Cynthia W. (readtoyourkids) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
201 Craft Bazaar Best Sellers
201 Craft Bazaar Best Sellers
Author: Laura Scott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/13/2012


The projects are a bit dated. A few good tips gleaned from a thorough read, though, so not a total bummer.


90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Cecil Murphey, Don Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 872
Review Date: 9/28/2011


While the premise of Piper's book - 90 Minutes in Heaven - is quite interesting, the story beyond the accident does become somewhat tedious and repetitive. I did admire Piper's candid recounting of his feelings and actions as he recuperated; he doesn't sugar-coat or over-dramatize, just tells it like it was. Not a bad read, especially if you're feeling sorry for yourself.


Babar's Little Circus Star (Step into Reading Series Step 1:  Preschool - Grade 1)
Review Date: 7/3/2012


Babar stories are always wonderful.


Calling All Cats: All Aboard Picture Reader (All Aboard Books)
Review Date: 6/13/2017


A book that, to this adult, looks like young children would enjoy it being read to them and would want to learn to read it for themselves.


Father Bear Comes Home (I Can Read,  Bk 1)
Review Date: 7/3/2012


Another winner from Maurice Sendak who wouldn't illustrate a bad book.


I Miss You, Father Bear (Maurice Sendak's Little Bear)
Review Date: 7/3/2012


Love the illustrations by my favorite, Marice Sendak, RIP.


The India Fan
The India Fan
Author: Victoria Holt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 6/13/2017


A good read, a bit different than the Victoria Holt plots that I'm used to, but enjoying it very much.


Just Be Nice . . . and Not Too Rough!
Just Be Nice . . . and Not Too Rough!
Author: Eleanor Fremont
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/13/2017


A good kid's book with a nice theme. Favorite characters make it even more enticing.


Lord of Light
Lord of Light
Author: Roger Zelazny
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 9/14/2016


My first Zelazny foray and I had a hard time really getting dug in but once I did, I realized I'm going to have to read it again sometime. Complex characters, complex imagery, complex plot and complex themes makes this a tough book to digest, in my opinion. This is probably why the friend who recommended it has re-read it so often that she's had to buy a second (or third?) copy. It won the Hugo Award, so there is that recommendation as well, not to mention the notoriety of the author.


Lost
Lost
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 8/2/2011


First, I love Gregory Maguire. He's an imaginative and unique writer. I've loved every book I've read that he's written. Somehow I missed this one, so looked for it here on PaperBack Swap. It was surprising all the way, like his books usually are. The twists and turns were all there. The characters so real, yet odd as well. While the story he is retelling is usually recognizable, this one had me perplexed. Was it A Christmas Carol? Was it the story of Jack the Ripper (is there another book about the story of Jack the Ripper?)? Or was it a ghost story with strong undertones of moral issues - abortion (hints, mind you), incest, adultery, lying, murder and more? I'm still not sure but it was a marvelous read. I highly recommend this and all Maguire's other writings.


Murder Unleashed (Mags and Baxter, Bk 2)
Murder Unleashed (Mags and Baxter, Bk 2)
Author: Rita Mae Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/29/2014


Timely topics, unexpected twists and turns to the plot, people with real personalities and animals with real personalities, too. I'm so glad Rita Mae Brown continues to write fresh, exciting stories with interesting plots. The pages are filled with insightful and magnanimous ideals. You will never be sorry to read any of Brown's books.


The Next Place
The Next Place
Author: Warren Hanson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/14/2016


Illustrations and message were lovely - comforting and imaginative. A nice book suitable for children and adults alike.


A Nose for Justice  (Mags and Baxter, Bk 1)
A Nose for Justice (Mags and Baxter, Bk 1)
Author: Rita Mae Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/29/2014


Rita Mae has done it again! Loved it!


Quilts, Coverlets, Rugs  (Knopf Collectors' Guides to American Antiques)
Review Date: 2/22/2012


This book is a terrific guide with lots of color pictures and illustrations of all kinds of, not only quilts, but textile creations from the 1700s to now (almost). I have not "read" it in entirety but will enjoy it and use it for a long time. It's a keeper.


Ralph S. Mouse (Ralph S. Mouse, Bk 3)
Ralph S. Mouse (Ralph S. Mouse, Bk 3)
Author: Beverly Cleary, Paul O. Zelinsky (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 7/3/2012


Beverly Cleary can't be beat for great children's literature.


Recipes from the Raleigh Tavern Bake Shop
Recipes from the Raleigh Tavern Bake Shop
Author: Colonial Williamsburg Foundation
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/22/2013


The historical information is interesting and the recipes are, while not anything to write home about, a fine representation of colonial american cooking as well as traditional English.


St. Peter's Fair (Brother Cadfael, Bk 4)
St. Peter's Fair (Brother Cadfael, Bk 4)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 11/9/2016


Enjoyable read.


Wildlife Artists at Work
Wildlife Artists at Work
Author: Pat Van Gelder
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/22/2011


Amazing book! The color plates are fantastic and, as an artist, the inspiration found within its pages is invaluable.


The Williamsburg Cookbook: Traditional and Contemporary Recipes
The Williamsburg Cookbook: Traditional and Contemporary Recipes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/22/2013


A nice amalgam of old and newer recipes to help make family gatherings more festive, holidays more traditional and, at the very least, some darn good eating. Pictures are nicely done and sprinkled throughout the pages. The organization of the various recipes can help if you're planning to set an old-fashioned holiday table for a group. I go back to my book, which I've had for decades, year after year.


1 to 19 of 19