Susanna S. (quilt938) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 126 - Page:
The Accidental Werewolf (Accidentals, Bk 1)
The Accidental Werewolf (Accidentals, Bk 1)
Author: Dakota Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 10/17/2008
Helpful Score: 18


This is NOT a serious book! It is totally LOL funny! There IS a lot of swearing if that bothers you but I would sorta expect it from someone who's just found out they're a werewolf! The heroine comes across as a bit ditzy from some of the conversation but from reading the entire book you get a different feel for her; at least I did. A nice romance too..loved the hero in this one and there's some hot sex here and there as well. She's very sarcastic and funny and was just what I needed to read today! I ordered the next book in the series before I even finished with this one that's how good it is! Just hilarious!


Ace Is Wild
Ace Is Wild
Author: Penny McCall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 10/7/2008
Helpful Score: 4


3rd book by this author and features the DA mentioned in Tag, You're It. This one didn't seem as fast-paced as the other 2 books(All Jacked Up and Tag, You're It) though it could have been my mood. The man was sorta mean to the woman and she, well, acted pretty stupid and kept something from him that was unnecessary and dangerous. She's sorta psychic and of course he doesn't believe in that kinda stuff and doesn't listen to her when she knows something is 'off'. It was cute/funny in places and I'm not sorry I read it but I just expected more out if since All Jacked Up was so good.


Against the Wall
Against the Wall
Author: Rhyannon Byrd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 4/17/2008
Helpful Score: 15


hoo boy! ok, the title definitely fits! this book is fairly thin - about 200 pages and I *think* on page 101 they finally got horizontal but only for a while! There's really no story here to hold the sex scenes together so you gotta take your own breaks when you can and unless you're pretty hardcore you're gonna need to come up for air on your own 'cause these 2 rabbits only come up for air a few times and that's just to change positions or go to the book store to do it again...for someone who's only had sex a few times this woman adapts quickly and can take it even when she's 'swollen' and sore but says she isn't..definitely fantasy LOL! This is one of those 'past the cervix' books if you know what I mean. You definitely get your $'s worth for the sex :-) big time! I wish it had more of a story though because I think she could write a great story. I have one more of her books to read but luckily it's only 200 pages or so like this one..any more nonstop sexathon I wouldn't be able to move! anyways the story is a '1' but the sex I guess would be a '5' for sheer stayingpower! no threesomes and I don't recall any BDSM other than the man being very alpha/dominant..might have been a handcuff page but my eyes sorta glazed over after a while LOL!


All Jacked Up
All Jacked Up
Author: Penny McCall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 10/7/2008
Helpful Score: 3


1st in a 'series' though each book features different main characters. Characters from prior and future books are mentioned are take part in a bit of the action so I'm calling it a series because of that.

This is the best of the 3 that are currently in print (IMO). The action is non-stop and it's also nonstop sarcasm the entire book. The woman is definitely spunky in this one! As in all 3 books there are serious bad buys 'behind the scenes' but the ones after them are funny/silly. So you have a serious theme with funny unbelievable characters thrown in.

I also enjoyed the endings of hers - they're 'happy' but not necessarily ending with the main couple waltzing down the aisle together or the woman 'needing' the man if that makes sense.

This was a good story I'd recommend if you like sarcasm and fast-paced storyline mixed with silly.


Any Way You Want It (New Orleans Vampires, Bk 1)
Any Way You Want It (New Orleans Vampires, Bk 1)
Author: Kathy Love
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 10/24/2008
Helpful Score: 5


1st in another series about vampires. This one was fairly light but I wasn't crazy about the hero in this one; he seemed to blow hot and cold in wanting the woman not wanting the woman. It's not explained why he wants her to leave until very close to the end. It's pretty obvious they need a sequel or two because I'm not happy with something in this one that needs to be resolved though the couple's romance is ok. I liked the 1st 2 Young Brothers stories better but I've ordered the sequel to this to see how it goes. I guess I expected more with the music in this one and it just wasnt' there all the way but still a light vampire romance.


Be Still My Vampire Heart (Love at Stake, Bk 3)
Be Still My Vampire Heart (Love at Stake, Bk 3)
Author: Kerrelyn Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 382
Review Date: 11/1/2008


3rd in the series and I really enjoyed it though I hated the drama towards the end and was really ticked at the woman for causing it. The couple are well matched and Angus was one of my faves in the first 2 books and I'm glad he gets his HEA. There's more killing/torture in this one that the previous 2 books though overall not bad esp compared to some vampire books!


Black Ice (Ice, Bk 1)
Black Ice (Ice, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Stuart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 371
Review Date: 6/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I've enjoyed this 'ice' series by Anne Stuart. These aren't the typical lovey dovey type romances though. These men (and one woman) in this organization 'the committee' are cold and appear unfeeling. The woman, Chloe, needs the money so takes a translating job that her roommate passed on to her. She ends up knowing too much and has to die. The 'hero'does a forced rape scene which of course she ends up liking(but if this type of thing bothers you you might want to pass)to find out what she knows then actually watches her being tortured yet saves her several times during the story. I usually go for the lovey-dovey type HEA's but something about this series just appeals to me and Bastien is one of my faves and appears briefly in the other books I've read.


The Book Whisperer: Awakening the Inner Reader in Every Child
The Book Whisperer: Awakening the Inner Reader in Every Child
Author: Donalyn Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/23/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I just finished reading this after it caught my eye in the 'new arrivals' section of the library. I think it's really geared more towards teachers with the idea that independent reading is best vs having kids read the assigned junk (my words!) schools usually assign. She's been doing this approach for her sixth graders for years and has an extensive in-class library with books in totes according to genre. She offers suggestions but the kids pick what they want to read for the most part among genre guidelines and allows for reading time in class. Her requirement is each student read 40 books during the school year! And nearly all make that goal. It was fun to read about the kids finding a love for reading. I had hoped from the title that it would offer suggestions on how to get kids to love reading at any age since my friend has a 1 1/2 yr old and wants him to be a reader. I found a few good suggestions but it wasn't what I expected from the book's title. Still I'd have given it a 5 but I found parts to be sorta boring-ish and technical. The concept sounds great and sure wish I'd had teachers who followed the same ideas but unfortunately she seems to be the only one teaching this way then they go back to standardized reading the following year.


Born in Shame (Born In, Bk 3)
Born in Shame (Born In, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 581
Review Date: 8/14/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This is the 3rd book of the 'born in' trilogy set in Ireland. It's my favorite of the 3 followed closely by Born in Ice (probably because these are my favorite 2 of the 3 sisters!).Shannon is the stepsister they found out about and she just discovers her 'father' wasn't her 'real' father on her mother's death bed then right after the funeral the private investigator shows up at her door with the news that her'family' is looking for her. So she heads off to Ireland not really wanting to or knowing why but being very independent she has a hard time with the decision to give up her career and stay for someone she loves and who loves her or going back to her career and continuing to climb the ladder. She also struggles with continuing to use her gift for painting/art in the advertising world or the artistic world as well a being scrappy enough to hold her own against her sisters' mother a total you-know-what! tough girl yet soft hearted.


Cady's Cowboy (Crime Tells, Bk 2)
Cady's Cowboy (Crime Tells, Bk 2)
Author: Jory Strong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 10/21/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is the 2nd book in the crime tells seris and involves one of the sisters, Cady. Her job is to investigate drugged horses at a racetrack and clear the client's friend's name. a Texas sheriff is in town supporting the same friend and falls for Cady. He's an alpha male though not as dominating as Kieran in lyric's cop and Dante in calista's men. He's actually experimenting with Cady in a few firsts for both of them and some of his lines are actually humorous. I like the stories in these along with the steamy scenes.


Calico Canyon (Lassoed in Texas, Bk 2)
Calico Canyon (Lassoed in Texas, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Connealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 12/15/2010


I think I enjoyed this one even more than Petticoat Ranch. I dont remember her from Petticoat Ranch(been a while since I dont' read many historicals). At first I wasn't wild about her in this one but she turned into one of my favorites. Funny stuff though the hero and his hangups bothered me a bit. I liked near the end :-) especially!


Calista's Men (Crime Tells, Bk 3)
Calista's Men (Crime Tells, Bk 3)
Author: Jory Strong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 10/21/2007
Helpful Score: 2


this is the 3rd in the 'crime tells' series and is very good. characters from the first book appear several times(lyric, keiran, tyler and a few others briefly). Calista is Kieran's sister and an ex-kindergarten teacher who wants to work with crime tells. She meets Dante and Benito, twins who like to share a woman. Her fantasy has been to be with 2 men though she's not very experienced sexually-she's portrayed as 'nice' if that makes sense. she loves benito immediately and is attraced to dante but dante is very dominating and she's afraid he's too much for her. they're protective of her and help keep her safe and dante even tries to help her with her first case. good storyline along with the sex ellora's cave titles are known for. can't wait for the rest of this series.


Call of the Dove (Serenade/Serenata, No 16)
Call of the Dove (Serenade/Serenata, No 16)
Author: Madge Harrah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/3/2009


I read this book a long time ago and still remember it. I wasn't 'into' christian romance at the time but this one stood out. The woman lost her dad at an early age and her mother became mean to her. She's now a greeting cards artist(at least as I remember it - I know she draws)! She's on the roof of a tall building and looks sad. The wind blows her sketch and she instinctively grabs for it. A man grabs her thinking she's going to jump. Turns out he's a psychiatrist or psychologist(christian of course!)and he ends up liking her but knows from looking at her and seeing her drawings (some show a girl on fire, etc) that something's wrong but she wont' talk about it. He talks her into doing a mural for some kids he's working with(troubled) and she becomes attached to one little boy. basically a good story with her working through her problems, healing with her mother, the developing romance, etc. I rate this one a 5 for this type book.thought it was really good.


Christmas Knight (Draycott Abbey, Bk 8)
Christmas Knight (Draycott Abbey, Bk 8)
Author: Christina Skye
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 12/26/2008


I enjoyed this time travel book(hero travels from 1298 to 1998)The woman has problems with the house which belonged to the hero. He helps her around the place with repairs but he was sent to the future to protect her and the story sorta drags in places and you kinda lose sight of 'what danger'?! then something will indicate danger, a talking bird keeps quoting lines from Macbeth, the last 100 or so pages a lot of other characters are introduced including a ghost..but I wasn't looking for a concise fast-paced book - I was reading this over the holiday and wanted something easy-going I could pick up and put down between doing other things. Some of the lines were heartbreaking if you think about them - the knight(hero) grew up with no love in his life, made to do cruel things for an evil king and the woman is alone in the world. He shows gentleness with motherless kittens and tries to make Christmas good for her when he's never celebrated a Christmas..such a 'sweet' knight to be so dark and evil. Anyways, overall I enjoyed it. Probably not a superduper great read but it was good for me and I'm glad I read it.


The Coffin Quilt: The Feud Between the Hatfields and the McCoys
The Coffin Quilt: The Feud Between the Hatfields and the McCoys
Author: Ann Rinaldi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/10/2008


I think this book was written for pre-teens/teens but I read this book in my mid-late 30's and found it fascinating. I've never been a big history buff so I don't know how much is factual and how much is just speculation/fiction but this book held my interest with all the drama. I really enjoyed the story and loaned the book to a co-worker who's even older than me and she enjoyed it as well.


Cold as Ice (Ice, Bk 2)
Cold as Ice (Ice, Bk 2)
Author: Anne Stuart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 6/2/2008


2nd in Stuart's 'ice' series and another 'cold' hero. He has the job of killing her because she happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. Personally I didn't care for the woman too much so it didn't bother me if he offed her or not! ok, I did care I guess. anways, he had opportunity to kill her when he drugged her yet he lets her wake up and informs her he has to kill her then gives her self defense 'lessons' and pointers and later seduces her to prove he can make her 'feel ' something yet doesn't allow himself to feel...sorta weird..the woman is stupid IMO and the bad guy in this one is just creepy creepy for me but overall a good story and brings bastien back briefly as well as introduces the star of book 3 - ice blue. I like Peter better as he appears briefly in the other stories and can sympathize with him more.


The Cop (Harlequin Blaze)
The Cop (Harlequin Blaze)
Author: Cara Summers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 10/17/2007


this is the 2nd in a series of overlapping books. the PI is the first and the defender is the 3rd. the stories overlap and cover a weekend timeframe and they're best read together to get the complete story though each 'ends' ok for the 'romance' involved. steamy scenes typical of Blaze titles. this one's heroine is a saucy smartmouthed one but seems perfect for Nik.


Cop on Loan (Count on a Cop) (Harlequin Superromance, No 1520)
Cop on Loan (Count on a Cop) (Harlequin Superromance, No 1520)
Author: Jeannie Watt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/24/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This was a pretty good story. I don't read the Superromances enough to know if it's typical of the pattern or not. There wasn't much sex in the book and what there was was played down quite a bit(I usually read the Blazes and such!)Trivial point - there's no german shepherd in the book - it's a Great Dane and totally destructive(the dog on the cover looks like a german shepherd at least to me...) At the start of the story the woman is dating someone and has a strained relationship with her father, no mother. The man is a cop out on loan to a dept who's broke from using his entire savings and nearly all his paycheck to support his mother who made a bad decision and was conned..he's about to be evicted and is feeling guilty for his friend an ex-cop who's turned to drugs after being an undercover narc..the friend's wife blames him for getting him into that business to begin with.He's also burned out on police work but has no other options. so a lot of little side issues going on which help fill up the volume of the book but the main part deals with her house being broken into repeatedly and finding nothing amiss but the electrical sockets and such..weird..but you do learn something about architectural history in the older homes in the area! the perfect boyfriend reveals his true colors bit by bit and the 'right' couple grow closer and have to work through issues and he arrives just in time to save the day to make a HEA eventually. Not a super great book but I enjoyed it and thought it was worth reading for a nice romance with a bit of suspense; enough for me to look for the other books in this 'count on a cop' series.


The Cowboy Next Door (Cowboys, Bk 3) (Love Inspired, No 494)
The Cowboy Next Door (Cowboys, Bk 3) (Love Inspired, No 494)
Author: Brenda Minton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 7/28/2009


I really enjoyed this story! I think it's the 3rd book though maybe the 2nd one actually set in that particular town. I started with this one not realizing there were prior books in the series. I've gone back and read the first(His Little Cowgirl) and have A Cowboy's Heart lined up next.

This is Lacey's story(she was a waitress in the first book)and a local cowboy who's come back home. I like how faith/church plays a part but it seems genuine and real and not 'preachy' as some in this line of books tend to be. Both have their obstacles to overcome though I honestly saw Lacey's as the bigger hurdle and it was a real problem and I found myself cheering for her. This author has had heroes/heroines dealing with some real-life issues and packs a lot into such a small(barely over 200 pages) book and even more to think about if someone likes doing that sort of thing. I kept thinking about halfway through that this book would make a good discussion for a book club or women's Bible study and at the end they give questions for something like that.

Anyways this is a new favorite author of mine after just 2 books and I hope to continue enjoying her books.


Dance Upon the Air (Three Sisters Island, Bk 1)
Dance Upon the Air (Three Sisters Island, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1256
Review Date: 7/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is the 1st book in the Three Sisters Island trilogy and is pretty good. I stopped reading Roberts for a while because her stories were getting too much into the paranormal but decided I wanted to read these. This trilogy does get more into witches than some of her previous books. If spells and chants bother you, well, they're in these books and the paranormal aspect grows more and more with each story.

In this one Nell is on the run from an abusive husband, even faking her own death and changing her name. She meets the owner of a bookstore and works in her cafe and discovers a connection with this woman and that she is also a witch with powers. Together the 3 make a circle that is necessary to what's happening in the stories. These 3 women are descendants of 3 original witches from Salem who formed the island. each of those 3 made the 'wrong' choice and now these 3 must face unknown challenges to save the island. Nice romance with her and one of the island cops but as hot as that part of the story is I wouldn't say it's the sole focus.


1 to 20 of 126 - Page: