Tracy M. (readingfan) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
Between Good and Evil: A Master Profiler's Hunt for Society's Most Violent Predators
Review Date: 3/17/2008


This is an interesting book about the beginning of FBI profiling. There were times that I felt the author went a bit to into detail about his own life, but overall, a pretty good read.


Blackbird: A Childhood Lost and Found
Blackbird: A Childhood Lost and Found
Author: Jennifer Lauck
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 4/12/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was a really good book. Sad in many ways, but really good. Those you us who didn't have the greatest upbringing will really be able to identify with this little girl. She's so smart and strong in her own way, yet has no sense of safety or security. The story is about dealing with her mother's dying and then death as a young child and the not so pleasant years after. I loved the writing style of this author too. She writes from the childs perspective and it's just perfect!


Chemical Pink
Chemical Pink
Author: Katie Arnoldi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/15/2010


I read this in a day. It's about a weird guy who is into pumping up women body builders with steriods so that they will win competitions. He's into some kinky sex stuff too. That's really the gist of it. It's a funny, strange book. A very entertaining read.


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 663
Review Date: 1/7/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was pretty good. It started off looking a little predictable, but it got better a few chapters in. Worth reading...


Donnie Brasco: My Undercover Life in the Mafia
Donnie Brasco: My Undercover Life in the Mafia
Author: Joseph D. Pistone
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/12/2009


This is a very good book. I liked the movie a lot, but you always get so much more detail from reading a book.

It's the story of an FBI agent's years spent undercover in the mafia. Very good read!


Eat, Pray, Love : One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 3/21/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I could not get into this book at all. The woman is constantly whining and droning on and on about basically nothing at all. I skipped many pages and finally just gave up.


Go Ask Alice
Go Ask Alice
Author: Anonymous
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 1/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book when I was a teenager (a long time ago!) and I really loved it. It's a good read.


The Good House
The Good House
Author: Ann Leary
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/10/2015


I loved this book. I loved the way it was written. The way the thoughts of the main character are expressed are perfect and quite funny. A very interesting story about the life of a woman who drinks a bit too much.


I Know This Much Is True
I Know This Much Is True
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 3/25/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This was one of the best books I've ever read. There are so many characters and I thought that he tied them together so well. This is a really good read...hard to put down.


The Ice Man: Confessions of a Mafia Contract Killer
The Ice Man: Confessions of a Mafia Contract Killer
Author: Philip Carlo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/17/2008


This was such a good book! Richard Kuklinski also did a few interviews for HBO. This is a bit disturbing but VERY hard to put down!!


In the Company of the Courtesan
In the Company of the Courtesan
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 4/7/2008


I had a hard time getting into this book. The Birth of Venus (another book by Sarah Dunant) was such a good read that I was surprised. I didn't finish this book.


Keeping Faith
Keeping Faith
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 387
Review Date: 3/25/2008


This is a really, really good book about a very interesting topic. Could not put it down!


The Pillars of the Earth
The Pillars of the Earth
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1159
Review Date: 3/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I just could not get into this book. I read about half of it and finally gave up. Parts of it were interesting, but overall, it just didn't hold my attention.


The Pull of the Moon
The Pull of the Moon
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 3/18/2008


Not one of her better books. It's a middle aged woman who has basically run away. She writes letter to her husband about what he doesn't understand about her. It just kind of drones on and on. I couldn't finish it.


The Saving Graces
The Saving Graces
Author: Patricia Gaffney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/9/2008


This was a really enjoyable book on friendship between women. Not ding dongs in their 20's, but women with lives happening around them. A very good read.


Scar Tissue
Scar Tissue
Author: Anthony Kiedis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 3/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was super good! Anthony Kiedis is very inteligent and the book just has a wonderful flow to it. You get the full story of the Chili Peppers...just a great book!!


The Slow Moon
The Slow Moon
Author: Elizabeth Cox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 4/4/2009
Helpful Score: 5


When I first started this book I thought it was going to be very predictable, but it wasn't. There were twists and turns along the way. This was a really good story about people dealing with many different issues.


The Space Between Us
The Space Between Us
Author: Thrity Umrigar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 3/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is an amazing story. The grandmother is raising her grandaughter in India. The grandaughter becomes pregnant and won't say who the father is. You'll find out though. Hard to put down!!


Swimming Sweet Arrow
Swimming Sweet Arrow
Author: Maureen Gibbon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 4/8/2008
Helpful Score: 2


There is a lot of sex in this book...a lot. BUT, the story was actually very interesting, albeit strange. I read it in one sitting.


Under and Alone: The True Story of the Undercover Agent Who Infiltrated America's Most Violent Outlaw Motorcycle Gang
Review Date: 4/6/2008


This was a really good read! Very interesting from beginning to end.


1 to 20 of 20