Joannie N. (Nedheadz) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 121 - Page:
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Don Piper, Cecil Murphey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 869
Review Date: 5/26/2012


Not so much a description of heaven and God, but more a self help book for learning patience, perseverence and praise. Powerful account of Don Piper's journey back to life and his commitment to witness.


Alexander Hamilton, American
Alexander Hamilton, American
Author: Richard Brookhiser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/7/2013


With all the calls to investigate the fed, I had a curiosity about how it got started which obviously began with Hamilton. This book is broken into 10 short focal points from Hamilton's life trying to help the reader understand the inner turmoils that shaped the man throughout his life. It was intriguing to read about the partisan struggles and party machinations that had begun almost immediately following the election of our first president. In many ways it was very familiar even contemporary.

It was easy to read, but sometimes I felt like Mr. Brookhiser took for granted the reader's background knowledge so that in a few instances there were transitions of events which I felt like I missed something.


American Creation: Triumphs and Tragedies at the Founding of the Republic
Review Date: 10/13/2012


It's an election year so some historical references to the birth of our nation are in order. WOW! I love this selection, it concisely focuses on the growing pains of the new nation by focusing on 6 discrete events during that politically creative period that lead to our nation with all its grandeur and its flaws. Let the arguments begin, but after reading this title you'll understand that that is the point and since all of the questions haven't been answered we'll have a long time to continue the dialogue!


Arundel by Kenneth Roberts
Arundel by Kenneth Roberts
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/2/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Arundel is a moving tale of Steven Nason and his quest to find and reclaim his childhood friend Mary Mallinson who was captured and taken to Quebec by Henri Guerlac de Sabrevois. The story is a window into the lives of everyday Americans in the early revolutionary period and their relationship with the Abenaki Indians. The portrait of the Sons of Liberty and their standing in the community, the local prejudices that divided the colonists and their efforts to meld together behind the cause of liberty and the charismatic leadership of Benedict Arnold and his ability to inspire under the most distressing of circumstances bring all of these characters' paths together in turbulent, deceitful and tragic manners. For those who love liberty the portrayal of the moment can be raw, but it's a colorful account of the ill fated expedition of the colonial army to take Quebec.


The Awful Secret (Crowner John, Bk 4)
The Awful Secret (Crowner John, Bk 4)
Author: Bernard Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/22/2009


How our perspectives change as our lives progress; things mocked become things valued and things valued become mocked. Crowner John is approached by a long ago acquaintance from his days as a crusader for help, in doing the right thing de Wolfe discovers that black and white are not always in such contrast. Once more the conflict between his brother-in-law Sheriff de Reville is present, but does John's pride and arrogance in duping de Reville ulitmately lead to John's demise in this adventure? A lot of action in this story with pirates, murder, battles, Knights Templar, the inquisition lead to, as always, a good mystery solved with a surprising twist.


The Bartholomew Fair Murders (Joan and Matthew Stock, Bk 4)
The Bartholomew Fair Murders (Joan and Matthew Stock, Bk 4)
Author: Leonard Tourney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/9/2012


I nearly didn't read this title in the series. The first two books in the series were good enough that I requested a couple additional titles, but I wasn't eagerly awaiting them. This was a faster paced story that comes form characters becoming better defined. I enjoyed the setting of the fair. A good whodunnit that also allows us to explore religous fanatacism during a religously tenuous period, as well as the evolution of relationships of people who know one another well.


The Bishop Must Die (Knights Templar Mysteries 28)
The Bishop Must Die (Knights Templar Mysteries 28)
Author: Michael Jecks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/7/2011


An exciting tale of utter chaos and turmoil as civil war threatens. It painfully explores the sharpest emotions that confront humans as we're forced to face difficult choices, the unknown, battling allegiances and/or uncertainty.

This book continues the tale of the conflict between King Edward II and his wife Queen Isabella. Unlike previous stories with our familiar protagonists Sir Baldwin and Simon Puttock, there is no murder to be investigated, but a murder which they must prevent.

Thrilling!


A Bone of Contention (Matthew Bartholomew Bk 3)
A Bone of Contention (Matthew Bartholomew Bk 3)
Author: Susanna Gregory
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/23/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Susanna Gregory loves to create a complex tale! This is no exception and has multiple layers that keep you guessing and engaged. Cambridge, post plague, is still not a safe city and old injustices run deep - not forgotten. Can they create such community disharmony and murder? I love some of the discussions that Michael and Bartholomew share regarding the silence and blanks in their history being interpretted by future generations.....fiction w/ philosophy!


Brethren (Brethren, Bk 1)
Brethren (Brethren, Bk 1)
Author: Robyn Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/15/2014


Well researched and focused.

This was a tale that intrigued me since it included the 'Saracens' point of view as well as the westerners'.

The tale started out a bit slowly until you become more acquainted with some of the terms, characters and the author's organization of the tale. Once you get you rhythm it picks up and engages you... Will becomes a great character that you want to cheer for and you even find yourself liking some of the eastern characters.


Brief Gaudy Hour,  a Novel of Anne Boleyn
Brief Gaudy Hour, a Novel of Anne Boleyn
Author: Margaret Campbell Barnes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/25/2011


A new perspective of Anne Boleyn offered through a picture of her personal life. Fast paced and fascinating.


The Butcher of St. Peter's (Medieval West Country, Bk 19)
The Butcher of St. Peter's (Medieval West Country, Bk 19)
Author: Michael Jecks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/20/2008


Well our friend Baldwin is recovering in Exeter from his last adventure. Not only are his physical wounds healing, but some emotional ones as well. His presence in Exeter is convenient for the coroner when a local official is murdered in his own home. Sir Baldwin's respite is interupted for yet another investigation.

While investigating the law officer's death, another body is found could it be that these two deaths are related? Will there be more?

There is great story telling that goes into this mystery. I'm appreciative of Jeck's efforts to connect his fictional tales to actual events that occured and this one is no exception. Jealousy and pride are difficult emotions for clerics as well as seculars and some people have long memories. Ambition without regard for the law is another human weakness as is desperation. All of these human flaws are woven into this story to create an image of 14th century life that is all too familar to our present lives.


Center of the Storm
Center of the Storm
Author: Katherine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/28/2012


Though the 2000 election is mentioned, this is not a book about the election. It is rather a discussion of leadership and learning and how one can survive turmoil by knowing oneself and what one believes. Lots of your typical leadership 'advice', but written with an almost narrative style that reflects on life experiences and leaders' lives from whom she learned and thus developed he own principled belief system. Each chapter ends with top ten lists relevant to the princple she's explored in the chapter....I found the book list of some value and will hold onto my copy for awhile. This is not a partisan examination of anything, but a book on leadership that reads well.


The Chapel Of Bones (Medieval West Country, Bk 18)
The Chapel Of Bones (Medieval West Country, Bk 18)
Author: Michael Jecks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


In this adventure, Baldwin and Simon are both off their games. Recently arrived home from pilgrimage both are having a hardtime adjusting but for different reasons. Simon is missing his family and the moors; his new job at the port is just not satisfying his soul's needs. Baldwin is suffering a malaise of the soul trying to reconcile his guilt with his love. Both are eager to set off for Exeter and the diversion of investigating a murder within the Cathedral Close. After Sir Roger de Gidleigh's tragic and untimely death, we get to meet the new coroner of Exeter and may be a little surprised by this familiar character's appointment. However, Simon and Baldwin manage to work well with him, but I doubt the friendly investigations conveyed with Sir Roger will continue.

The historical accuracy is excellent as always. Jeck has a passion for the law and the institutions of the period. Dealing with the politics of an ustable king and the uncertainty of individual's motives keeps the stories going and give us an insight into the tensions the "middle-class" had to deal with in order to maintain their heads. I got a little distracted with some of the storylines that were interwoven with the main plot, but understand the need to put characters together in the puzzle frame of the mystery.

All in all a good story with fantastic attention to historical details. Beware of your past it may come back to haunt you even when you think it is long behind you.


Company of Liars
Company of Liars
Author: Karen Maitland
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book has quickly become one of my favorite novels.
Enough history to feed my interest, a GREAT storyline with interesting characters and reminders of how fragile our secrets are....lay your hands on it and I'll bet ya can't put it down!


The Complete Idiot's Guide to Geocaching (2nd Edition)
Review Date: 6/18/2010


Quick reference to get you started.

Good tips for investing in a GPS that will fit your needs.

I purchased my first GPSr, spent a couple of days familiarizing myself with the tool and its software and found my first cache three days after purchase and I now have a new vocab too ;)

Have Fun!


Condoleezza Rice: A Memoir of My Extraordinary, Ordinary Family and Me
Review Date: 4/14/2012


Inspiring!
I admire Ms. Rice as a rational and competent leader; a great role model for women.
She writes in a clear, concise and appealing manner that flows well, demonstrates wit and draws you in.
She is very open about her experiences and the special relationship she shared with her parents and the accomplishments she's achieved in a humble and loving manner.
A very accomplished woman whom I hope to see more of in leadership roles in our nation!


The Conquerers (Narratives of America, Bk 3)
The Conquerers (Narratives of America, Bk 3)
Author: Allan W. Eckert
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/4/2010


How determined to keep your home would you be? Invasion of your country;what are you going to do... profiling, cruelty/terrorism, mob rule? The Conquerors is an account of Pontiac's War to unite the Indian tribes in purpose to expel the English from their country.

An interesting and sometimes shocking account that explains cultural beliefs of the various tribes and their approach to warfare.

This story felt relevant to today's struggles with people's reactions to the 'Global War on Terror' or the 'Overseas Contingency Operation'(if you prefer). How do we defend ourselves and still champion our values of freedom, civility and the rule of law?


Crowner Royal (Crowner John, Bk 13)
Crowner Royal (Crowner John, Bk 13)
Author: Bernard Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/20/2011


Another great addition to the Crowner John mystery series. Removed from the comforts of his own home and pushed into the royal household w/o a clear job description, Crowner John and his friend,Gwyn find their days to be a bit tedious and boring, that is until the murder of a palace clerk and the high stakes heist liven things up. The intrique, suspense and tons of questions will keep you turning the pages.
GREAT read!


Crowner's Crusade (Crowner John, Bk 15)
Crowner's Crusade (Crowner John, Bk 15)
Author: Bernard Knight
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/17/2015


For those who just discovered Crowner John, I'd recommend that you read this earlier in the series than it's place as the 15th book, but be sure to read a couple of the titles to get a feel for the characters.

Enjoyed this back history, but it lacked the edginess of some of the character interactions and rivalries that exist between John, Matilda and her brother Richard.


Crowner's Quest (Crowner John, Bk 3)
Crowner's Quest (Crowner John, Bk 3)
Author: Bernard Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/17/2009


Poor Robert de Hane, a most devout humble canon is a pitious figure hanging in the privy...this apparent suicide seems incongruent with the prebendary known in the cathedral close. Could it be murder? As Crowner John digs deeper into this death he uncovers a greedy plot that nearly leads to his own undoing. A felicitous Christmas this is not for many in Devon County 1194, but the crowner receives a most welcome gift from a surprising ally.


1 to 20 of 121 - Page: