Reviews - Janet S. (JanetDammit)

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
1492
1492
Author: Homero Aridjis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/5/2008


"I tried really really hard,but could not get into this book, even though I am interested in the time period - medieval Spain at the time of the Inquisition."


The Accusers
The Accusers
Author: Lindsey Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/24/2006


"I love the Falco mysteries. This one is rather complex but gives a good idea of the workings of upper crust Roman society."


All Shall Be Well (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 2)
All Shall Be Well (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 2)
Author: Deborah Crombie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 6/3/2006


"I'm just a sucker for British crime novels."


And Justice There Is None (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 8)
And Justice There Is None (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 8)
Author: Deborah Crombie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 1/15/2006


"This is a good series for Anglophiles."


The Corrections
The Corrections
Author: Jonathan Franzen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 305
Review Date: 2/24/2006


"When I read this book, I enjoyed the story and the characterizations, but in the back of my mind, I kept thinking "This is the guy who made a big stink about being in Oprah's book club. Elitist prat." Despite that, it was an enjoyable book."


The Crown of Columbus
The Crown of Columbus
Author: Michael Dorris, Louise Erdrich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/24/2006


"If you like archaeology, this is a good read."


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1696
Review Date: 2/6/2006


"You can practically see the screenplay as you read it. Not fine literature, but entertaining enough."


Earthly Joys (Earthly Joys, Bk 1)
Earthly Joys (Earthly Joys, Bk 1)
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 6/3/2006


"Lots of hot gay sex."


The Empty Chair: Finding Hope  Joy - Timeless Wisdom from a Hasidic Master, Rebbe Nachmann of Breslov
Review Date: 11/14/2008


"Pocket sized book of wisdom from the Breslover Rebbe. I keep it in my desk drawer at work to read as devotions and to study.
Rabbi Nachman of Breslov suffered from depression and died young, but he struggled mightily against his depression and his work reflects that. This is a good book for people who are also struggling with the spiritual aspects of depression."


The Footprints of God
The Footprints of God
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 2/24/2006


"Fascinating. I couldn't put it down and finished it in one sitting."


Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 448
Review Date: 6/3/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Loved it. One of my all time favorite books."


Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Author: Susan Vreeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 308
Review Date: 6/3/2006


"Interesting vignettes. Some were better than others. Beautiful writing about the scenery."


A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland Indiana
A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland Indiana
Author: Haven Kimmel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/3/2006


"I couldn't get into it, but it got rave reviews in the popular press."


Highland Conqueror (Murray Clan, Bk 10)
Highland Conqueror (Murray Clan, Bk 10)
Author: Hannah Howell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 1/15/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I thought this book was completely cheesey, but others may have a different opinion."


Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
Author: Susanna Clarke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/24/2007


"I tried really hard but couldn't get into it. I wanted it to be something between Harry Potter and Jane Austen, and it's just not."


Monstrum
Monstrum
Author: Donald James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/21/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book has something for everyone. A little sci-fi in that it's set in the future, a little murder mystery/police procedural, a little political thriller, and it's set in Russia, so there's exoticism as well."


The Poisonwood Bible
The Poisonwood Bible
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 423
Review Date: 4/13/2006
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is one of my favorite books. Kingsolver has a rich narrative style and she describes the land the way other writers might describe a fine meal. The cultural and political subtext are intriguing. I highly recommend this book."


Prime (Liquor, Bk 2)
Prime (Liquor, Bk 2)
Author: Poppy Z. Brite
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/3/2006


"Great characterization and food porn. Loved it."


Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Fourth Edition
Review Date: 6/3/2006


"Very useful for grad students."


Resurrection Men (Inspector Rebus, Bk 13)
Resurrection Men (Inspector Rebus, Bk 13)
Author: Ian Rankin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/6/2006


"I really enjoyed this book, though it took a couple of chapters to get into it. My mother in law gave it to me, and she has a thing for detective stories set in the UK."


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: