Stephanie M. (KS-Dreamer) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
2 Bodies for the Price of 1 (Body Movers, Bk 2)
2 Bodies for the Price of 1 (Body Movers, Bk 2)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 8/17/2012


I enjoyed the series very much. Read the novels that pre-date the series first for a bit of background information (not required). Fun, quick read. Hooked me and couldn't stop reading the series! Just had to know what happened next. Waiting for book 7, due out in 2012 - but when??

I do not like all the sex details in the books, however it is easy to skip past and you miss nothing by skipping it. So each to their own! Some rather vulgar language as well, not able to skip it all, so if this type of thing offends you, I would not recommend this series.

I recommend this series with reserve because of the sex content & vulgar language. The sex details are not as bad as some, but worse than others. I do not think it would keep me from reading the stories, but it might some. So now you know - use your own judgement!


3 Men And A Body (Body Movers, Bk 3)
3 Men And A Body (Body Movers, Bk 3)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 8/17/2012


I enjoyed the series very much. Read the novels that pre-date the series first for a bit of background information (not required). Fun, quick read. Hooked me and couldn't stop reading the series! Just had to know what happened next. Waiting for book 7, due out in 2012 - but when??

I do not like all the sex details in the books, however it is easy to skip past and you miss nothing by skipping it. So each to their own! Some rather vulgar language as well, not able to skip it all, so if this type of thing offends you, I would not recommend this series.

I recommend this series with reserve because of the sex content & vulgar language. The sex details are not as bad as some, but worse than others. I do not think it would keep me from reading the stories, but it might some. So now you know - use your own judgment!


Amish Country Cookbook
Amish Country Cookbook
Author: Bob Miller, Sue Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/25/2014


I collect cookbooks and have enjoyed reading this one very much. I would recommend it to anyone interested in homestyle cooking and recipes that are not gourmet, but family friendly and wholesome. Just my opinion. I doubt that I will ever get rid of this cookbook, but you never know what the future holds.

Wishing you good food, healthy life, and happiness!


The Apologetics Study Bible: Understand Why You Believe (Apologetics Bible)
The Apologetics Study Bible: Understand Why You Believe (Apologetics Bible)
Book Type: Bonded Leather
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/28/2012


This "Bible" gives some insight into the following "religious groups":

WICCA
Scientology
Christian Science
Watchtower Society(Jehovah's Witnesses)
LDS
Judaism
Islam
Hinduism
Buddhism
Christianity

"What is Apologetics? By Kenneth D. Boa
Apologetics may be simply defined as the defense of the Christian faith." There is an article that follows giving more details.

This is a Holman Christian Standard Bible.

At first glance I was offended by some of the notes in this Bible. It was only after understanding that this is not a Bible for the beginner or struggling Christian - but for someone with a clear, firm, unwavering faith
that wants to research some other religious beliefs. It would be easy for a struggling believer to become confused or become lost in the notes not understanding that the notes are not a confirmation that this is fact or even, 'right', just that it is what others believe.

Proceed with caution. I could not recommend this Bible myself, but that is my personal opinion - each to their own, right?


Aunt Dimity Digs In  (Aunt Dimity, Bk 4)
Aunt Dimity Digs In (Aunt Dimity, Bk 4)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 2/1/2012
Helpful Score: 1


The family in this series is stinking wealthy! They try to keep themselves centered or down to earth by doing charity work and such. However, you can't get past the money making their lives easy and not something normal people can identify with. Each book finds a different exotic setting for the story, while being home based in England.

The series is said to be paranormal, and is not based in reality at all. Entertainment rarely is, however, the paranormal portion of these stories is limited and does not over power the stories.

The book does present a very un-biblical view of the afterlife. Each one will have to decide if this is something they want to read or not.

Otherwise it is an entertaining and quick read. There is a recipe in the back of each book, with the exception of 2 that I have found. Kind of a nice bonus.


Because She Can
Because She Can
Author: Bridie Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 2/7/2013


This is a good book and I enjoyed it very much. Normally I do not read books like this, so I can't really compare it to other authors in the same genre'.

There was some strong language, which I usually try to avoid. The language was primarily from one character and not present in all the dialog. There were no sex scenes and while there was some romance, it was not stupid, silly, or overly mushy.


Best of the Best QVC Family Cookbook: Favorite Family Recipes from QVC Viewers, Guests, and Friends
Review Date: 9/5/2014


First I should explain that I collect cookbooks. I really do like this cookbook not as a collectable piece, but because there are so many good recipes in this book. Useable recipes, recipes that you would use daily, not just special occasions or for company or someday kind of recipes, but honest good everyday recipes that could be useful in a pinch or just for changing things up a bit. If you find someone willing to part with their copy, grab it. These are homestyle recipes not gourmet, nothing earth shattering, just everyday recipes!

Yum!!


Body Movers (Body Movers, Bk 1)
Body Movers (Body Movers, Bk 1)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 8/17/2012


I enjoyed the series very much. Read the novels that pre-date the series first for a bit of background information (not required). Fun, quick read. Hooked me and couldn't stop reading the series! Just had to know what happened next. Waiting for book 7, due out in 2012 - but when??

I do not like all the sex details in the books, however it is easy to skip past and you miss nothing by skipping it. So each to their own! Some rather vulgar language as well, not able to skip it all, so if this type of thing offends you, I would not recommend this series.

I recommend this series with reserve because of the sex content & vulgar language. The sex details are not as bad as some, but worse than others. I do not think it would keep me from reading the stories, but it might some. So now you know - use your own judgement!


Button Holed (Button Box, Bk 1)
Button Holed (Button Box, Bk 1)
Author: Kylie Logan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 11/2/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyed this book very much, probably because I am a collector and can identify with the "fever" that happens when you go after a new item for your collection. Can't wait to read the next book in the series!! Very good cozy mystery! I had no idea who the guilty party was until the end!!


The Case for Christ:  A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus
Review Date: 11/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed the book, however I would have liked to have seen some of the other research mentioned in the book by the "experts" he went to visit and to ask his questions. I was not aware of these experts before the book, but again, I wasn't looking for a reason to believe. It was easy to convince me, I believed before I read the book.

It seems like he got the answers that convinced him, and that's wonderful.

I still say a person has to be willing to believe before they will believe.

This book will not "make" anyone believe.

Stephanie


Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 7/25/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyable, fun read with some interesting recipes.

Using just the right ingredients of interesting characters, locations, and situations, this book is a good recipe for a mystery.

This is not your typical mystery, it's more enjoyable and the recipes make it so much more interesting!

I recommend reading them in order! Each character develops a little more with each book. If you like this kind of book, you won't be able to read just one!

If you like a good mystery, without blood and gore, just a fun read - look no more! Read Diane Mott-Davidson's catering mystery series! Book 1 - Catering to Nobody!


A Crooked Little House (E.J. Pugh, Bk 5)
A Crooked Little House (E.J. Pugh, Bk 5)
Author: Susan Rogers Cooper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/8/2012


This book was not my favorite out of the series.

This author about beats you up with how bad republicans are and how only liberals and democrats are concerned about the issues of the day. That I've had about enough of from this author and if I keep reading more of the series and they have the same tone, I will just post them for share.

I am not a registered republican, but I don't like being preached to from either side and do not appreciate entertainment being used to promote or highlight social issues.

My two cents and that means nothing!! Enjoy the series otherwise.


Defending Angels (Beaufort & Company, Bk 1)
Defending Angels (Beaufort & Company, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Stanton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 2/22/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Taken from the end of the book:

"A note on the origin of Angels

The cosmology created for Beaufort & Company is based on eleventh- and twelfth-century medieval theology. This was a time in the history of Christianity when influences from three of the world's great religions --- Christianity, Judaism, and Islam --- began to show up in documents in Europe's monasteries. The monks were especially fond of angels, and there are hundreds of them listed in these old manuscripts.

Many angels were assigned responsibilities for temporal phenomena, such as earthquakes, rain, moonlight, and sunshine.

The angels in Beaufort & Company benefit from contributions from several of the great Chinese religions, Mahayana Buddhism is one."

Draw your own conclusions based on the information provided by the author above.

I found this book to be interesting and entertaining. I enjoyed the historic setting and the characters. While not a "can't put it down" type book, it is a "page turner" and I was disappointed to leave the book when interrupted.

An enjoyable cozy!


The Diva Runs out of Thyme (Domestic Diva, Bk 1)
The Diva Runs out of Thyme (Domestic Diva, Bk 1)
Author: Krista Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 8/30/2011


Cozy mystery with tips on cooking thanksgiving dinner. I will be looking for book 2 in the series!

Quirky family, friends, and neighbors make this an entertaining read.

Try it, if you like cozy mysteries - this maybe a new favorite series.


Review Date: 6/5/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Hormones can go out of balance at any age and either gender may be affected! The current Hormone Replacement Therapy not only causes CANCER, but stimulates the growth of cancer too! The Doctors KNOW it and continue to write scripts for the stuff!! Outrageous!!

This ought to be REQUIRED reading in school for everyone!

Men often think this is only a female issue which is wrong!!

This book is not just for old ladies who have started menopause!

Read this book, if it doesn't help you - I would bet it will help someone you know & love!

Please, please don't ignore this serious issue!!


The Hebrew-Greek Key Study Bible/King James Version/Burgandy Leather
The Hebrew-Greek Key Study Bible/King James Version/Burgandy Leather
Book Type: Leather Bound
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Love, Love, Love this Bible. It allows the translation of the key words of a verse from Greek or Hebrew. It helps in understanding and the notes on key verses are terrific too! Great study Bible!


One Pastor saw mine and after looking at it for a while made the statement that he would like to have one and would recommend it highly.

It is nice to know and have a clearer understanding of the true meaning of the verses - some times you think you understand or have listened to a Pastor teach one way only to find out after doing some research that you have been taught incorrectly all along. Nothing major, but still it is nice to be able to study on your own with out the direction of a teacher.

You will enjoy a deeper, clearer understanding with this Bible.


Mighty Old Bones (Thistle & Twigg, Bk 2)
Mighty Old Bones (Thistle & Twigg, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Saums
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 3/15/2012


Great book. Take a chance and read something different!


Notoriously Neat (Grime Solvers, Bk 3)
Notoriously Neat (Grime Solvers, Bk 3)
Author: Suzanne Price
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/21/2013


I have not read the prior books in this series, but I loved this one. It moved quickly and was a fun read.

I was sorry to see this was the final book in the series, based on this book I would have sought out additional books of the series.

The protagonist is a professional cleaner and hosts a blog on cleaning tips for neat freaks and those who love to clean. Her office is an old airstream trailer that has been revamped & she is dating the police chief, if they can ever have a date that doesn't end in a murder scene!

Things begin to go astray when a local vet's office is broken into and the animals set free. The animals show up in the restaurant across the street where she happens to be having dinner and a monkey attaches itself to her like a long lost buddy!! Pandemonium ensues!!

Cleaning tips included!! Take a chance and try it! It might just save your favorite piece of clothing or furniture if nothing else!!


The Pampered Chef Doris Christopher's Main Dishes
The Pampered Chef Doris Christopher's Main Dishes
Author: The Pampered Chef
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/29/2015


One of my favorite recipe books from Pampered Chef. A lot of great recipes and good ideas for supper too.

While this is not a new recipe book, the recipes are good and easy too. Made with Pampered Chef spices & tools, but easily converted to regular tools and spices in your everyday cabinet.

Enjoy!


A Prairie Christmas Collection
Review Date: 10/4/2011


Good book of short stories by some fantastic authors. I like the combined short stories by multiple authors. It allows me to read a sample from each author, to determine if I want to read more of a specific author's work. I found all the stories to be historical, interesting and worthwhile. I hope you do too.


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: