Reviews - Carroll H. (Seahorse)

1 to 20 of 31 - Page:
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
Author: Michael Chabon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 405
Review Date: 6/28/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I've got to say, I was disappointed. In fact, this brings the lifetime total of books that I've simply lost interest in and not finished to about 10. The early chapters were promising (funny and eventful), but about halfway through it just seemed to run out of steam. I liked the basic premise, but about halfway through, simply got bored. Wonder Boys (by the same author) was a much more compelling read for me."


An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England
An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England
Author: Brock Clarke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 3/29/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The title promises much more than it is.
I really did not enjoy this book. I reached the end and went "that's it?" It didn't even work as a narrative of failure.
Each time it would go towards a promise of humor, it would back off. Each time it went towards a promise of pathos, it failed. The characters the author seemed to feel most clever were really quite bland.
There were a few nice descriptions of New England, old and new, but I think this would have made a much better short story than a novel. A man gets repeatedly blamed for something he didn't intentionally do until he finally takes the blame for it even though he clearly didn't do it.
Yeah, I just don't get it."


Before the Wind: True Stories About Sailing
Before the Wind: True Stories About Sailing
Author: David Gowdey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/6/2012


"Great collection of true sailing stories from a broad spectrum. I really enjoyed the writings of Joshua Slocum, the first solo circumnavigator, writing about fixing up a decrepit old boat. He was remarkably funny. Other favorites included a woman sailing in a single-handed cross Atlantic race and having a close encounter with an ice berg and the sorry tale of a man who's crew decamped for home in San Francisco Bay - that one struck close to home for me."


The Blind Assassin
The Blind Assassin
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 469
Review Date: 9/7/2008


"Really. I was supposed to read this book for my book club and got to page 168 and just decided to skip it. Margaret Atwood writes beautifully, she is a gorgeous wordsmith, but the story? Ack. I'd rather spit up a hairball.
I really wanted to like this book but instead it has wound up on the very short list of books throughout my life that I simply couldn't finish.
Oh yeah, and if anyone wants my copy, don't say I didn't warn you."


Blue Smoke
Blue Smoke
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 666
Review Date: 10/11/2006


"A good read with a strong heroine. Seems to be well-researched to convincingly describe arson."


The Children of Green Knowe (Faber Children's Classics)
The Children of Green Knowe (Faber Children's Classics)
Author: L.M. Boston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/17/2011


"Wonderful story. A lovely tale of a young boy and his great grandmother, who lives in a magical old house along with the ghosts of her various ancestors."


Colony
Colony
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 3/9/2006


"Beautiful evocation of summer on the coast of Maine. Made me homesick."


Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1416
Review Date: 10/22/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Very enjoyable, with a nice twist. Kind of anachronistic, but its a fantasy, so why not?"


Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 540
Review Date: 3/14/2006


"Loved reading about Montreal as well as the process of forensic anthropology. Kathy Reichs is great at exposition - I can't stand it when authors have their characters overexplain or do it unrealistically and she avoids it in a subject which requires lots of explanation."


Fabulous Riverboat (Riverworld Saga)
Fabulous Riverboat (Riverworld Saga)
Author: Philip Jose Farmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/21/2010


"I can't really review because I wasn't able to finish it. It simply didn't draw me in, and I couldn't get past the first few chapters. Really boring. I'd repost so that someone else could try to read it, but unfortunately, it came in really poor condition so can't be."


Falling Leaves : The Memoir of an Unwanted Chinese Daughter
Falling Leaves : The Memoir of an Unwanted Chinese Daughter
Author: Adeline Yen Mah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 283
Review Date: 1/8/2007


"A tragic story covering the end of an era in China."


The Full Cupboard of Life (The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Bk 5)
Review Date: 2/9/2006


"Beautiful book, makes me long for a slower, more thoughtfully paced life. Brings modern day Africa to life."


The Gabriel Hounds
The Gabriel Hounds
Author: Mary Stewart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/13/2010


"A fun read for the beautiful descriptions of the middle east. So-so adventure plot, with twists that were kind of far-fetched, but entertaining. Not as good as the Moonspinners."


Ghosts I Have Been / The Dreadful Future of Blossom Culp
Ghosts I Have Been / The Dreadful Future of Blossom Culp
Author: Richard Peck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/28/2007


"Ghosts I Have Been was one of my favorite books as a child. The heroine, due to lack of money and decent parenting, has only herself to rely on. I found this sort of independence by necessity a very unusual and comforting trait in a book character."


The Heart of the Family (Eliot Heritage, Bk 3)
The Heart of the Family (Eliot Heritage, Bk 3)
Author: Elizabeth Goudge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/2/2008


"Disappointing. I read this one because I adore Pilgrim's Inn and had just read The Bird in the Tree and wanted to find how it all worked out.
If you're a hard core religious type, you may like this. Otherwise, you may find it preachy and off-putting.
Like in all her books, the author spends a great deal of time describing the beauty of the gardens, woods and children. However, unlike her others, this one has little to no plot to hold it up.
Not a very satisfying end to the series."


Lady Pirate
Lady Pirate
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 10/9/2006
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Pirates! What more do I need to say? Am I the only woman who wants to be a pirate? Escapism at its best."


The Last Temptation
The Last Temptation
Author: Val McDermid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/15/2006


"Seriously creepy book. Kept me awake at night."


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3320
Review Date: 3/30/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I am the one person in America who didn't like this book. Don't let it dissuade you. You'll like it, everyone else did. I did like the tiger."


A Live Coal in the Sea
A Live Coal in the Sea
Author: Madeleine L'Engle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/10/2010


"A wonderful story about family, forgiveness, and how childhood damage can span a lifetime.
One of the things I enjoy about Madeleine L'Engle's books is her habit of reusing characters. It makes them seem even more like real people, to run into the same character in another book at another point in their life. Her interconnected webs of characters are like real life.
I also enjoy how she can write about religion intelligently without being preachy or moralistic. Her characters (and by extension, her) come across as intelligent and thoughtful."


The Lobster Chronicles: Life on a Very Small Island
The Lobster Chronicles: Life on a Very Small Island
Author: Linda Greenlaw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 3/10/2010
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Wonderful descriptions of small town (island) Maine and the difficult life of the modern day lobster fisherman. Written with humor and love for the locale.
Covers one bad lobster season, while telling background stories. Also nice from a feminist perspective, as the author is a woman in a traditionally and still male dominated profession. She acknowledges this, while not seeming to be phased by it or feel excluded.
Enjoyable, quick read."


1 to 20 of 31 - Page: