Duncan N. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 84 - Page:
Angels Fall
Angels Fall
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 607
Review Date: 12/10/2010


Enjoyable story with good characters and a good plot. The twists and turns and the character development made this more than your run of the mill romance story.


At Home in Stone Creek (Stone Creek, Bk 6) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 2005)
At Home in Stone Creek (Stone Creek, Bk 6) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 2005)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 6/20/2011


A good quick read featuring contemporary characters from the Stone Creek Christmas book rather than the historic series. Ashley, and the rest of the O'Ballivan family, are all great characters, literally and figuratively. Jack is somewhat an underdeveloped character, but still quite likeable. My only complaint was that the story was too short to fully develop the plot complexity I've come to like about Ms. Miller's work.


At Last Comes Love (Huxtables, Bk 3)
At Last Comes Love (Huxtables, Bk 3)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 404
Review Date: 1/3/2011


Best of the series so far. Good characters with more plot and complexity and intrigue than in the first two installments of the Huxtable family. I really like Meg and Duncan - and Toby; really can't stand Crispin; was intrigued by Duncan's situation and really liked the situation as that unfolded. I enjoyed the complexity of this story. I look forward to Stephen's tale.


At the King's Command (Tudor Rose, Bk 1)
At the King's Command (Tudor Rose, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 1/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Slow going at first and I wasn't sure of it, but it got better as it went; so much so that I will definately look at the rest of the series. Very good characters and a better than average plot. I liked the Romanov link with the typical victorian romance.


At the Queen's Summons (Tudor Rose, Bk 3)
At the Queen's Summons (Tudor Rose, Bk 3)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 1/30/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Very good story; I really enjoyed this trilogy. Wonderful characters and a great plot. I loved the way this family line twists through three generations. I really liked the gypsy twist and prophesy; I liked the first story with the Russian twist; the second book was OK; but this third and final tale was the best. I liked the Irish theme and the complexity of these last characters was complex, moving, and worth the read. I couldnt put this book down.


Back in Black (SBC Fighters, Bk 7)
Back in Black (SBC Fighters, Bk 7)
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 1/14/2011


This had 2 sets of main characters and I enjoyed them both. Plot could have been somewhat more complex - but with two sets of people to hook up, it wasn't. Very erotic in nature; more so than most romance stories. Very contemporary chick lit - hot. I hope Ms. Foster continues with this SBC series.


The Black Echo  (Harry Bosch, Bk 1)
The Black Echo (Harry Bosch, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 12/13/2013


Exciting mystery full of twists and turns. Good, rich character development. Interesting (and abrupt) changes in direction. I look forward to more of Harry!


Bride Of Shadow Canyon (Harlequin Historical Series)
Bride Of Shadow Canyon (Harlequin Historical Series)
Author: Stacey Kayne
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 1/22/2011


An enjoyable story with good characters and a good plot. I liked Jed and Rachel; I liked the supporting characters too, they were better than typically supporting characters in stories like this. The historic cowboy romance is one of my favorite genres and this was better than average.


Burn
Burn
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 1/3/2011


My first Howard novel and I really enjoyed it. Good plot, good characters, good pace... I enjoyed this in ways I never expected. If Howard novels are all of this style, I'll have found another of my "favorites".

I like women with backbone and grit!


Candle in the Storm (The Shadowed Path, Bk 2)
Candle in the Storm (The Shadowed Path, Bk 2)
Author: Morgan Howell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really like this series. I will go and purchase the third book in the trilogy today, if I can find it. I really like Yim and Honus and all the supporting characters; complex, and fast moving plot. I was really pulling for Yim and Honus; somewhat surprised by how this story ended, but it makes me want to get my hands on the third book all the more.

I like the complexity of the characters and the plot. I actually find myself debating what or how Yim should interpret her visions and if Karm is right... I really like Honus. There were some suprises, twists that were unexpected, and a turn at the end that seemed odd - but all make the tale more compelling - and make me want that third book all the more.


Carnage of Eagles (Eagles, Bk 17)
Carnage of Eagles (Eagles, Bk 17)
Author: William W. Johnstone, J. A. Johnstone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/30/2013


I enjoyed this conventional western. I'd not read Mr. Johnstone's work before but I liked it. This is a stand-alone story but with somewhat familiar characters from his "Eagles" series.


Carnal Innocence
Carnal Innocence
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 2/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This was a good book; I liked the mystery and intrigue that tied the story together. Not as good as some of her newer work (this was originally released in 1991) but I still enjoyed it very much. Caro and Tucker were well developed and multi-layered, complex even. I would have liked to see some actual resolution with Caroline's mother/family/Luis. A little too much foreshadowing regarding "who done it" but there was enough possible twist that you had to stick with it until the very end.


Causing Havoc (SBC Fighters, Bk 1)
Causing Havoc (SBC Fighters, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 551
Review Date: 12/17/2010


My first Foster novel and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Good characters and decent plot - for contemporary romance/chic lit fare. I like Dean and Eve; Cam and Jackie... Lorna was odd and should have been more thoroughly developed and Roger was a tool, but I assume that was by design. The plot could have been easily more complex and/or drawn out but it wasn't bad. Will check out more of the SBC Fighters series.


The Chase (Isaac Bell, Bk 1)
The Chase (Isaac Bell, Bk 1)
Author: Clive Cussler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 5/26/2010


This is a new character for Cussler and I really liked it. Full of adventure and action. Fast moving and exciting. Classic Cussler in many ways, but refreshing and new.


Corsair (Oregon Files, Bk 6)
Corsair (Oregon Files, Bk 6)
Author: Clive Cussler, Jack Du Brul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 1/23/2012


Another great Cussler novel.


Coup d'Etat (Dewey Andreas, Bk 2)
Coup d'Etat (Dewey Andreas, Bk 2)
Author: Ben Coes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 2/19/2013


Great read! Fast paced and absolutely cover to cover action. I couldn't put this book down.

This is book 2 in the Dewey Andreas story. I really like these books and look forward to the rest of the series.

Dewey gets recruited in Australia, where he's hiding out from Fortuna, by the US Govt to overthrow Pakistan's president to avert nucleus war with India - and drawing China and the US into the mix.

Unfortunately, Dewey doesn't kill all the bad guys so there are some left to chase him in the next books...


A Courtesan's Guide to Getting Your Man
A Courtesan's Guide to Getting Your Man
Author: Susan Donovan, Celeste Bradley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 5/16/2011


This was a great story - a great combination of present day and historic romance. Good twists and turns. I truly enjoyed the characters and the premise of this story. What a good book!


The Covenant of Genesis (Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase, Bk 4)
The Covenant of Genesis (Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase, Bk 4)
Author: Andy McDermott
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 4/15/2011


Overly unrealistic. Too far fetched. While the imagination of Mr. McDermott is to be lauded, I can't, in good conscience recommend this to anyone. The amount of killing and destruction, that nobody seems to notice, is just too much for the imagination. And while I like Nina and Eddie and love to hate Sophie, it is no longer even within the realm of beliebability.

A convoluted race to find the "secret" that the Covenant of Genisis is trying to keep hidden from the world. More people died in this book than in the Civil War, I think...


The Dead Travel Fast
The Dead Travel Fast
Author: Deanna Raybourn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 12/4/2011


This book was NOT very good. I had to force myself to finish it; I was just too stubborn to put it down. The premise was OK, but the book struggled in many places and the plot just wasn't paced well enough. The characters were OK, but a bit too much in each case. While this is not part of Mrs. Raybourn's Julia Grey series, it is similar - those who really LOVE the Grey work may enjoy this.

Vampires, warewolves, murder, dark suspense... just not done well enough to make it any good.


The Devil Wears Plaid
The Devil Wears Plaid
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 2/23/2011
Helpful Score: 6


Good book! The characters were thoroughly developed and truly likeable; I very much enjoy strong willed, spirited female lead characters. Emma and Sin were quite good. The plot was well developed and had a number of good twists and unexpected bumps in the road. I very much enjoyed this and will look forward to other stories by Teresa Medeiros.


1 to 20 of 84 - Page: