Danielle P. (readingthyme) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
1st to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
1st to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 445
Review Date: 4/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. There is not a lot of depth or great detail in this book. However, it it a page turner and you can't wait to find out who-dun-it. I liked the whole women power aspect and the twist at the end of the novel that I didn't see coming. I will defineatly read the next book in the series.


2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 510
Review Date: 4/28/2009


I just finished reading this book and I thought it was really good. It was better than the first book in this series. It has alot of twists and turns in the plot to keep you on your toes. There's also alot of action so the book is fast paced. I read this book in two days because I couldn't put it down. Will defineatly read the next book in the series.


Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 1)
Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 1)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 7/10/2011
Helpful Score: 1


After retiring to the English country after a successful career in London, Agatha is trying to adjust to her new life. She enters the local pie baking contest and from there things start to go wrong. I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would. I really liked Agatha. She is fabulously flawed in ways that are very entertaining. I will definitely read the next book in the series.


And the Winner Is . . . (SpongeBob SquarePants)
And the Winner Is . . . (SpongeBob SquarePants)
Author: Jenny Miglis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/10/2011


My son loves this book!


Arthur and the School Pet (Step-Into-Reading, Step 3)
Arthur and the School Pet (Step-Into-Reading, Step 3)
Author: Marc Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/10/2011


Great book for kids who love Arthur.


Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, Bk 2)
Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, Bk 2)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 894
Review Date: 6/29/2013


Great sequel to the first book. Kept me entertained and was a quick read


Blue's Clues:  Magenta Gets Glasses!
Blue's Clues: Magenta Gets Glasses!
Author: Deborah Reber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/10/2011


Very cute story. Great kids who are about to get glasses or like my son love Blue.


Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 605
Review Date: 4/6/2009


I loved this book. From the New Years resolutions that get broken, the daily weigh-ins, the cigarette counts and all the other wacky things that happen to Bridget Jones in a year. It was a very funny, light read. The only thing that had me wondering is how can 130 pounds be considered fat?


A Clash of Kings (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 2)
A Clash of Kings (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 2)
Author: George R. R. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 636
Review Date: 1/6/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is book two of one of my favorite series of all time. The characters are well developed-either you love them, despise them and sometimes your not sure. My favorite thing about all the books in this series is the ability of the author to surprise me. Some things you think are going to happen do, but there are a lot of times when you don't and I love that. It makes these books hard to put down. I would recommend this book and all the others to anyone. They are fantastic!


Cloud Nine
Cloud Nine
Author: Luanne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 7/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first Luanne Rice book that i've read. I really enjoyed. I has a great story with characters that you root for and it made me cry. Very good read.


The Crimson Petal and the White
The Crimson Petal and the White
Author: Michel Faber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 7/28/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I was very excited to read this book. I have never read anything about 19th century prostitutes and I thought it would be interesting. And it was interesting. The book is very descriptive and the characters were well written. I was totally into the book. The two things that I didn't like about the book were that it could have been 200 pages shorter (It kind of dragged at the end) and I wasn't crazy about the end.

There is also very graphic sex scenes in this book which might bother some people. However, I didn't think they were gratuitous, but went with the storyline. The main character is a prostitute after all. All in all, worth a read.


A Deadly Brew (Matthew Bartholomew Chronicle, Bk 4)
A Deadly Brew (Matthew Bartholomew Chronicle, Bk 4)
Author: Susanna Gregory
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/29/2013


This is the fourth book in the Matthew Bartholomew series. I am hooked on this series. I love the time period in which this is set. The author does a great job and is very descriptive in her writing.The relationship between Matthew and Michael is fantastic and sometimes quite humorous. I highly recommend this series if you like a good historical mystery.


Defend and Betray (William Monk, Bk 3)
Defend and Betray (William Monk, Bk 3)
Author: Anne Perry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/2/2010


I really enjoyed this book. It was a page turner- full of suspense and surprises. I love how Anne Perry describes Victorian London. She puts in little details that just bring the book to life. This is the third William Monk book I have read and I am totally enamored with the main characters. Can't wait to read more!


Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 7/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


First book in the Temperance Brennan series. I have to say I liked this book a lot. She puts in a lot of descriptive forensic procedures in the book which I love. A very likeable main character with a twist at the end. I will defineatly read the next one in the series.


Evans Above (Constable Evans, Bk 1)
Evans Above (Constable Evans, Bk 1)
Author: Rhys Bowen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 4/28/2009
Helpful Score: 5


This is the first book that I've read by Rhys Bowen and I have to say I enjoyed it immensely. I have never read a mystery that takes place in Wales so this is my first experience with the places and dialect there. It was very interesting. I loved the odd characters that inhabit the village where the story takes place. I also liked the main character, Evan Evans. He is very likeable and I will defineatly want to read other books in this series. Good read!


The Great Snail Race (SpongeBob SquarePants)
The Great Snail Race (SpongeBob SquarePants)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/16/2009


A great little story adapted from a Spongebob episode. Very good. My son loves it.


Plain Truth
Plain Truth
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1107
Review Date: 4/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. This is only the second Jodi Picoult book that I've read and it won't be the last. I found the subject matter very interesting since I don't know much about the Amish way of life. I read this book very quickly because I was dying to find out what happened. Picoult creates great characters here and you sympathize with them even though the crime is a heinous one. I highly recommend this one.


SpongeBob Goes To The Doctor (SpongBob Squarepants)
SpongeBob Goes To The Doctor (SpongBob Squarepants)
Author: Nickelodeon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/21/2009


This book is based on the SpongeBob episode where he gets the suds and has to go to the doctor, but is scared. My son, who loves everything Spongebob, thinks this book is great. It is his favorite Spongebob book by far. It is a funny and silly read.


We Are Dolphins (We Are...)
We Are Dolphins (We Are...)
Author: Molly Grooms
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/12/2009


This is a great book about a mother dolphin explaining to her little one all about being a dolphin. From taking his first breath to learning how to play you take a journey through the ocean with little dolphin learning things as well. It is beautifully written and illustrated. My daughter is an animal lover and this was one of her favorites.


1 to 19 of 19