Wendy A. - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
The Baby Book: Everything You Need to Know About Your Baby from Birth to Age Two
Review Date: 7/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


most helpful book I read!!


The Book of Joe
The Book of Joe
Author: Jonathan Tropper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 12/6/2005
Helpful Score: 2


This is a fantastic book. The main character is an author who got his revenge on his hometown through a thinly-disguised fictional best-seller. When his father falls ill, he has to return home to face the music with some and try to reconnect with others. The characters are just amazing. This is one of those books that leaves you wanting just one more chapter; I didn't want it to end.


The Complete Book of Christian Parenting  Child Care: A Medical  Moral Guide to Raising Happy, Healthy Children
Review Date: 1/4/2006


Another excellent book from Dr. Sears


A Fall Together: Circle of Friends, Just Off Main (Circle of Friends, Just Off Main)
Review Date: 5/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is probably the worst book I've ever tried to read. Every thought, every paragraph is full to bursting with cliches. I literally flipped through the book randomly trying to find a single paragraph without a cliche or pat phrase. When I couldn't, I decided to save myself the aggravation and abandon the book.


Gone for Good
Gone for Good
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 1/4/2006


The first thriller I've ever read and oh my gosh, I really really loved this book!


Homeschooling for Dummies
Homeschooling for Dummies
Author: Jennifer Kaufeld
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A well-rounded resource for those who homeschool or are thinking about homeschooling.


How I Stole Her Husband
How I Stole Her Husband
Author: Liz Ireland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 5/2/2008


This was a fun read; I will be looking for more books from this author.


My Creative Companion
My Creative Companion
Author: Becky Higgins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/2/2008


Full of inspiration!


My Point...And I Do Have One
My Point...And I Do Have One
Author: Ellen Degeneres
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 3/10/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Honestly, I hated to send this book off. It is written in true Ellen style and you can hear her voice in your head as you read. I thought the book was charming and entertaining, with that splash of the absurd that makes her standup so funny.


Rise Above: God Can Set You Free from Your Weight Problems Forever
Rise Above: God Can Set You Free from Your Weight Problems Forever
Author: Gwen Shamblin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 5/2/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Two friends have followed Ms. Shamblin's plan, and both--even the one who successfully lost weight with it--have said that they would never recommend it after learning more about her weight-loss methods and flawed theology. I would encourage anyone to research this author and program a bit before jumping in.


So That's What They're For: Breastfeeding Basics
So That's What They're For: Breastfeeding Basics
Author: Janet Tamaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 5/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is the very best book I've found on breastfeeding! The author's style is funny, informative and very readable. My copy is in good condition and the best parts are highlighted.


Spin Cycle
Spin Cycle
Author: Sue Margolis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 5/2/2007


A fast read--really enjoyed it!


Survival for Busy Women
Survival for Busy Women
Author: Emilie Barnes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Homey organizational & time management tips from a strong Christian perspective.


A Survivor's Guide to Home Schooling
A Survivor's Guide to Home Schooling
Author: Luann Shackelford, Susan White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 7/12/2006
Helpful Score: 4


This book has some good, practical information. The author spends a lot of time on her view of what "good Christian parenting" is, which may be a turnoff to advocates of attached parenting.


Time Management from the Inside Out: The Foolproof System for Taking Control of Your Schedule and Your Life
Review Date: 5/2/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This book is well-organized and has a great system for improving how you view and use time. I highly recommend it!


To Have and To Hold
To Have and To Hold
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 282
Review Date: 12/5/2005


A fun and engaging beach read about what happens when Mr. Right...isn't. Green's writing is sharp and it's easy to identify with the various characters, flaws and all.


The Woods
The Woods
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 636
Review Date: 7/11/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was fantastic!! I absolutely couldn't put it down. Can't wait to start another book by Coben!


1 to 17 of 17