Bee B. (b-e-e) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Amethyst (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 4)
Amethyst (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 4)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 6/30/2010


If you have read through this series, you surely believe these characters are your friends. Enter Amethyst, the final "jewel" in the series. Amethyst arrives in Medora to claim her nephew, Joel who was taken to Medora by his father, Jacob. She comes at the bidding of her father, a n'er-do-well farmer who drinks away the family earnings and manipulates Amethyst into doing all the work on the farm. I think she is secretly happy to get away. So she travels all the way from Pennsylvania, meeting a kindly businesswoman,getting deathly ill,and finally arriving in Medora to learn facts about the boy that are surprising. But while she is there, Amethyst meets the dashing young Jeremiah who after being injured in the fight against Indians,is looking to settle down in Medora. Should Amethyst return to the drudgery of the life she left behind or should she maybe allow herself to fall in love? What would you do?


Best Burgers
Best Burgers
Author: Publications International (Editors)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/30/2010


Who doesn't like burgers?? Who says burgers have to be plain?? This cookbook gives us ideas to change them up just enough to add some zest to something you already love! This is a great cookbook for the guy who loves to grill or the gal who loves to impress. Perfect ideas for your next social. Easy for the novice to use.


Bless the Bride (Molly Murphy, Bk 10)
Bless the Bride (Molly Murphy, Bk 10)
Author: Rhys Bowen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/24/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I love the Molly Murphy series! The period and history of that time is always well-researched and interesting. I feel as if I know the characters. Bowen transports me into her stories. I can see the sights, smell the dust in the streets, hear the street vendors and taste their wears. In this episode, Molly is finally preparing for her wedding to police Captain Daniel. Because he has asked Molly to promise to stop her dangerous detective business, Molly is torn when she gets the chance to solve one more case. As usual, Molly becomes pulled into the case with her heart. Will it truly be her last case? I hope not!


Cassidy (Big Sky Dreams, Bk 1)
Cassidy (Big Sky Dreams, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Wick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/29/2010


Although I am sure there are many people who will enjoy this book, I found it predictable. It is an easy read for a summer evening. The best thing about it was the Scriptural references. They proved to be encouraging for anyone needing to know the forgiving love of Jesus Christ.


Death of Riley (Molly Murphy, Bk 2)
Death of Riley (Molly Murphy, Bk 2)
Author: Rhys Bowen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/19/2010


Molly Murphy wants to be a detective, but for females in the Victorian days that is practically unheard of! Summoning her determination, Molly meets Paddy Riley, a private investigator who is working undercover for the police. Despite his misgivings about female detectives, he reluctantly hires Molly to be his assistant. Molly is just beginning to learn investigative lessons, when Paddy is murdered! Now Molly takes on the responsibility of solving his murder and in the process, she takes over his current cases and nearly gets herself killed!


A Discovery of Witches (All Souls, Bk 1)
A Discovery of Witches (All Souls, Bk 1)
Author: Deborah Harkness
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 250
Review Date: 3/24/2011


I did not like this book. Although the story took place in about a week, I found it soooooo slooooooow. I read about half of the book thinking that it had to get better. It never did. The best part of the book was finishing it. I really cannot believe there are two more in the series. It seems I must rate this book before I can submit this review. If I could I would not. Without that choice, I gave it 1/2 star.


Flash and Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 14)
Flash and Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 14)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 4/27/2012


Having read all of this series, I was excited when #14 came out and couldn't wait to read it. I feel as if I am communicating with an old friend. This time, however, I was a bit bored by the story. It felt as if Ms. Reichs took advantage of Temperance Brennan's fans by getting something to the press. Sorry old friend but this one was a total yawn.


The Graveyard Book
The Graveyard Book
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 4/27/2012


I enjoyed this story of a child brought up by goblins and ghosts and things that go bump in the night. Similar to the plotline of the Harry Potter series except most of the characters are ghosts. This book contains many characteristics we pray our children embrace- loyalty, honesty, bravery, friendship and responsibility. Not at all scary but a fun ghost story.


Jessie (Big Sky Dreams, Book 3)
Jessie (Big Sky Dreams, Book 3)
Author: Lori Wick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/30/2010


Jessie owns the town general store and raises her two young daughters alone, but it wasn't always that way. Once she had a husband named Seth. They were very in love, but her need to control everything in her life and his need to be a full partner and share the responsibility of the store and their child, tears them apart. He leaves for eight years not knowing that Jessie is pregnant with their second child. One day, he returns, a changed man. Will Jessie forgive him and allow him into her daughters' lives? Into HER life? Will the Author of the change in Seth also bring about a change in Jessie's life?


Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell
Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell
Author: Susanna Clarke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 12/7/2012
Helpful Score: 1


When I started reading this book, I really wanted it to be great. It is one of those huge books that you start to read and cannot stop because you just know the next page will get better. I read the whole thing because I thought I had invested so much time in it that I had to finish. Probably one of the worst books I have ever read. Do not waste your time. I would not even give it a half star except that I have to in order to submit my review of this book.


Little Bee (aka The Other Hand)
Little Bee (aka The Other Hand)
Author: Chris Cleave
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 9/13/2011


From the beginning of this book, I was engaged. What was the tramatic thing that happened on the beach? When I discovered the truth, I felt compassion for all of the main characters. What would I have done under the same circumstances. This book was thought provoking, relavant and deeply emotional.


Oh Danny Boy (Molly Murphy, Bk 5)
Oh Danny Boy (Molly Murphy, Bk 5)
Author: Rhys Bowen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/16/2010


Molly Murphy is a struggling female detective in Victorian New York City. In this fourth installment in the series, Molly has just been through a harrowing experience that has tested her resolve to carry on as a detective. Not only was her life threatened but the man she loves, police chief Danny Sullivan, breaks her heart. Just when Molly is getting back on her feet, Danny is arrested and asks Molly to help him prove his innocense. That's not all. Prostitutes in the city are being murdered and Molly finds herself in the middle of danger once again. I love this series. All the charaters have become endearing to me. The action is nonstop and the addition of historical events of the times add interest.


Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3)
Opal (Dakotah Treasures #3)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/30/2010


This is the third installment in the Dakota Treasures series. The little sister Opal of book one (Ruby) is growing up and facing big decisions for her future. Opal knows what she likes (training horses, hunting,roping) and what she does not like (school). Soon though, she looses the chance to choose when a stranger threatens her innocense and her safety. Her guardians (big sister Ruby and Ruby's husband Rand) decide to send her back east to visit her "foster" family in New York, hoping she will like it there and decide to stay and go to finishing school. Will Opal ever be able to return to Dakota or will she meet her fate in New York? Maybe the admirer she knows as a friend will be able to help Opal decide.


Pearl (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 2)
Pearl (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 2)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/30/2010


I feel invested in this series after reading the first book, Ruby. In the second installment, Pearl finds her way to Medora after running away from a controlling father who has arranged her marriage to a widower (with five children) she doesn't love. Pearl had warning of her father's plan and applied to be the first teacher in Medora. She loves teaching at the mission in her hometown and although she has never been so far from her family, she is desperate to escape. When she is hired, she gets her younger brother to help her. Upon arrival in Dakota, Pearl questions her actions. The town is small and undeveloped. The station master directs her to the hotel where she meets Ruby, the owner. They soon become best friends and Pearl finally shares her story. Meanwhile, Pearl's father is not happy. He comes to take her home. Will Pearl's new friends and especially Carl be able to help Pearl when her father arrives or will Pearl give in and return to a life of unhappiness to please her Father? Perhaps the prayers of her new friends will availeth much!


Ruby (Dakota Treasures, #1)
Ruby (Dakota Treasures, #1)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 6/30/2010


A great first book in the Dakota Treasures series! If you like the wild west, you will enjoy the story of two sisters who travel from the security of their wealthy "foster" family in New York across the country to claim their inheritance from a dying father they have not been in contact with for many years. The people they meet in Dakota are not at all what they expected. Should they stay and try to make it in this beautiful but wild place or return to the secure home they left behind? Maybe the handsome but somewhat awkward rancher can help Ruby and Opal decide. Regardless, Ruby realizes she must lean on a higher power for help.


Sabrina (Big Sky Dreams, Bk 2)
Sabrina (Big Sky Dreams, Bk 2)
Author: Lori Wick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/30/2010


Sabrina thinks that her life as a prostitute is all she will ever have. She doesn't know that God has a big plan for her and will forgive her. She doesn't know that God's plan will bring her indescribable joy! One night while Sabrina is looking for someone to pay her for pleasure, she meets a kind policeman who, along with his wife, help her to come to know Christ and get out of the life she has been living. For her safety, they send her to Montana where she meets a young pastor and others who help protect her and teach her about God's love and forgiveness. She teaches them as well when she reaches out to other young women who have experienced the desperation of prostitution and leads them to better lives at the risk of her own life.


Them Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney, Bk 1)
Them Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney, Bk 1)
Author: Carolyn Haines
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/14/2012


If you love The South or want to get a taste, you will love this entertaining southern bell mystery. It's the Mississippi Delta's answer to New Jersey's Stephanie Plumm series. Having grown up in L.A. (Lower Alabama)I felt right at home reading this book. The characters are colorful and interesting. I wanted to know them better. "Thank the Lord,sugar" the series has many episodes!


1 to 17 of 17