Luanne W. (Lulu) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
The Book of Secrets : Unlocking the Hidden Dimensions of Your Life
The Book of Secrets : Unlocking the Hidden Dimensions of Your Life
Author: Deepak Chopra
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/21/2007


I like the way he thinks so naturally I like the book. Some of the discussion you will have heard before but it's a good reminder and causes you to think about your own situation. I especially liked the chapter on time and the misuse of it.


Cocktails for Three
Cocktails for Three
Author: Madeleine Wickham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/13/2007


This is a good story about three friends that meet for drinks after work in London's swankiest bar once every month. They continue meeting and talking even after the circumstances of their lives change.


Cut to the Quick (Julian Kestrel, Bk 1)
Cut to the Quick (Julian Kestrel, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Ross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 12/1/2005


A good mystery that takes place in Regency England.


Death in a Strange Country (Guido Brunetti, Bk 2)
Death in a Strange Country (Guido Brunetti, Bk 2)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 12/24/2005


Commissario Guido Brunetti is my favorite detective and Donna Leon's ability to create the atmosphere of Venice is amazing!


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 11/21/2006


I thought this account of the 1893 World's Fair was great. As the advertising for the book says, there was murder, magic and madness during the planning and creation of the world's greatest fair. You can't believe how many products we still use today made their first appearance at this fair (like Cracker Jacks!).


Flying Changes  (Annemarie Zimmer, Bk 2)
Flying Changes (Annemarie Zimmer, Bk 2)
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 10/31/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this. It's by the author of Water For Elephants, she writes really well. This story revolves around horses and is about a mother who was a competitive rider and her daughter who wants to ride in the Olympics. A love story is intertwined and the man is a vet involved in horse rescue. A really good story about a family and the inevitability of change.


Frederica
Frederica
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 11/24/2005


Nora Roberts wrote the forward, Georgette Heyer is one of her favorites, and I can't think of a better recommendation!


The Good Earth
The Good Earth
Author: Pearl S. Buck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 502
Review Date: 10/29/2005


The story of a farmer and his selfless wife, The Good Earth draws the reader into the lives of ordinary Chinese people living prior to the twentieth century. Pearl Buck lived in China as both a child and as an adult. She has great empathy for the Chinese people and tells their stories beautifully and with great compassion.


The Jeopardy! Book: The Answers, the Questions, the Facts, and the Stories of the Greatest Game Show in History
Review Date: 10/6/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This a fun book with a forward by Merv Griffin who tells how he started the game show. Alex Trebeck tells everything you've wanted to know about how the show works and some of the people who have appeared on it. Also includes Jeopardy questions.


My Friend Leonard
My Friend Leonard
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 11/21/2006


Whether this is true or not, I thought it was a great read! Anyone that liked A Million LIttle Pieces will enjoy this follow-up.


The Myth of You and Me
The Myth of You and Me
Author: Leah Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 1/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A good story and quick read about the friendship between 2 girls from the time they are teenagers until they are twenty-nine. The characters are very real and the friendship, with all it's ups and downs, very believable.


The Next Big Thing
The Next Big Thing
Author: Johanna Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 337
Review Date: 10/29/2005


A funny story about a plus sized young woman who decides to apply for a spot on the From Fat to Fabulous reality show so that when she meets the online love of her life she will look as fabulous as she described herself. This is a first book and Johanna Edwards is not as smooth as Marian Keyesor other more experienced writers, it's still a good light read.


The Other Side Of The Story
The Other Side Of The Story
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 10/29/2005


This is a fun book but you also learn a lot about the publishing business.


The Queen of the Big Time
The Queen of the Big Time
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 4/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


It's a different small town and a different Italian American family but it's still good story telling.


Quick and Easy Cross Stitch Gifts
Quick and Easy Cross Stitch Gifts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/21/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This is an Oxmoor House book and has their usual good quality instructions and photographs. The projects are simple and easy to do for holidays and special occassions.


River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze
River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze
Author: Peter Hessler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/21/2007


An amazing account of a Peace Corps worker's experience in China and how the society really works.


A Round-Heeled Woman : My Late-Life Adventures in Sex and Romance
A Round-Heeled Woman : My Late-Life Adventures in Sex and Romance
Author: Jane Juska
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/18/2006


Nonfiction, former university teacher puts this ad in the newspaper "Before I turn 67 - next March - I would like to have a lot of sex with a man I like." This book is the story of what followed. Some of it is funny, some sad, and some disgusting (to me, maybe not others).


These High, Green Hills (Mitford, Bk 3)
These High, Green Hills (Mitford, Bk 3)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 10/29/2005


The third in the Mitford Series this installment centers on the the changes Father Tim and Cynthia have to make as a married couple. While I eventually began to tire of the Mitford Series, this was one of my favorites.


Waltzing in Ragtime
Waltzing in Ragtime
Author: Eileen Charbonneau
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/17/2005


A good historical novel (romance and drama!) that takes place at the turn of the twentieth century in San Francisco.


Where Are the Children?
Where Are the Children?
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 12/12/2005
Helpful Score: 1


First published 30 years ago, it's as popular now as then.


1 to 20 of 20