Brandy H. (animlgrl) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 85 - Page:
Alias Grace
Alias Grace
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was the first Margaret Atwood book I read, and will definitely read more of hers! Loved this story of a maid in the home of a rich woman and her husband. She falls in love with the husband (and possibly the wife), while the farmhand falls in love with the wife. They get together to perform an unspeakable crime, of which you aren't sure that she participates. Story occurs in the beginning of the century, and is written through her eyes, as she tells her story to a doctor trying to decide if she is crazy or not.


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 11/7/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I thought this book was okay. Not quite as good as Lucky or Lovely Bones, but similar. It is definitely not the Young Adult book that LB was. I found the lead character interesting...she is a nude model for a living. I also enjoyed that she was an older woman with middle aged children...I don't think the story could be the same if she were younger. The jumping around from past to present was a little hard to follow, but not bad. I'm not sure how I felt about the ending.....


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 10/9/2007


Loved this memoir of a poor Irish family growing up in Ireland with an alcoholic father.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3674
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Liked Da Vinci Code better, though very similar in style. Felt that the story could have ended much sooner than it did, but still a quick read.


Anna Karenina
Anna Karenina
Author: Leo Tolstoy, Richard Pevear (Translator), Larissa Volokhonsky (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Though hard to read because of all the Russian names and characters, it is an excellent story, and was glad that I read it. The size of the book is a bit daunting at first, but was so glad that I'd read it. Story of a married woman and her affair with another man in 19th century Russia.


Approximately Heaven : A Novel
Approximately Heaven : A Novel
Author: James Whorton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/6/2007


Quick read- story of an alcholic, out of work man trying to keep his wife in his life (and beat up, torn up house). He takes a trip to Mississippi while trying to figure out how to prevent his wife from leaving.

The story is quick, but I wanted to slap the main charachter, Wendell, throughout the book. He really need to wake up! And then what his wife decides in the end.....ahhhh!


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 886
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyed this story, the first of his I've read, and can't wait to see the movie. It's about a brattie girl who makes up a story about her sister and her sister's boyfriend, and the life changing course that this "rumor" causes. Shows her growing up and facing the mistakes she has made.


Beauty Before Comfort
Beauty Before Comfort
Author: Allison Glock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/5/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Couldn't get into this. Was supposed to be a memoir about the author's beautiful grandmother, and ended up being a history lesson in her family tree and pottery making.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 4/2/2015


I quite enjoyed this book. Some do not like the ending, but I'm not sure there could have been a different one. As most books, the end came very quickly, abruptly, and I was sad that I was done reading it. What a great story. This is my first Ann Patchett book, and I look forward to reading more.


Black Water (Plume Contemporary Fiction)
Black Water (Plume Contemporary Fiction)
Author: Joyce Carol Oates
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 10/9/2007


Not my favorite JCO, but a quick read....wonder who she based the accident off of? A senator and his "girlfriend" crashing his car into a lake....


Blonde
Blonde
Author: Joyce Carol Oates
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 10/9/2007


So far one of my favorite JCO books. Written through the eyes of Marilyn Monroe...on her rise to fame from a little girl, and her many loves. Written as if a memoir by Marilyn herself.


Blue Highways: A Journey into America
Blue Highways: A Journey into America
Author: William Least Heat-Moon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Had my atlas out tracing his journey the entire time I read it. Picked this book up on a fluke and was so glad I did....made me want to take a few months off and drive the country.


Blue Suburbia : Almost a Memoir
Blue Suburbia : Almost a Memoir
Author: Laurie Albanese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/30/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this....I love this type of poetry, not very flowery or over POETIC, just words...to the point and explanatory. I completely understood her pain, her experiences her life. The back of the book is a perfect example of what's in store for the rest of the book. I would hang on to it to read in the future, but want someone else to experience this as well!


The Catcher in the Rye
The Catcher in the Rye
Author: J. D. Salinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1933
Review Date: 10/9/2007


I know it's a classic, I reread it last year...hadn't read it since high school 12+ years ago...I remember enjoying it in school, but now I think it's awful. What a whiny boy Holden Caufield is!


Chicken: Self-Portrait of a Young Man for Rent
Chicken: Self-Portrait of a Young Man for Rent
Author: David Henry Sterry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/8/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Oh my gosh....this is somewhat reminsicent of Strip City +/- Running With Scissors. It is about a 17 year old man who comes to Los Angeles, then finds out he has no place to live. He gets a job as a male prostitute (call boy?) and the book is his memoir of this time. Can be VERY graffic....violent, and sad. But another example of things that are going on in this world while we blissfully wear our blinders.....


The Crimson Petal and the White
The Crimson Petal and the White
Author: Michel Faber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 345
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


One of my favorite books...the book is long, but the story is quick...of a prostitute in 1800s England. From dirt poor to the choice whore of a rich man, it is her story of waiting for him to leave his wife and choose her.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4388
Review Date: 10/9/2007


Very quick and quirky story of a man with some mental challenges trying to find out who killed his neighbor's dog.


Dancing Girls
Dancing Girls
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/2/2015


Loved all the stories, and as with all other short story books, some more so than others. The one that REALLY stood out for me was "When It Happens" (Holy. Cow- a precursor to A Handmaid's Tale, anyone?!) "Polarities" was also fantastic, watching this man fall for a woman as she becomes less desirable to most. "A Travel Piece" UGH! I want to know what happens!!! Write a sequel, please Ms. Atwood! And "Training" was another fave, an interesting relationship between a girl with severe cerebral palsy and her camp counselor (or rather his relationship with her). Always love Atwood.


Death and the Sun : A Matador's Season in the Heart of Spain
Death and the Sun : A Matador's Season in the Heart of Spain
Author: Edward Lewine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/21/2007


Was expecting a magical story of a matador and his rise to fame, instead it was like reading a very long seasons worth of newspaper articles on bullfighting in Spain. While I did learn a little about the "sport", I wasn't impressed with how it was presented, and gave up about 70 pages in. After reading a blow by blow account of how each and every bull was scored by its breeder during every fight, I gave up.


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 9


Loved this book SO much, especially since I grew up in Chicago, where some of the places in the book took place still exist! Loved that it reads like a novel, though is a true story of how the World's Fair was put on while a mad serial killer used the fair to lure his victims.


1 to 20 of 85 - Page: