Cheri L. (BlondeBomberGA) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Another Name for Madness
Another Name for Madness
Author: Marion Roach
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/8/2010


Dramatic story of family's struggle with Alzheimer's disease.
Two sisters coping.


The Christmas Train
The Christmas Train
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 283
Review Date: 1/2/2007


Not his usual book...definitely a fun Christmas story.


Founding Mothers : The Women Who Raised Our Nation
Founding Mothers : The Women Who Raised Our Nation
Author: Cokie Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 7/19/2006
Helpful Score: 5


Forced myself to finish it for bookclub selection. Turned out I was the only one who did. Most people found it very slow and dry. Nothing new to me that behind every good man there is a GOOD WOMAN.


The Innocent
The Innocent
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 378
Review Date: 1/2/2007


Author definitely has a talent for twisting the reader.


Islands
Islands
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 10/21/2006


Siddons' writing places the reader in the midst of its location and time. From their childhood through their ageing years, "The Scrubs" make you a part of their group. The Southern character of Charleston is described to a T.


Lolita: A Screenplay
Lolita: A Screenplay
Author: Vladimir Nabokov
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/18/2005


Interesting to go back and read it again after so many years.


Not Without My Daughter
Not Without My Daughter
Author: William Hoffer, Betty Mahmoody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 3/24/2006


As a control freak, I found this book very frustrating to read because her hands were tied from so many different avenues. It is hard to comprehend women living under these conditions.


The Plot Against America
The Plot Against America
Author: Philip Roth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 10/6/2006


A Book Club selection...lots of discussion....entered political arena. Hard to separate fact from fiction in the beginning. Very well written. Did not like quick change of writing style near the end. STUNNING last paragraph!


Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books
Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books
Author: Azar Nafisi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1382
Review Date: 7/6/2006


A book club selection that garnered a great deal of discussion.


Running with Scissors
Running with Scissors
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2401
Review Date: 7/11/2006


A bizarre but true story.....funny and yet appalling. The movie will be out soon. Read the book first.


Trans-Sister Radio
Trans-Sister Radio
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 3/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Certainly a unique twist on the gender issue.


Under the Tuscan Sun: At Home in Italy
Under the Tuscan Sun: At Home in Italy
Author: Frances Mayes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 7/18/2005


Calming but very slow.


Voices in Summer
Voices in Summer
Author: Rosamunde Pilcher
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/2/2006


A light, quick read.


1 to 13 of 13