Joyce G. (jaygee) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
According to Their Deeds
According to Their Deeds
Author: Paul Robertson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/21/2011
Helpful Score: 3


The book started out slow, which was not unexpected since The Heir was basically the same way. But once it got going, about 50 pages in, it held my interest. It is a story of loss, redemption and change, a story of human nature. It keeps you guessing who the villian is until the end.


The Bitter Road to Dachau
The Bitter Road to Dachau
Author: Robert L. Wise
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/6/2012


As I got further into this book, it got better. This is a book every American should be reading. It is a book of great faith, perseverance and sacrifice. It's not a pleasant book, but it is a book of great hope!


By Reason of Insanity
By Reason of Insanity
Author: Randy Singer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 11/18/2011


Very good, suspenseful book. Keeps you guessing until the end.


Dawn's Light (Restoration, Bk 4)
Dawn's Light (Restoration, Bk 4)
Author: Terri Blackstock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 11/5/2011


Good book. Surprise twists & turns. Lots of action.


Driven (Gavin Pierce, Bk 1)
Driven (Gavin Pierce, Bk 1)
Author: W. G. Griffiths
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/25/2012


Very action packed from the first page. If you like supernatural crime thrillers, you will like this book.


Escaping the Cataclysm: A Novel about the Origin of Geological Formations (Origins Trilogy)
Review Date: 12/29/2014


This was a good ending book for the trilogy. Lots of adventure and excitement, lots of truth.


Fireflies in December (Calloway Summers, Bk 1)
Fireflies in December (Calloway Summers, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Erin Valent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/14/2013
Helpful Score: 1


The writing is really good in this book, however, I kept waiting for something to "happen", and it didn't! I didn't even finish 1/2 the book, as it got really boring before 1/2 way. There were inconsistencies in the personality of the main character. One minute getting a rifle to protect herself and her friend, the next minute she's freezing in fear when she meets her enemy. That was unbelievable to me.


A Form of Godliness
A Form of Godliness
Author: Shane Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/17/2012


This book started off slow, and was a little tough to follow in the beginning, but it picked up after a few chapters and held my interest to the end. Surprise ending!


The Knight  (Patrick Bowers Files, Bk 3)
The Knight (Patrick Bowers Files, Bk 3)
Author: Steven James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/20/2012


Another riveting novel in the Patrick Bowers saga. Ending was totally unexpected. This book kept you guessing from the beginning right through to the end.


Offworld
Offworld
Author: Robin Parrish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/23/2013


Very good book. It held my interest from the start. Loved the story line and characters.


Out of the Shadows (Nick Barrett Mystery, Bk 1)
Out of the Shadows (Nick Barrett Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Sigmund Brouwer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/16/2011


This started out slow, but got better as it went along.


The Passage (Passage, Bk 1)
The Passage (Passage, Bk 1)
Author: Justin Cronin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 9/5/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I was really disappointed in this book. I agree with another reviewer of this book - I really liked some parts of the book, others were boring and frankly unnecessary. I felt the swearing was totally unnecessary, but that's just personal preference. There were parts that I consider "filler" - repetition of earlier segments of the book, not just a paragraph or two but pages at a time that I basically skimmed and skipped over. I always feel a bit ripped off when there is so much repetition as the book goes on. I purchased the next book in this sequence and will be returning it to the store.


The Pawn (Patrick Bowers, Bk 1)
The Pawn (Patrick Bowers, Bk 1)
Author: Steven James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 3/17/2012


This book kept my interest from page 1. Full of action, keeps one guessing. I particularly liked it because it is a well-written book with no foul language and no graphic sexual situations. Thank you for that!


Stolen Lives
Stolen Lives
Author: Brian Reaves
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/23/2013


This is a very good book. It held my interest from the beginning. Covers every aspect of the human character.


The Story in the Stars
The Story in the Stars
Author: Yvonne Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/7/2013


This is one of the best and most well-written books I've ever read. The author put this story together very well. It flowed well, was easy to ready, was not jumbled up and appears to have had an excellent editor. It truly is a jewel in disguise. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in this series.


True Light (Restoration, Bk 3)
True Light (Restoration, Bk 3)
Author: Terri Blackstock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/5/2011


Good book. Lots of action and emotional situations.


1 to 16 of 16