Donna N. (donnan73) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
1-2-3 Magic: Effective Discipline for Children 2-12
1-2-3 Magic: Effective Discipline for Children 2-12
Author: Thomas W. Phelan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 8/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is a must-read for parents of difficult 3-year-olds. The "counting" technique for stopping unwanted behavior is very simple and logical. What makes this book better than so many others is that the author gives lots of examples of how your child will test you, and provides appropriate responses. He also shows empathy for how aggravating it can be as a parent, and illustrates what will happen if you give your reactive response rather than the quiet, calm response.
After only a couple of days of applying the "counting" technique, my child's behavior is much-improved. Our house is much more peaceful, I'm less aggravated, and my daughter is clearly learning that when I say "Don't do that", I mean it! My relationship with my daughter is improving already, and I'm optimistic it will get even better as we continue to use the counting technique.
In addition to the "counting" method for stopping unwanted behavior, there are many other techniques (such as for encouraging a desired behavior) I will be able to apply as my child gets older. The author provides lots of insight as to what it is reasonable to expect from a child of a certain age, which is invaluable.


The Associate
The Associate
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 318
Review Date: 10/31/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Typical Grisham page-turner. Great escape for a plane ride or beach.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 888
Review Date: 8/6/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of those books that you remember for a long time. A 13-year-old girl witnesses an act and constructs her own immature interpretation of it, with disastrous consequences for one man. As she matures, she realizes her error and tries to atone for it by becoming a nurse in wartime. The opening section is a bit slow at times, but the rest of the book is a real page-turner.


Complete Idiot's Guide to Bringing up Baby (The Complete Idiot's Guide)
Review Date: 5/8/2010


Before we adopted our first child, my husband was a bit apprehensive about his lack of knowledge of babies. This book was a great basic reference book for him.


The Effect of Living Backwards
The Effect of Living Backwards
Author: Heidi Julavits
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/8/2010


If you appreciate inventive writing, you may enjoy this book. It reminded me of The Time Traveler's Wife in that the "back story" of this unusual plot unfolded bit by bit.


Guess How Much I Love You
Guess How Much I Love You
Author: Anita Jeram (Illustrator), Sam McBratney
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 9/20/2010


I found this to be a sweet book with a message that a child will find reassuring. The parent is essentially saying, "I love you more than you can possibly imagine." The illustrations are done in warm, soothing colors. Great bedtime book.


Her Fearful Symmetry
Her Fearful Symmetry
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/29/2010
Helpful Score: 2


After reading the author's previous work, The Time Traveler's Wife, I was quite disappointed in this book. To be fair, TTTW was a brilliant work that will be hard to surpass. This book contains a similar supernatural phenomenon and captivating imagery, and as in TTTW, the truth unfolds slowly. The book is beautifully written and inventive, but the characters are unsympathetic. The psychological motivations and actions of the characters, especially the book's villain, are so hard to believe that I didn't enjoy the book.


I Went Walking
I Went Walking
Author: Sue Williams
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/4/2010


A child takes a walk and sees various animals who then join the procession. The text is very simple, giving you opportunities to engage with your child by adding your own dialogue or questions. The illustrations are simple, colorful, and appealing.


The Lake of Dreams
The Lake of Dreams
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 10/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book was tedious. I bought it new because Edward's The Memory Keeper's Daughter was so good. Kim Edwards writes beautifully but this book suffers because the plot is confusing and not even interesting. Edwards sets up mystery and then employs improbable but convenient devices to solve it. The protagonist is unlikeable - and I don't think that was Edwards' intent - so I found myself slogging through the book hoping something interesting would happen.


The Light Between Oceans
The Light Between Oceans
Author: M. L. Stedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 12/11/2012


Beautifully written with an engrossing plot. One of the best books I have ever read.


A Mother for Choco (Paperstar)
A Mother for Choco (Paperstar)
Author: Keiko Kasza
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/4/2011


Wonderful book about an orphaned bird who goes searching for his mother, only to realize that it is a mother's love, not her physical feature, that make her a great mother. Great read-aloud book for adopted children, in particular those from different races or cultures.


Mouse Paint: Lap-Sized Board Book
Mouse Paint: Lap-Sized Board Book
Author: Ellen Stoll Walsh
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/20/2010


Simple and cute book about mice who get mixed up in paint. A fun story that teaches color concepts such as yellow and red make orange, red and blue make purple.


Rosie's Family: An Adoption Story
Rosie's Family: An Adoption Story
Author: Lori Rosove
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/30/2014


Great book for transracially adopted children. My daughters are Chinese - ages 4 and 6. I bought this book years ago and waited until the time seemed right to talk about transracial families - they were starting to notice our family looks different. This book may particularly appeal to families who have a bio child and a transracially adopted child, as the schnauzers in the book have an adopted beagle and a bio schnauzer. The book illustrates all different kinds of families, including single parent families. It is written with sensitivity and a little humor.


Skylight Confessions
Skylight Confessions
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 3/4/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This may be my favorite book by Alice Hoffman. As always, the story has an element of the supernatural. The characters are well-developed and believable. I couldn't put it down, wondering which of the characters would overcome their pain and find a way to move on with their lives.


Twelve Times Blessed
Twelve Times Blessed
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/14/2009


I loved Deep End of the Ocean and Theory of Relativity, but was extremely disappointed in this book. The characters were not compelling, in fact it was hard to imagine any people being this emotionally immature. I doubt this book would have been published if not for her other successes. Don't waste your time.


The Ultimate Rubber Stamping Technique Book
The Ultimate Rubber Stamping Technique Book
Author: Gail Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/6/2009
Helpful Score: 6


This is a great book if you are just getting started with rubber stamping or have completed a few projects and want to expand your repertoire. It illustrates many different techniques like masking and embossing. The descriptions are clear and easy to follow. After covering the basics, this book provides instructions for a wide range of projects that can easily be adapted to use the stamps and materials you have available. I particularly liked the section on troubleshooting (and recovering from) mistakes. This was the first book I read on this topic, and since then I've designed dozens and dozens of cards, scrapbook pages, and 3-D items.


When You Reach Me
When You Reach Me
Author: Rebecca Stead
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/11/2016


I purchased this book to read aloud to my 7- and 9-year-old daughters. A few pages in, they weren't interested, so I set the book aside. Later, I decided to read it for myself and I am glad that I did. The plot centers around the events in a 12-year-old girl's life in New York City. The central mystery unfolds and builds to a surprising conclusion. After I finished the book, I immediately re-read it and it only increased my appreciation for the ingenious plot and thoughtful details. I can't wait until my daughters are ready to read this for themselves.


A Year on Ladybug Farm
A Year on Ladybug Farm
Author: Donna Ball
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 7/5/2010
Helpful Score: 5


This is a definite "chick-lit" book, light reading and fairly predictable. Three friends buy a run-down mansion with dreams of flipping it for a profit, then (surprise!) it becomes a money pit. The book was reasonably entertaining, but the characters were under-developed. They came off as so shallow and emotionally immature, I found it hard to care about them. One of the sub-plots suggests the house is haunted, but as the real reason for unexpected phenomenon is revealed, I found it so unrealistic as to be ridiculous.
If your expectations are modest (after waiting nearly a year for this book, mine were probably too high), you may enjoy this book for what it is.


1 to 18 of 18