Karen S. (BoysMom) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 292 - Page:
0 to Bitch in 10 Seconds or Less
0 to Bitch in 10 Seconds or Less
Author: Amy Hatch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/12/2009


A little 5 x 5-inch paperback chock full of quotes under a number of categories such as "Love and Sex" or "The Facts of Life" or "The Beauty Within." Some you'll have seen before but maybe never connected with the original source: some of which are surprising. I hesitated to post my copy for trade because I think that this little tome is something that I'd probably pick up again and again just for the fun of what's inside.


101 Super Sports Jokes
101 Super Sports Jokes
Author: Don Orehek, Judith Stamper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/26/2006


Baseball, football, basketball, soccer, and more! If you get a kick out of sports, 101 SUPER SPORTS JOKES will give you plenty of laughs. Join the all-star joke team and start chuckling.

What is a personal foul?
Your very own chicken.

Cute, clean jokes for children!


ADD: Attention Deficit Disorder: A Common But Often Overlooked Disorder of Children
Review Date: 1/11/2009


I've read a number of books about Attention Deficit Disorder over the years and I still think that this is the hands-down BEST one. Easy to understand and relevant.


Advanced dBASE III Plus: Programming and Techniques
Advanced dBASE III Plus: Programming and Techniques
Author: Miriam Liskin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/7/2009


Advanced dBASE III PLUS shows you how to

Write portable, hardware-independent systems as you follow the author's detailed examples

Use new features for greater convenience when you work with multiple files at the dot prompt

Apply new error-trapping capabilities so you can work with more flexible on-line help systems

Benefit from file-and record-locking features that enable you to design a multiuser database system

Tap into local area networks

Database managers, system designers, and busines professionals can use the author's expertise and insights to achieve optimal dBASE III PLUS performance.


After the Fall (Star Trek : New Frontier)
After the Fall (Star Trek : New Frontier)
Author: Peter David
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/14/2007


Author Peter David's unforgettable novels of Captain Mackenzie Calhoun and the crew of the Starship EXCALIBUR remain one of Star Trek's most popular book series among fans. Now, David takes the New Frontier universe in a bold new direction that will at once shock, thrill, and delight longtime and brand-new readers of this acclaimed series.

Three years have passed since the events depicted in the novel STONE AND ANVIL, and for the past and present crew members of the U.S.S. EXCALIBUR, life has taken many surprising twists and turns. Captain Elizabeth Shelby has been promoted to admiral and heads Space Station Bravo... while her former ship, the U.S.S. TRIDENT, has a new captain. Soleta has left Starfleet to embrace the perils of exploring her Romulan heritage. The powerful Zak Kebron serves as the EXCALIBUR's counselor and head of security.

And Mackenzie Calhoun? Well, Mackenzie Calhoun's still who he is.

As Si Cwan, prime minister of the New Thallonian Protectorate, prepares to marry off his sister Kalinda in a politically advantageous pairing that will strengthen his newly restored empire, the bride-to-be is abducted just before the wedding in a calamitous event that threatens to destabilize the entire sector -- especially since Kalinda's abductor is someone all too familiar.

As the EXCALIBUR, the TRIDENT, and the entire Thallonian fleet attempt to bring order to their sector of space, none could ever suspect that a mysterious alien force may also be playing a part in Kalinda's disappearance -- and that the entire galaxy may soon face a long-forgotten enemy.


Afterburn (Bio Rescue, Bk 2)
Afterburn (Bio Rescue, Bk 2)
Author: S. L. Viehl
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/10/2006


This author has just grown on me. I started reading about her "world" with StarDoc and the StarDoc series. This book is the second in a related story which began in BIO RESCUE. This is a good follow-up to the characters there and introduces some new and interesting ones. I think the story is better if you've read the other series already because they do allude to characters and events that happened in the past. Some quite important to action in this one. But this author just keeps getting better and better.


Alien Landscapes
Alien Landscapes
Author: Robert Holdstock, Malcolm Edwards
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/23/2008


Gorgeous collection of artwork of alien worlds that breathes new life into some of the best science fiction stories. I was intrigued enough by some of the views to look up the novels that they were illustrating. Really made them come to life.


The Amazing Spider Man (Look and Find)
The Amazing Spider Man (Look and Find)
Author: J. Janes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/7/2009


Drawn in in "comic book look," this is a typical "Look and Find" book for the kids especially for those that like Spiderman. Hardcover version and over-large size makes it easy for little hands to hang onto and pore over.


Amber and the Sheikh
Amber and the Sheikh
Author: Stephanie Howard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/14/2007


Amber didn't believe that desert sheikhs still made a habit of kidnapping beautiful women and riding off into the sunset! And then she met Sheikh Zoltan al-Khalifa. But did this prince of the desert want Amber as a wife... or just as part of his harem?


Amelia Bedelia
Amelia Bedelia
Author: Peggy Parish, Fritz Siebel (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/27/2006


Mr. and Mrs. Rogers have hired a new maid. And not just any maid! It's literal, lovable Amelia Bedelia, and her ways of cleaning house are hilarious. When Mrs. Rogers says to draw the drapes, Amelia Bedelia sits right down with a pencil and paper and draws them. From dressing the chicken to dusting the furniture, she's trying to do EXACTLY what Mrs. Rogers tells her. But somehow things just aren't turning out right....


An Isolated Incident
An Isolated Incident
Author: Susan R. Sloan
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/29/2012


Abridged and read by Ed Asner.

Great story, a good abridgement, and Ed Asner does a fabulous job as the narrator (like that is any surprise!) The murder of a well liked local teen from a prominent family shakes up close knit Seward Island. The police chief and new detective recently returned to her home town begin a romantic relationship as the circumstantial evidence piles up against a well liked history teacher. Lots of interesting, suspicious characters and lots of suspense. At only 3 hours long, this set of tapes really made my drive go by quickly.


Angus and the Cat
Angus and the Cat
Author: Marjorie Flack
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/19/2006


Angus the Scottie dog spends three days chasing the new cat that has come to live at his house, but when the cat disappears, Angus misses his new friend.


The Annihilation of Foreverland
The Annihilation of Foreverland
Author: Tony Bertauski
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/10/2014


Young Adult with a good dose of horror!

Author Tony Bertauski has created a paradise of an island in the south Atlantic Ocean where adolescent and teenage boys roam, fish, play state-of-the-art video games, anything they want to their hearts content, except leave. Each is watched over, coached and guided by an elderly man of dubious health known as an investor. Every couple of weeks the boys are herded into The Haystack, a building that is the gateway to Foreverland where every impossible dream can come true but not without its price.

The Annihilation of Foreverland is told through the eyes of multiple characters but mainly by Danny Boy, whom we first encounter as he wakes up on the island devoid of any memory of his past. In fact, none of the boys remember who they are or where they came from. Another viewpoint is that of Reed, an older boy who has steadfastly refused to succumb to the promise of Foreverland. Finally, we get insight from the mysterious island owner known only as The Director. The old men or investors vary from supposedly kindly and caring to downright creepy and cruel. There is a psychotic bully among the boys which adds more tension. The characters and their pasts are gradually revealed over the course of the novel. The suspense and horror grows until we have a satisfyingly full picture of each.

The storyline is a unique one in which technology, privilege, money, and power all combine for an exciting, thought-provoking, ethics-challenging tale. The author added exquisitely creepy little details that absolutely made my skin crawl. These small details added a whole other level of eww to the story. Thankfully, the villains get their just desserts and we can leave the island with the knowledge that things are going to work out right. With a marvelous setting, interesting characters, and nice plot revelations, I recommend this to the young adult readers that like theirs with a good dose of horror.


The Apocalypse Gene
The Apocalypse Gene
Author: Suki Michelle, Carlyle Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/6/2012


Only pages into the YA fantasy The Apocalypse Gene by Suke Michelle and Carlyle Clark and I was already looking to see what the authors had published previously.

I easily slipped into this future American landscape devastated after a pandemic illness has swept the country. The characters were well defined and I felt I knew who I was dealing with and gave me a reason to care what happened next. I really enjoyed the holo-sims more than computer avatars come to life but I dont want to spoil that aspect so Ill leave it at that.

Villains were creepy and disgusting, the surrounding scary, and story romantic, sad, and exciting all rolled into one.


Aqua
Aqua
Author: M. A. George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/16/2015


I really enjoyed everything about this book! The main character, Layla, is engaging and interesting. Her love interest, Tristan, is good-looking, mysterious, and romantic. Both are a little goofy around each other: very cute and appealing. Tristan's friends, Pyke & Zría, are an odd brother & sister act that really draws your attention and makes you wonder what they're going to do next. The entire premise of an underwater culture that used to be human but developed differently alongside, and unbeknownst to, their land-dwelling cousins is great, and the story and action barrels along from start to finish.

Budding young adult romance, mystery, sinister friends, breathing underwater, a long-lost father, and the setting on the Texas coast were all elements that kept me reading later into the night than my work schedule needed. I can highly recommend this great start to a new M.A. George series!


Ask Jane
Ask Jane
Author: Victoria Hinshaw
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/25/2007


Will she say yes?

THE QUESTION IS LOVE

Cedric Williamson has been hoodwinked into a most unwise investment, to his dismay. Where to turn for advice? Perhaps his aunt's companion, Miss Jane Gabriel, might help -- the pretty scholar always has her nose in a book and she seems to know everything worth knowing. But she betrays a charming inexperience when it comes to matters of the heart -- a subject in which Cedric would have to declare himself the expert.

THE ANSWER IS FOREVER

Jane Gabriel finds Cedric's attentions a distracting nuisance. She cannot imagine why he pays her so many compliments, brings her flowers, and flirts with her shamelessly. A handsome rake of such renown cannot possibly be interested in her... or can he? That is the most intriguing question of all....


Assassins : Assignment--Jerusalem, Target--Antichrist (Left Behind #6) (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Review Date: 2/14/2012


This was my first book in the series so it was difficult to catch on to what all was going on BUT I stuck with it and was glad. I listened to this set twice and the second time through I really caught on to the story. I will have to back up and find the 1st book now and do it properly.

The reader for this set was really good. EASY to listen to and he had a nice range of voices for the different characters.

I was totally caught up in the story.


Austin Powers : How to Be an International Man of Mystery
Austin Powers : How to Be an International Man of Mystery
Author: Mike Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/9/2006


AUSTIN POWERS WANTS YOU
...to join in the fight against uptight squares!

A public service announcement from Austin Powers:
"We need new swingers and International Men of Mystery. The price of swinging is constant vigilance, man. So, to all you swingers-in-the-making who want to be just like me, I say -- Behave!"

HOW TO BE AN INTERNATIONAL MAN OF MYSTERY
...is the ultimate how-to guide for groove-seeking missiles like yourself who wish to fight Evil (as in Dr. Evil), uphold Freedom (as in Free Love), and swing with the Birds (as in Chicks). Even if you don't know the difference between "jobblies" and "choppers" ... Don't have THROMBO! With Austin Power's sure-fire tips, any randy cat can switch on and shag like a pro, baby! What a gas!

Includes:

How to Pick Up Chicks
How to Sound Like a Swinger
How to Dress Like a Swinger
Austin Power's Secrets of Disguise
Hang-Ups and Turn-Ons
Groovy Cocktail Guide
"How Good a Shag Are You?" Self Quiz
A Memo from Dr. Evil
How to Play the Sitar
Birds of the World
Naughty Engravings


Awkward Family Pet Photos
Awkward Family Pet Photos
Author: Doug Chernack, Mike Bender
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/17/2012


Clever collection!

Cute pictures of kids and entire families with their pets - not just their dog or cat either. Many are actually taken in studios! Captions are entertaining and not snarky. There is a section where pets were captured inadvertently, in the background, doing what comes naturally - so this part may not be for the kiddies. This was just a nice little book to enjoy while relaxing (for me). I look forward to going to their website in the future to see photos that didn't make "the cut" or maybe just not "the cut-off."


Batman Forever
Batman Forever
Author: Alan Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/26/2006


In the looming shadows of Gotham City, two villainous souls devise twin schemes of revenge against the city's dark guardian. Two-Face, disfigured by chance and fueled by vengeance, is obsessed with destroying Batman, while the Riddler, a disillusioned genius, pursues the destruction of billionaire Bruce Wayne. Together they've hatched a plot to absorb and control the minds of all of Gotham City's residents, and only Batman and his new partner, Robin, can stop them! But the Dark Knight is hindered by a mystery from his own childhood. He must hope that a newfound love can help him overcome the incident that made him what he is. In the end, the must decide: will he be Batman - forever?


1 to 20 of 292 - Page: