Sharon C. (sharonc9630) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 64 - Page:
Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man: What Men Really Think About Love, Relationships, Intimacy, and Commitment
Review Date: 6/5/2010


Well I really enjoyed this book. But of course you can not take it seriously.
Steve's point of view is strictly that-his point of view. His thoughts on love, relationships, intimacy and commitment were humorous and made me laugh out loud.
I can't agree with his views on everything, but he did offer a few gems of wisdom.


A.Hepburn
A.Hepburn
Author: F. X. Feeney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/5/2009


Beautiful little book. Lots of amazing pictures of Hepburn. Also notes about behind the scene affairs, feelings, etc. during the making of her most memorable movies.


An Egg on Three Sticks
An Egg on Three Sticks
Author: Jackie Fischer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 3/10/2008


Great book. Very easy read and unexpected ending.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 818
Review Date: 9/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Fabulous and funny book.
Got me through a bad time and helped distract me from
gloomy thoughts.
Very easy read. Wish I had friends like these women!!


Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea
Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 398
Review Date: 9/10/2009


I read this book in one sitting. Kept waking up my husband by laughing and giggling out loud. She is a hot mess! Loved it! :)


The Art of Salad Making
The Art of Salad Making
Author: Carol Truax
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/13/2007


This may be an old book (from 1968) but so many favorites inside makes it hard to choose which will be the perfect accompaniment to your meal OR even the meal itself!


Audition: A Memoir
Audition: A Memoir
Author: Barbara Walters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 6/23/2009


My opinion of Barbara Walters is always changing. She obviously lives amongst the "upper crust" & there is no two ways about that. Although it is impossible for us mere mortals to understand living that sort of life, it does make for a fascinating read. Is she a "good guy or a bad guy" ? I think she has accomplished an overwhelming positive position for women. But I think her ideas of "giving" are very poor, unless she receives some benefits or accolades from it. I would not be surprised upon her death to see her money used for a Barbara Walters Library/Museum like our former presidents....or hopefully she will show yet another side.


The Big Chocolate Cookbook
The Big Chocolate Cookbook
Author: Gertrude Parke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/12/2007


You will find in this book not only the most appealing array of desserts...cakes,pies,cookies,torten,angel food &sponge cakes, puddings, frozen &gelatin desserts plus candy, beverages, &cake icings &frostings but also a very unusual chapter that gives several recipes for using chocolate with poultry in the Latin American manner. Imagination &flair for the unusual is combined with practicality. 1968 book club edition


The Book of Joe
The Book of Joe
Author: Jonathan Tropper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 3/28/2008


Great book ..really enjoyed it


A Campbell Cookbook Cooking With Soup
A Campbell Cookbook Cooking With Soup
Author: Home Economists of Campbell Kitchens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/13/2007


Soup is good for all seasons. My favorite sections of this book were the magic menu maker for lunches and lunch box meals and the barbecue bonanza. So simple why didn't I think of it?


A Christmas Memory, One Christmas,  The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library)
Review Date: 5/15/2009


As usual Truman Capote does not disappoint. Tender and heart touching read.


Dark Places
Dark Places
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 2/15/2012


Dark Places was an excellent read.
I loved the way the author moved back and forth in time. The ending brought it all together perfectly!
I highly recommend this book.


Darkness, Take My Hand (Kenzie and Gennaro, Bk 2)
Darkness, Take My Hand (Kenzie and Gennaro, Bk 2)
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 5/11/2009


Another great Patrick Kenzie & Angela Gennaro read. I think I have read them all now.
Always a real page turner for me. Love them all !!


Decorating Cakes and Party Foods Baking Too!
Decorating Cakes and Party Foods Baking Too!
Author: Louise Spencer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/12/2007


Birthday, wedding, anniversary, & other holiday cakes, in all of their gorgeous gala, are brought well within your capabilities, even if you've never wielded a spatula before. You'll learn about pans, mixing, freezing &other basics; You'll be steered carefully away from the usual cake-baking calamities. Also includes decorations for a sandwich loaf, trims for aspic molds, garnishes for a platter& ice cream bombe.


The Devil in the Junior League
The Devil in the Junior League
Author: Linda Francis Lee
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 6/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A great summer book to read. Lots of laughs and fun.
Really enjoyed this book!


A Dirty Job
A Dirty Job
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 5/30/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Oh how I loved this book. It was a fast read & extremely hard to put down.
Fabulous, funny & freaky :)
Loved the glow in the dark book cover too!


Don't Kiss Them Good-bye
Don't Kiss Them Good-bye
Author: Allison DuBois
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 9/2/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I got to page 59 and just stopped reading.
I decided I love the TV show Medium but this
book isn't what I had hoped.
Many may find it spiritual and interesting,
I found I need the inter-action between the TV
characters to enjoy her gift.


Driving with Dead People
Driving with Dead People
Author: Monica Holloway
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 8/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book was impossible to put down.

It was full of "times remembered" in the 70's and 80's, however other times went explained.

This made you want to read on to figure out what "memories" were missing.

Quirky and funny, sad at other times, it makes you wonder how much chaos and dismissal of others one can take without losing their mind.


The Easter Parade
The Easter Parade
Author: Richard Yates
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/26/2009


Not a page turner. Actually quite a boring book.


Eventide (Vintage Contemporaries)
Eventide (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Kent Haruf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 4/18/2009


I've become a big fan of Kent Haruf. I really enjoy his books with the McPheron brothers and the stories about the city Holt. They are such heart warming stories that I love to crawl into bed with on a rainy day or night. :)


1 to 20 of 64 - Page: