Adrienne (starvinArtist) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
11/22/63
11/22/63
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 5/19/2014
Helpful Score: 2


Although I read a few of his books when I was a teenager, I've never been much of a King fan, mostly because I don't like horror much. But with a title like 11/22/63 to catch my eye I couldn't resist giving it a go.
The story grabbed my attention from page one and continued throughout the story. But how could it not... I enjoy love stories, time travel and the premise of stopping the Kennedy assassination! It didn't disappoint. As a slow reader I was surprised that I read 880 pages in less than a month. Highly recommend.


1Q84
1Q84
Author: Haruki Murakami, Jay Rubin (Translator), Philip Gabriel (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/3/2016


The basic story, about 2 lonely people in an off kilter world, was interesting and was what kept me reading, but I think it was way too long. Happy with part of the ending but yet disappointed that I was left with a "what happens now" feeling after reading over 1000 pages.


The Accidental Time Machine
The Accidental Time Machine
Author: Joe Haldeman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 7/6/2010


A down on his luck graduate student working as a lab assistant at MIT discovers that a machine he is working on travels through time. Many adventures ensue. Enjoyable read.


Acting in Commercials: A Guide to Auditioning and Performing on Camera
Acting in Commercials: A Guide to Auditioning and Performing on Camera
Author: Joan See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Great guide for an actor making the switch from stage to screen. Very clearly explains what you need to know in a concise and easy to read format. Highly recommend.


All About Evie (Chameleon Chronicles, Bk 1)
All About Evie (Chameleon Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Beth Ciotta
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 7/15/2009


Evie, a middle-aged washed up actress gets "cast" to be the wife of an older, distinguished man, on a honeymoon cruise. In reality it is a secret government mission to usurp scam artists at their own game. Her "leading man" is mysterious, sexy stud with an accent that would melt butter. This is an exciting story of woman undergoing a midlife and professional crisis and discovering who she is.


Crazy for You
Crazy for You
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 6/5/2012


Sometimes a girl's gotta do what she's gotta do, even if it's not the most popular thing. Crazy for you started slow, I wassn't swept into the story like some of Crusie's others. But as the story progressed it became more interesting. Light, funny, with a hint of suspense, overall it was a quick and fun read.


The Distant Hours
The Distant Hours
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 10/11/2014


Have to admit it took quite a while to get involved. Almost quit quite a few times. I would rate the first half of the book a 2 - so slow - the first 200 pages could have be edited down to 100 pages, much too wordy. Too many rambling descriptions that were unnecessary and bogged the story down. Was disappointed because I had read "The Forgotten Garden" and enjoyed it from the beginning so was looking forward to reading this. I persevered because I liked the basic plot and characters.

The second half of the book I would rate a 4. Once more of the actual story was being told and I got involved I enjoyed the book. But still disappointed in the end, felt like there were still loose ends.


Garden of Lies
Garden of Lies
Author: Eileen Goudge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 10/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book I've read by Eileen Goudge and I must say I wasn't disappointed. I was hooked from the start and had trouble putting it down. The babies deliberately switched at birth plot device is driven by her well fleshed out and endearing characters. I just finished reading it and plan to start the sequel tonight. I can't wait.


Head Over Heels (Lucky Harbor, Bk 3)
Head Over Heels (Lucky Harbor, Bk 3)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 10/2/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Jill Shalvis is another author I discovered after joining PBS. She has become one of my favorites.

The Lucky Harbor Series is about 3 sisters who move to Lucky Harbor to claim an inheritance. Head Over Heels is the 3rd book of the series and centers on the youngest sister Chloe, a quirky, soft hearted girl who has gained the reputation of being "the wild child" Enter a very sexy hunk, a reformed "bad boy" who is now the sheriff and fun ensues. The shower scene, among others, is hot, hot, hot!!

If you're looking for a contemporary romance that is fun, yet steamy, look no further. You can't go wrong with this series and this book!


The Holly Joliday (Judy Moody & Stink, Bk 1)
Review Date: 10/28/2011


Join Judy Moody and Stink for the holidays for a nice dose of holiday magic!!


The Last Aloha
The Last Aloha
Author: Gaellen Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/3/2014
Helpful Score: 1


4 1/2 stars
I enjoyed this book. I learned something about the history of Hawaii. Made me extremely disgusted and ashamed of the greedy, corrupt americans who took advantage of the current regime (who welcomed and befriended them) and were responsible for overthrowing the queen.


The Last Camellia: A Novel
The Last Camellia: A Novel
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/17/2013


This is the 4th book of Jio's that I've read. I enjoyed it but it wasn't as good as the other 3. This one takes place in 2 different time periods, the 1940's and present day. There is a mystery that surrounds an exotic and rare flower, a pink cammelia, that joins the 2 stories. In the first story, a woman named Flora takes a job as a nanny in England to help out her aging parents who are struggling financially. The 2nd story is about Addison, a woman who accompanies her husband to his parents recently purchased
English manor in order to run away from her past. In both stories there were characters who weren't fleshed out enough and if they had been perhaps I would have understood and enjoyed the ending better. All in all a good read.


The Last Letter from Your Lover
The Last Letter from Your Lover
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/25/2014


The Last Letter from Your Lover is a wonderful love story. It follows the lives of 2 couples. It reads a bit like 2 separate stories, one from the 60's and the other occurring 40 years later and how the time period influences each story.


Love You Forever
Love You Forever
Author: Robert N. Munsch, Sheila McGraw (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 3/21/2009


Great book. The circle of life. Makes me cry everytime I read it.


Many Thanks... You Are Appreciated (friendships begin with...gratitude)
Review Date: 4/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


from back of book:

A heartfelt "thank you" is one of the deepest forms of communication between 2 people. For a kindness shown, a gift is given, a life touched, the most fitting response is always - - thank you!

"Be thankful," said the apostle Paul in his New Testament letter to the Colossians. Be grateful for the kindness you have received. Reach out to those who have reached out to you, and say Many Thanks!


Margot:
Margot:
Author: Jillian Cantor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/7/2017


Keeping in mind that this is fiction and that Margot died in Bergen-Belsen, this story is definitely believable.
My in-laws escaped the camps, but never could escape the nightmare. They wouldn't talk about it at all. My mother in law was shot and had nightmares her entire life. So I can relate to surviving anyway you can. Margie/Margot tried to escape her past by denying it and in doing so she lost who she was.
I think it is important to read "The Diary of Anne Frank" before reading "Margot"


Me Before You
Me Before You
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 218
Review Date: 7/4/2016


The story centers on 2 people from different sides of the tracks... he's a wealthy lawyer who was a thrill seeker until a terrible accident changes his life forever. She is a poor, unemployed girl leading an ordinary life within the boundaries of the village in which she was born.
All that changes when his mother hires her to care for him.
This is the 2nd book of Moyes that I have read (1st The Last Letter from Your Lover- 3.5 stars ) and I truly enjoyed reading it. I was swept into the storyline immediately and my attention was held til the last page. 4.5 stars


My Nerdy Valentine (Nerds, Bk 7)
My Nerdy Valentine (Nerds, Bk 7)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 9/5/2009


"The paperbag filled with sex toys began to rip as Amanda trudged up the marble staircase to her boss's second floor office". So begins Thompson's book "My Nerdy Valentine". A sweet blend of romance and humor, with a dash of mystery, I was hooked from the first sentence. I have enjoyed all the nerd books, and this by far was my favorite.


The Night Strangers
The Night Strangers
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 7/4/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first Bohjalian book I've read and is not the genre I usually enjoy, so I was pleasantly surprised that I liked it. Reminiscent of Rosemary's Baby, The Stepford Wives and Amittyville Horror, the only thing I wasn't crazy about was the ending.


The Nightingale
The Nightingale
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Perfect Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/6/2017


This is a tale of 2 sisters, who are very different. Cast out by a father who was damaged by the horrors WWI, to live with a stranger when their mother dies, it tells the story of how Vianne and her younger sister Isabelle deal with life as the germans occupy France and their resilience in surviving the horrors of the halocaust.

I have yet to read a book by Kristin Hannah that I haven't loved.


1 to 20 of 36 - Page: