Jeanette R. (thebeakeeper) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 168 - Page:
Altar Music: A Novel
Altar Music: A Novel
Author: Christin Lore Weber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/29/2008


this was left on the plane so i snatched it up. its not something i would normally read, but im glad i did. this is about three generations of women and their experiences with catholocism, God, and nuns. it was extremely real (written by a former nun) and great to see how things in life affect how we feel about God and religion and how small and large things change our ways of thinking. it also shows how we change in our beliefs as we grow. there's a lot of sexuality in the book (as within the catholic religion as of lately- and not so lately.) it only took me a day to read, and im definitely glad i did.


American Girls About Town
American Girls About Town
Author: Lauren Weisberger, Adriana Trigiani, Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 12/12/2009


i really like a lot of the authors in this book. and i enjoyed the stories by the women i had never heard of before i think my least favorite story was the very last one. i didn't really get the point. but the book overall was definitely worth reading!!!


The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Bk 1)
The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 549
Review Date: 12/15/2009


i am so glad my friend told me about this told me about this and that my mom had the series. this is such a great book! a quick read, totally exciting- they really should make a book out of this. i can't wait to start the next book in the series!!! i love all of the characters and where the story is going.


Around the World in a Bad Mood! : Confessions of a Flight Attendant
Around the World in a Bad Mood! : Confessions of a Flight Attendant
Author: Rene Foss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 4/5/2010


this was a great book about being a flight attendant. it was a very easy, funny read- that both passengers and flight attendants would enjoy. she wrote it before 9/11 but so much of the stuff continues. same crazy questions, same bad airlines. lol.


The Art of Seeing
The Art of Seeing
Author: Cammie McGovern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/12/2009


i really loved cammie's second novel so i decided to read this. it was ok- a really quick read, but i just cant imagine having the relationship these two sisters had. totally depressing.


Ask Again Later
Ask Again Later
Author: Jill A. Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 11/29/2008


i went to the domicile on the way to visit my mom (wondered if i'd received a layoff notice yet) and this was in my box from another fabulous flight attendant. i started it on bart and am going to read it...so far its pretty good, but the narrator is a bit immature. i feel like im reading a book narrated by a junior high student...

he book did get better and it got really good towards the end. the narrator got a bit less whiny, and the story- a girl in her late 20s who has commitment issues, a crazy mother who gets diagnosed with a lump and a father who reappears after having walked out on them 20 years ago- was a little endearing.


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 12/12/2009


its my new favorite book by her. it doesnt top jemima j but i did love it!!!!


Before We Were Free
Before We Were Free
Author: Julia Alvarez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/16/2010


this is the first book ive read about the troubles and embargo with the dominican republic and i really liked it. julia alvarez is an amazing author and i really like a lot of her stuff.

this book is the story of a girl in the dominican republic and the struggles her family goes through with the dictatorship. her father and uncles are rebelling and plotting against the dictator.

very quickly her friends and family members escape to the united states, but she is left behind and sees the destruction of her country.

its a great coming of age story and a quick read. humorous and sad, but very thought provoking.


The Best of Friends
The Best of Friends
Author: R. J. Stevens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/21/2009


yeah..so it was pretty bad. i love chic lit so i thought lesbian chic lit would be even better. i was wrong. this sounded like the author was in high school, it as so cheesy. its about 3 friends who work in emergency services, and their partners. there are so many characters and its such a shport book that theres no time to get to know or relate to any of them. and they are such stereotypical boring lesbians, who get involved after a week of knowing each other, get bored in long term relationships, etc. not a book id suggest to anyone.


Bleachy-Haired Honky Bitch: Tales From A Bad Neighborhood
Bleachy-Haired Honky Bitch: Tales From A Bad Neighborhood
Author: Hollis Gillespie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/4/2009


i really wanted this book to be amazing and it just wasn't. was she funny, at times, yes. it was a quick and easy read but definitely not as funny as her title was.

i did love that she lived in so. cal and atlanta- my two favorite places. i knew all of the places she was talking about and that was great. she's also a flight attendant and i would've loved to have read some of those stories.

i'll still probably read her other stuff, but im in no rush.


Blink : The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Blink : The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Author: Malcolm Gladwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 367
Review Date: 6/24/2010


i've been looking forward to reading this because of all of the hype surrounding it and the tipping point.

i was not disappointed!

it was an interesting read- that kept me thinking (which i needed because my brain was starting to turn to mush).

i was glad to see a whole section devoted to Dr. John Gottman and his ability to read couples in just minutes and figure out if they're going to split up or not because I'm currently reading two of his books.

Blink was a really interesting book. I'm one of those people who has to think everything through, do a ton of research and then make my decision. I hardly ever go with my gut and when I don't and change my mind, I'm usually wrong.

I liked how it was factual without being boring and I'm now looking forward to reading the Tipping Point!


Body Alchemy: Transsexual Portraits
Body Alchemy: Transsexual Portraits
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/5/2010


this is an awesome book! i originally bought it for my ftm exboyfriend but kept it in the divorce. loren camerons transformation is incredible. the before and after photos are freaking amazing! everyone should take a look at this book. it takes only a few minutes- and you will be amazed!


A Bone to Pick (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 2)
A Bone to Pick (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 2)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 367
Review Date: 11/13/2010


In the second of the Aurora Teagarden series, Aurora finds herself very rich when one of her fellow Real Murders club members, the elderly spinster Jane Engle dies and leaves her her house and fortune. When Aurora goes to take possession of Miss Engle's home, she finds the place ransacked and holes dug all over the backyard. Poking around, she turns up a bashed-in human skull hidden in a cleverly disguised window seat. Fearing that Jane was actually a vicious killer, Aurora is relieved to find a note Jane left behind pointing her suspicions elsewhere.

I liked this story because again, it was short, fun and I love how the characters remain the same. I didn't like the gap though and how all of a sudden Robin has left, Arthur is getting married- I wanted to know more about their relationships with Aurora and what went wrong!!!!

I'm also starting to think it's a bit much that Lawrenceton is this small town with so many murders. Is the series going to run out of people to kill off?

That said, still loved it!!!


Book of the Dead (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 15) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 11/29/2008


My Grandparents got this on cd and loved it. They sent it to me, and i LOVEd it! im not bing into mysteries, but i really enjoyed all of the characters, how things developed and unfolded. i had no clue who the murder was and it was great to see how everyone was connected. the characters in this story are in her other novels so i went out and bought her first book and another my grandma recommended. great book!!!


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3516
Review Date: 8/24/2010


**************SPOILERS!! DO NOT READ IF YOU DO NOT WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS!!!!*********************

since im reading the entire saga at once and the books are starting to run together im going to review it as i read it.

breaking dawn is the first book in the saga that i am reading before seeing. i prefer it this way, so far. i like being able to imagine it my own way instead of having some filmmakers view of the characters/scenes/etc. in my head.

Book 1- Bella
the book starts with bella and edwards wedding. i have to say, it got a bit cheesy too teen romance for me. a wedding? really? it just kind of went a bit too far for me. a bit much- too fairytale-ish.
then it moved on to their honeymoon and the first time they had sex. for me- this is where the book started getting good. i already knew that they were gong to have a baby (a friend accidentally spilled the beans) but i didnt think it would be so early on. im really excited to see where this is going.

Book 2- Jacob
so throughout the rest of the books up until now, i haven't really liked Jacob. he's been to childish for me. ive wanted to like him, and ive liked his chatacter in the movies, but...
loved love loved getting his perspective! FINALLY!! we get insight. we get the wolf side of him.
this chapter was so exciting for me and i had a really really hard time putting it down. so much going on- such intensity. no more baby Jacob.
i was on the edge of my seat with everyhting going on- bella getting worse, the wolf pack splitting up, jacob taking over, edward and jacobs relationship- where was it all going?
bella finally had the baby at the end of this book..and of course her human life ended.
can someone kill rosalie already?
and whats with jacob and the baby?

Book 3- Bella
Ugh. After reading this final part of BD, i really wish i hadnt picked up the book and had just made up my own ending. it was too cheesy for me.
first off- i saw the whole jacob imprinting on renesme before it happened. i ran into my sister's room and begged her to tell me that i was guessing wrong. it was just...to sappy for me.

then when the volturi came to judge the cullens i thought- yes! a war! some action! fighting!!!..or not. a little confrontation, they leave, la di da life is grand. i wanted some drama! some killing!

instead, they all live happily ever after. boo.


The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
Author: Junot Diaz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 383
Review Date: 2/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


i picked this up at the domicile because it looked interesting...

it was really hard for me to get into it- the flow was really weird (there are pages of historical notes on the dominican republic which were interesting, but not necessary) and the narrator used a lot of bad language. i think one of his favorites word was the n word.

theres also a lot of spanish in it, and though i know some mexican spanish, a lot of this was dominican and slang. it wouldve been nice if it was translated for those who dont know slang.

once i got past those things though, and really got into the story it was great and ididnt want to put it down. a tragic love story with a lot of family history and ethnic myths.


Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Author: Diablo Cody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 11/29/2008
Helpful Score: 1


totally digged this book! i first heard about it on oprah ormontell or something. i thought it sounded really good and then i found out that its written by, and about diablo cody, the writter of the fabulous Juno. it's a great, funny, descriptive, easy read about a girl from chicago who moves to minnesota to be with her internet boyfriend and becomes a stripper because shes bored. she ends up finding herself in a lot of ways and continues even though she vowed to do it for a short time. its a great look into the world of stripping, and though i once thought it cool and glamorous (as she did) i now realize its a lot like being a flight attendant. except you dont get to travel. lol.


The Case of the Good-For-Nothing Girlfriend: A Nancy Clue Mystery
The Case of the Good-For-Nothing Girlfriend: A Nancy Clue Mystery
Author: Mabel Maney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/7/2011


i found this at a bookstore and since it was about my lesbian peeps, i decided to pick it up. i didnt have any plans to read it soon, but came a cross it recently and figured id give it a shot.

OMG i LOVED LOVED LOVED it!!! i read all of the nancy drew books when i was younger, and this is such a hilarious take on them. everything is the same, but a little twisted. names of characters are changed but not enough to figure out whos who. i loved how she even kept Hannah, nancy drew's housekeeper.

cherry is the main character, and she recently met nancy clue. (they began dating in the previous book). nancy, cherry and a group of their friends are on a rod trip, racing home to rescue hannah, whos been arrested and is in jail for killing Carson CLue, nancy's dad. the thing is, nancy is the one who killed him though we dont find out why until the end of the story.

i usually pass my books on, but this was so great im keeping it and ive requested the other books in the series!


Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 12/12/2009


i really really really enjoyed this book. such a great, touching story.


Chasing Destiny
Chasing Destiny
Author: Eric Jerome Dickey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 12/12/2009


the books of ejd that ive read lately havent been so great. i started to give up hope- until i read this!!! i loved the story, the characters, the scenery, everything. and though there was a lot going on, you know it could've happened. lol. sad but true. and he's such a great writer when it comes to a female p.o.v. hope he continues on this streak.


1 to 20 of 168 - Page: