Steve C. (Cheese) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 302 - Page:
The 100 Best Things I've Sold on Ebay: 100 Money-making Stories by the Queen of Auctions
Review Date: 6/9/2007


The sequel to her first book "The 100 best things I've sold on Ebay". This book gives light to the possible treasures that you can find at yard sales or even in your own home.


The 100 Best Things I've Sold on eBay: My Story--by The Queen of Auctions (The 100 Best Things I've Sold, 1)
Review Date: 12/21/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is a pretty good book. It kind of inspires me to write a book on MY 100 best things that I sold on Ebay. The stories were fascinating and from the heart. The author really expresses the love that she felt for her grandmother. Looking forward to reading her second book "Ebay Money Making Madness" with her next 100 best things.


Acts of God (Christ Clone, Bk 3)
Acts of God (Christ Clone, Bk 3)
Author: James Beauseigneur
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/27/2007


This trilogy was absolutely FANTASTIC! The third book alone does an amazing job of wrapping the entire story up. There are twists, turns and surprises throughout. I would love to say more about it, but I definitely don't want to rob you of the experience of enjoying this series (especially the last book).


The Adventures of Captain America Sentinel of Liberty, Bk 1
Review Date: 3/22/2017


I know that you are not supposed to write book conditions in reviews but this is a softcover book. Even if you try to get it on other book sites they list this ISBN as a softcover book. It does have embossing on the cover.


Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1049
Review Date: 8/12/2005


I love the Alex Cross novels. Some people claim the chapters are too short, but with my fast-paced lifestyle, sometimes that is good. This way I won't be in a middle of a chapter when I have to put my book down. This story is one of my favorite storylines. It pits Alex Cross against his nemesis Gary Soneji. They also made a movie on the book. They did a good job but it wasn't nearly as good as the book.


America in Prophecy
America in Prophecy
Author: Ellen Gould Harmon White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/29/2015


This book is written by one of the founders of the Seventh Day Adventists church (originally published in 1888 under a different title). It pretty much contains the doctrine of their church. Her main focus was that the second advent of Christ is about to occur and that most of the signs already happened in the 1800's. Unless you honored all the tenets of God's commandments then you were doomed. Particularly the one about keeping the Sabbath holy. According to her the true Sabbath is on Saturday and only those people that honor that will be saved. Sunday was instituted as the Sabbath by Satan through the evil Papist church. The book itself is pretty good. It is pretty much divided into two parts. The first is the history of Protestantism and the second are the end times prophecy. She made some very interesting points concerning the prophecy, the last part of it though sounded like she added a lot of her own interpretation. The only thing I didn't like about the book was the constant paragraphs of quotes and passages that she would throw in the middle of her writing to make a point. It made it confusing, at times, to follow her point. As far as the title of the book, there is one short chapter where she mentions America in the end time prophecy and I believe she made another reference towards the end of the book. It almost sounds more like a marketing ploy to get people the buy this book because it really has nothing to do with America in prophecy.


The Amityville Horror Conspiracy
The Amityville Horror Conspiracy
Author: Stephen Kaplan PhD, Roxanne Salch Kaplan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/12/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This book opened my eyes to the story of THE AMITYVILLE HORROR. The author made excellent points in his assertions that the famed house of horror was actually a hoax. After reading the book, the story made sense. I believe the Lutz's fabricated the entire story though it may not be for the reasons the author proclaims. Others may not get the same reaction from reading the book as I did. The only thing I didn't like about the book is that it was written in diary format, but the information it contained outweighed that issue.


And Are We Yet Alive?  the Future of the United Methodist Church
Review Date: 3/4/2006


Though this book is dated (published 1986), it talks about the (then) growing problem of enrollment in the United Methodist Church. Richard Wilke (then the bishop of an Arkansas area Methodist Church) talks about the problem areas in the organization as well as ways to possibly fix the growing problem. I enjoyed the book, it gave me an insight on the denomination "Methodist". It talked a lot about where they came from and their visions of a perfect church and community.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3673
Review Date: 8/5/2005


This is the first adventure of Dan Brown's character ROBERT LANGDON from "The DaVinci Code". This story takes place before the DaVinci Code. Langdon takes on the secretive ILLUMINATI and the equally secretive Vatican. Very well done in my opinion. I can't wait for him to release another story with Robert Langdon.


Answers to the Cultist at Your Door
Answers to the Cultist at Your Door
Author: Robert Passantino
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The books talks about things you can say to the "cult" religions if they ever come to your door. The authors define a "cult" religion as anything outside of mainstream Christianity. They talk about Jehovah's Witnesses, Mormons, Moonies, Hare Krishnas and The Way. The book explains a little bit about the religion and the differences between them and Christianity. They base their comparisons on their interpretation of the different religious groups doctrines (God, Jesus, Mankind, and the Bible). Interesting read.


Anything for a Vote: Dirty Tricks, Cheap Shots, and October Surprises in U.S. Presidential Campaigns
Review Date: 9/9/2016


I enjoyed this book. I guess politics are the same and have not changed since the founding of America.


Apocalypse Cow
Apocalypse Cow
Author: Michael Logan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/22/2016


An enjoyable book. If you are a fan of the movie "Shaun of the Dead" then you might like this book. Except instead of human zombies you have zombie cows, squirrels, dogs, cats and rats. Parts were humorous, parts were disgusting and parts were disgusting while being humorous. I'm looking forward to reading the sequel though in truth the author should have just ended the story with this book. Sometimes sequels ruin the storyline.


Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages (Left Behind, Bk 11)
Review Date: 5/19/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Tha battle of Armageddon takes place in the possible future that Tim LaHaye created in his Left Behind series. Though I like this series, I find that the books drag on and on until the last 100 pages, then the story takes off. Kind of like a Stephen King novel. There were some real surprising twists in this story concerning certain characters. The cliffhanger ending makes me want to rush and read the next book.


Armageddon: Winning the Battle to Defeat Hillary
Armageddon: Winning the Battle to Defeat Hillary
Author: Dick Morris, Eileen McGann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/2/2016


If you've read the other millions of books about Hillary or have been paying attention to the news then this book has absolutely nothing new to add. There were some poll statistics from the past two elections that might interest you but the rest is the same old stuff. I was hoping it would have new and different stories that Dick Morris would tell from his experiences. He might have mentioned one or two things but it was mainly filled with the same old rhetoric.


An Armory of Swords
An Armory of Swords
Author: Fred Saberhagen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/21/2007


I love the SWORD series from Saberhagen. I wish there were more.


Avengers : Iron Man, Captain America & Thor
Avengers : Iron Man, Captain America & Thor
Author: Paul Tobin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/5/2016


Collected stories from Super Heroes #1 -3, Iron Man: Supernova and Tails of the Pet Avengers. I really enjoyed seeing Sue Storm as a member of the Avengers as well as a team leader. I might have to find more of these Avengers stories.


Barry Trotter and the Unauthorized Parody
Barry Trotter and the Unauthorized Parody
Author: Michael Gerber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 1/16/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Surprisingly a very good book. I wouldn't recommend it for young readers, more for the older Harry Potter fans. There is some strong language and perceived adult situations. I wasn't laughing out loud reading this but I found that I couldn't put it down. It's about an older Harry Potter (in the book named Barry Trotter) that refuses to grow up and is living on the coattails of his fame at Hogwash being a basic lazy, out of work, bum. His quest is to stop the "Barry Trotter" movie from being made. If it gets made then Hogwash closes down and he must actually get a job. Like I said, a surprisingly good, entertaining book.


Batman: Captured by the Engines
Batman: Captured by the Engines
Author: Joe R. Lansdale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/21/2006


I enjoyed this novelization of a Batman book. It didn't concentrate heavily on Batman being a superhero, it dealt with him being a detective. Great story that built up to a great ending.


Batman: Holy Terror (DC Comics)
Batman: Holy Terror (DC Comics)
Author: Alan Brennert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/2/2009


This is a DC Elseworlds story. Kind of a "What If" story. It takes place in a world where Great Britain rules America and the church rules the state. Good Story.


Batman: Hong Kong
Batman: Hong Kong
Author: Doug Moench
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/9/2007


Batman goes to Hong Kong to chase a killer that struck in Gotham City. While there he teams up with Night Dragon. A hero he inspired by his actions. This is a graphic novel. It was a pretty good story. It just seemed kind of rushed (like most comic book stories do). I would've liked to see this one in an actual novel.


1 to 20 of 302 - Page: