: Susan Richards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 245
Review Date: 6/26/2007
15 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Keep a box of tissues close by while you are reading this book."


The Cinderella Rules (Glass Slipper, Inc., Bk 1)
The Cinderella Rules (Glass Slipper, Inc., Bk 1)
Author: Donna Kauffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 7/3/2010


"Don't give up on this book! It starts out a little slow, but midway through it really picks up. An enjoyable read!"


Cold Sassy Tree
Cold Sassy Tree
Author: Olive Ann Burns
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 6/12/2010


"Very much worth reading! Excellent story!"


Cross Country (Alex Cross, Bk 14)
Cross Country (Alex Cross, Bk 14)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 416
Review Date: 1/6/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I usually like the Alex Cross books, but I had neither the nerves or the stomach for this book. I couldn't make it through the first 50 pages. I wasn't even sorry when I had to toss it in the trash because it had become wet. I just considered it one less book for someone to get stuck reading. I will be hesitant to read another Cross book for a long time, if ever."


Dead Run
Dead Run
Author: Erica Spindler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/29/2010


"Really liked this book. Keeps you guessing until the very end. I am looking forward to reading more from this author."


Diary of a Mad Bride
Diary of a Mad Bride
Author: Laura Wolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 340
Review Date: 11/17/2008


"Even after 31 years of marriage, I was able to relate to this book and remember what it was like planning my own wedding. No one ever forgets the stress that goes along with that most wonderful day of your life. It also sends a nice message that weddings can still be nice and not cost a fortune. A good, entertaining read."


Fairy Tale Weddings: Cindy and the Prince / Some Kind of Wonderful
Fairy Tale Weddings: Cindy and the Prince / Some Kind of Wonderful
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 4/24/2010


"Macomber updates 2 classic Fairy Tales, Cinderella and Beauty and the Beast. Very enjoyable, easy read. A nice escape book."


Favorite Books Activities Kit: Ready-To-Use Quizzes, Projects and Activity Sheets for Grades 4-8
Review Date: 7/29/2007


"144 reproducible quizzes, 98 reproducible activity and project pages, convenient teacher summaries for each book, plus answer keys.

Books covered are:
The Indian in the Cupboard, It's Like This,Cat, Thimble Summer, Where the Red Fern Grows, Bunnicula, Just One Friend, Leif the Unlucky, M.C. Higgins,the Great, The Great Gilly Hopkins, How to Eat Fried Worms, Sarah, Plain and Tall, Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing, Anne Franke:Diary of a Young Girl, The Best Christmas Pagent Ever, Johnny Tremain, Rasco and the Rats of NIMH, Across Five Aprils, From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, In the Year of the Bear and Jackie Robinson, The Slave Dancer, Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, Sounder, To Be a Slave, With You and Without You, The Cat Ate My Gymsuit, James and the Giant Peach, Julie of the Wolves, One Fat Summer, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Frankenstein, My Brother Sam is Dead, The War Between the Pitiful Teachers and the Splendid Kids, All-of-a-Kind Family, Call it Courage, Dirt Bike Racer, Homesick, Animal Farm, The Boat Who Wouldn't Float, The Summer of the Swans, Tiger Eyes, Summer of My German Soldier, Summer of the Monkeys, Pursuit, Wuthering Heights, The Hero and the Crown, Hitty:Her First Hundred Years, National Velvet, The Red Pony"


Final Target
Final Target
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 343
Review Date: 8/12/2012


"No character development, confusing plot, unlikeable characters, sci-fi-ish elements to the plot, along with political, mystery, and thriller elements as well.
Couldn't finish. It will be my first and last Johansen book."


Five Star Expressions - The Card (Five Star Expressions)
Five Star Expressions - The Card (Five Star Expressions)
Author: D-L Nelson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 12/28/2009


"I was somewhat disappointed with this book. I was under the assumption that it was mainly a Christmas story. It is not. There is a little hint of a Christmas theme throughout, but the main story is of two women who meet at college and remain frineds throughout their lives. The author focuses on the characters and their lives and what they have gone through rather than it being a Christmas story. I did manage to finish the book, and maybe I would have enjoyed it more if I hadn't expected to be reading a holiday book. This was my first book by this author, but I am not sure if I will read anything else she has written."


1 to 20 of 52 - Page: