Claudia B. (Claudielou) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 78 - Page:
365 Ways to Criticize the Preacher: A Very Short Novel
365 Ways to Criticize the Preacher: A Very Short Novel
Author: Pat Jobe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/1/2007


This is a cute little book about a woman who is determined not to like her preacher. The title is a little misleading, because I expected a list-type thing. Rather, it is a journal that tracks a year in the life of this woman.


All Saints
All Saints
Author: Liam Callanan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/29/2010


This is a strange book. I was surprised to read that other readers felt the male auther really understood how women feel, because I had a really hard time identifying with the main character in this book. She makes a long series of bad and illogical choices that leave you saying, "So then she did WHAT? How on earth did she come to THAT conclusion?" On the other hand, I've known women who put two and two together and get three, so maybe.... She is like a teenager in an adult body. Nevetheless, it wasn't a bad read.


As Nature Made Him : The Boy Who Was Raised as a Girl
As Nature Made Him : The Boy Who Was Raised as a Girl
Author: John Colapinto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 6/11/2010


This is a fascinating look into the life of a transgender person.


Aunt Dimity: Detective (Aunt Dimity, Bk 7)
Aunt Dimity: Detective (Aunt Dimity, Bk 7)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 7/21/2007


The Aunt Dimity books are fun, fast, funny reading. The main character is a young mother who solves mysteries with the help of her dead Aunt Dimity, who writes to her in a journal.


Bad Trips
Bad Trips
Author: Keath Fraser (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/11/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book is a fun but sometimes tedius look at the travels of various famous people.


Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Author: Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 679
Review Date: 7/21/2007
Helpful Score: 10


I loved this book! It's a beautiful little gem of a book! It's like a fairy-tale, set in the mountains of China during an unlikely period for a fairy-tale; the "re-education" reign of Chairman Mao. I highly recommend it, and I'm not relisting it, because I want my husband to read it, my son to read it.... It's one of those books that you read and want everyone you love to read it, too.
Claudielou


Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 393
Review Date: 12/1/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Fall-over funny book. Don't take this to read in any place where you want to be seen as dignified.


The Borrowers (Borrowers, Bk 1)
The Borrowers (Borrowers, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Norton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/19/2007


This is one of my all-time favorite children's lit books; better than those that follow in the series. It's easy for a child to imagine living like The Borrowers do, and it stimulates the imagination to think of all of the uses to which large versions of every day items could be used. The characters are believable and easy to like.

Claudia


Review Date: 12/1/2007


I was so surprised that these techniques really worked for me.


Celebration of Discipline : The Path to Spiritual Growth
Celebration of Discipline : The Path to Spiritual Growth
Author: Richard J. Foster
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/30/2009


Don't let the title throw you, this book isn't about becoming a better parent or learning to control yourself. This is a beautiful book about the love of God. It's one of my all-time favorites.
Claudia


The Challenge of the Disciplined Life : Christian Reflections on Money, Sex, and Power
Review Date: 12/1/2007


As always, Richard Foster has the most beautiful insight into the scriptures and into the challenges of the Christian life. I'm keeping this one to re-read!


The Cheerios Animal Play Book
The Cheerios Animal Play Book
Author: Lee Wade
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 7/21/2007


What a sweet little book this is! You read the story to the child and the child puts cheerios in the right places. Fun!

Claudielou


Claudia'S Shadow
Claudia'S Shadow
Author: Charlotte Vale Allen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/11/2010


I read this book because of it's reference to fetal alcohol syndrome and it's effects on the dynamics of a family. Interesting, but not the best writing.


Comma Sutra: Position Yourself For Success With Good Grammar
Review Date: 6/11/2010


Can you say boring?


Contemporary Diagnosis and Management of the Patient with Schizophrenia
Review Date: 6/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is a fascinating book, and full of useful information, but it is clearly written to promote the products of Astra-Zenica, who funded the writing.


The Crazed
The Crazed
Author: Ha Jin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/1/2007


The lure of this book comes more from the insight into life as an academic in Mainland China than in the lives of the characters, who seem to be ruled by tradition and decorum rather than by their hearts and emotions. Actually, the point at which the book ends is the point at which the main character actually realizes that he may be able to contol his own destiny; the point at which a really good book was about to begin.

Claudia


Darkness Visible : A Memoir of Madness
Darkness Visible : A Memoir of Madness
Author: William Styron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 9/14/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A very good description of what it is like to go into and come out of depression. I like William Styron, and found that he is very honest when talking about himself.


The Daughter of the Queen of Sheba
The Daughter of the Queen of Sheba
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/22/2007


This is a fascinating book about growing up with a mother who is schizophrenic.


The Day the Voices Stopped: A Memoir of Madness and Hope
The Day the Voices Stopped: A Memoir of Madness and Hope
Author: Ken Steele, Claire Berman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/11/2010


This book provided a fascinating look into the life of one person living with schizophrenia.


The Dinosaur Man: Tales of Madness and Enchantment from the Back Ward
Review Date: 6/11/2010


I loved this book! The author is a very compassionate psychiatrist who gives us some insight into the lives of people living with schizophrenia.


1 to 20 of 78 - Page: