Sandra D. (bookcrazychick) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 77 - Page:
700 Sundays
700 Sundays
Author: Billy Crystal
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 2/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Cute, funny read. I love Billy Crystal. He seems like someone you would want as a friend.


Actual Innocence : Five Days to Execution, and Other Dispatches From the Wrongly Convicted
Review Date: 4/12/2006


Very interesting and scary. Makes you think twice when someone says they are innocent.


Airframe
Airframe
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 490
Review Date: 8/1/2006


Great book. Classic Chrichton. It kept me up at night reading.


Alexandra: The Last Tsarina
Alexandra: The Last Tsarina
Author: Carolly Erickson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/3/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This book is awesome!! Got me hooked on historical biographies and wanting to get my hands on anything about the Romanovs. Lush descriptions, richly detailed. I could go on but I won't. This is a must read.


And I Don't Want to Live This Life
And I Don't Want to Live This Life
Author: Deborah Spungen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of my all time favorite books! I have read it many times. Nancy Spungen was a profoundly disturbed child who got NO help at all from the medical community. I'm not sure if was the times (she was born in 1958) or what but my heart abolutely breaks for this family and what they endured with her. As a child she tried to stab a sitter with scissors and attacked her mother with a hammer. Doctor's response? Just a phase, normal, etc. Absolutely NUTS!! Many years later Mrs. Spungen saw a doctors report that mentioned the possiblity of schizophrenia but this same doctor did not share his thoughts with the Spungens and in fact quit seeing her after that. Once again, not sure if it was the times but it appeared that doctors just kept passing her off to be rid of her as they really didn't know what was wrong or what to do with her. She was born cyanotic (cord wrapped around her neck)and try as she might, Mrs. Spungen could not get any doctor to consider that maybe this had something to do with her problems. Evidently now days doctors do think there is a connection between traumatic births and emotional problems in children and parents get the support and follow up needed. To late for Nancy as she was stabbed to death by Sid Vicious of Sex Pistols fame at the age of 20. Absolutley tragic.


And the Sea Will Tell
And the Sea Will Tell
Author: Vincent Bugliosi, Bruce Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/3/2007


Started off very good and interesting. But when the book was all about the trials it was pretty boring. I ended up skimming a lot of the book.


Beyond the Sky and the Earth: A Journey into Bhutan
Beyond the Sky and the Earth: A Journey into Bhutan
Author: Jamie Zeppa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I LOVED this book. It made me want to pack my bags and book a flight to Bhutan. And I am not a world traveler. I like all the comforts of home, running water, electricity, etc. But her writing made me want to experience a third world country. I will be keeping this book and rereading.


The Big House : A Century in the Life of an American Summer Home
The Big House : A Century in the Life of an American Summer Home
Author: George Howe Colt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 5/27/2011


Loved this book. I've always been fascinated by the wealthy WASP culture and this delivers a heaping dose of it! Lot of history too of the area. Very interesting.


The Bigamist: The True Story of a Husband's Ultimate Betrayal
Review Date: 8/24/2010
Helpful Score: 1


OMG. I could not put this book down. I read it in one day. I'm sorry, but I just can not believe the gullibility of some people. I feel truly sorry for this woman and what she went through but the red flags were all but slapping her in the face! I just don't understand it. This book is fascinating though.


The Boy Next Door
The Boy Next Door
Author: Gretchen Brinck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/24/2006


Fascinating and chilling book.


Bridge To Terabithia
Bridge To Terabithia
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 4/12/2006


I normally love anything by Paterson but didn't like this one.


Careless Whispers (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Careless Whispers (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: Carlton Stowers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/11/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This is the book that got me hooked on true crime. Carlton Stowers is a master story teller and I will read anything he writes. This true story is about a random, savage killing of three teen-agers in a park in Waco, TX.


The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers (Cat Who...Bk 29)
The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers (Cat Who...Bk 29)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 1/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


She needs to retire this series. This was AWFUL.


Chasing the Devil : My Twenty-Year Quest to Capture the Green River Killer
Review Date: 6/29/2006


Very good book.


Chinese Cinderella : The True Story of an Unwanted Daughter
Chinese Cinderella : The True Story of an Unwanted Daughter
Author: Adeline Yen Mah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 7/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A very good book. This is for juveniles where as her book Falling Leaves is for adults.


The Climb: Tragic Ambitions on Everest
The Climb: Tragic Ambitions on Everest
Author: Anatoli Boukreev, G. Weston Dewalt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/1/2006


I liked this book. Very interesting.


Close to Shore: A True Story of Terror in an Age of Innocence
Close to Shore: A True Story of Terror in an Age of Innocence
Author: Michael Capuzzo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/12/2006


Very entertaining book.


Come and Find Me
Come and Find Me
Author: Hallie Ephron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/28/2013
Helpful Score: 3


I was surprised to find myself really liking this book. The computer detail was a little over my head and I thought the bad guy was pretty obvious from the start. Still suspenseful and there was a slight twist I didn't see coming at the end.


Creating Myself: How I Learned That Beauty Comes in All Shapes, Sizes, and Packages, Including Me
Review Date: 11/6/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Good grief! So Mia hated her mom and had an absent dad. She was the BIGGEST whiner I have ever read about. If you're in the mood for a "poor, poor, pitiful me" book then this ones for you.


A Dance with the Devil: A True Story of Marriage to a Psychopath
A Dance with the Devil: A True Story of Marriage to a Psychopath
Author: Barbara Bentley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/14/2009
Helpful Score: 5


This was an excellent book. Barbara Bentley was married to a con man for 10 years. He ruined her credit, forged her names on legal documents, impersonated a naval officer and much more. I had a hard time believing what she put up with but I understand that her husband was the type that knew how to prey on her weakness and she was just completely conned by him. When he eventually tried to kill her for financial gain, she realized what was going on. He was prosecuted and convicted of attempted murder. He served only 14 months in jail. She was than victimized again when she filed for divorce. Since they lived in California he was entitled to half of everything she owned. Didn't matter he had tried to kill her!!! She than single handedly had a bill passed so that if a spouse was convicted of trying to kill the other one, they could not gain anything in the divorce. A remarkable woman.


1 to 20 of 77 - Page: