Anita H. (AnitaJRT) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 94 - Page:
20 Hot Potatoes Christians Are Afraid To Touch
20 Hot Potatoes Christians Are Afraid To Touch
Author: Tony Campolo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/31/2012


Agree or disagree with Tony, he will present a point of view that will make you think.


At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 678
Review Date: 4/7/2007


The Mitford Series from Jan Karon will bring a smile to your soul. Be sure to read in order for the most enjoyment.


Benediction
Benediction
Author: Kent Haruf
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/25/2016


Kent Haruf sure knows how write about the common man and everyone's personal struggles in life. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of his books but fair warning. If you are the least bit depressed and have a gun in your home, this is not the book for you. There are sweet, happy moments, but they are fleeting. Plainsong and Eventide were far more uplifting, and I heartily recommend them as well.


Benediction (Vintage Contemporaries)
Benediction (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Kent Haruf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/25/2016


Kent Haruf sure knows how write about the common man and everyone's personal struggles in life. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of his books but fair warning. If you are the least bit depressed and have a gun in your home, this is not the book for you. There are sweet, happy moments, but they are fleeting. Plainsong and Eventide were far more uplifting, and I heartily recommend them as well.


Blackwood Farm (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 9)
Blackwood Farm (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 9)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 392
Review Date: 7/10/2007


I was shocked to love this book. It wasn't at all what I thought it was going to be. A great mystery, character piece and downright pleasant read. I took it on vacation and was sorry when I had finished.

Set in the contemporary south, it references back to earlier times and makes you wonder where it will eventually take you. I've definitely added more of Rice's books to my "TBR" list.


Blood Orchid (Holly Barker, Bk 3)
Blood Orchid (Holly Barker, Bk 3)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 7/10/2007


I didn't consider this third installment of the four part series to be as good as the first two; none the less I've recently received Iron Orchid and I'm willing to give Holly another shot. But that being said, you just have to love that dog.


By Sorrow's River  (The Berrybender Narratives, Bk 3)
By Sorrow's River (The Berrybender Narratives, Bk 3)
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 8/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


My husband I both have read the entire Berrybender series. I took all the volumes on a recent vacation (long, long 18 hour flight to Johannesburg) and finished the set during the trip.

My husband and I have completely different tastes in books (he loves historical non-fiction, while I enjoy more contemporary books) but we both enjoyed the Berrybenders.

True to McMurtry, filled with drama, comedy and a little romance. This series left us wondering how anyone ever made it west alive. Be sure to read this series in order to get the most out of it. Similar in style, but different from the Lonesome Dove saga.


Calico Joe
Calico Joe
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/16/2012


I am not a fan of baseball, but this book was outstanding. It's a story about human nature -- the best and the worst of human nature. Thoughtfully told by our old friend, Grisham.


Calico Joe
Calico Joe
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 10/16/2012


I am not a fan of baseball, but this book was outstanding. It's a story about human nature -- the best and the worst of human nature. Thoughtfully told by our old friend, Grisham.


Calico Joe (Large Print)
Calico Joe (Large Print)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/16/2012


I am not a fan of baseball, but this book was outstanding. It's a story about human nature -- the best and the worst of human nature. Thoughtfully told by our old friend, Grisham.


Calico Joe (Random House Large Print)
Calico Joe (Random House Large Print)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/16/2012


I am not a fan of baseball, but this book was outstanding. It's a story about human nature -- the best and the worst of human nature. Thoughtfully told by our old friend, Grisham.


Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 9/24/2007


Another fabulous offering from Fannie Flagg with some many of the old characters returning. She always leaves me feeling uplifted and happy. Aunt Elner is the main character who can teach us all a thing or two. I heartily recommend this to all Flagg fans.


Capital Crimes (Will Lee, Bk 6)
Capital Crimes (Will Lee, Bk 6)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 4/24/2007


Another great offering from Woods. I love reading his "series" in order so be sure to check out all the books that precede Capital Crimes, which include Chiefs, Run Before the Wind, Deep Lie, Grass Roots and The Run.

It's great also to see some "visits" from some of Woods' other characters.


The Castaways
The Castaways
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 3/22/2013


By far, this is the best of the Hilderbrand books. There have been a few that weren't even worth the paper on which they were written -- but I really enjoyed this one.

Engaging plot, good character development -- just a good read.


Chiefs (Will Lee, Bk 1)
Chiefs (Will Lee, Bk 1)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 6/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is Woods' first book and just a little bit different from all his subsequent books. While it technically isn't part of the Will Lee series, I recommend reading this first.

I really enjoyed this.


A Common Life: The Wedding Story (Mitford Years, Bk 6)
A Common Life: The Wedding Story (Mitford Years, Bk 6)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 4/7/2007


The Mitford Series from Jan Karon will bring a smile to your soul. Be sure to read in order for the most enjoyment.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1989
Review Date: 1/22/2007


This book is hysterical -- unfortunately it's so funny because there are so many women that can't give up their shopping addiction.


Dead Eyes
Dead Eyes
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 7/10/2007


I was a little dissapointed in this book . . . for some reason the "ever optimistic, cheary" disposition of the heroine just left me a little cold. No one faces this sort of challenge and doesn't have a bad patch. But I just adored her friend, Danny.


The Discomfort Zone
The Discomfort Zone
Author: Jonathan Franzen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/29/2012


While I enjoyed his writing style immensely, I believe our author Franzen is a little enamored with himself as an adult. The stories from his childhood, however, are quite entertaining.


The Discomfort Zone: a Personal History
The Discomfort Zone: a Personal History
Author: Jonathan Franzen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/29/2012


While I enjoyed his writing style immensely, I believe our author Franzen is a little enamored with himself as an adult. The stories from his childhood, however, are quite entertaining.


1 to 20 of 94 - Page: