Ginger L. (SnarkyHarpy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
Aesop's Fables
Aesop's Fables
Author: Aesop
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 6/23/2008


I have two of these books, both with different stories, but with the same ISBN. One is titled "A Greedy Dog, The Gold Axe and the Silver Axe" and the other is titled "A Mouse's Gratitude, The Foolish Tiger & the Foolish Leopard, Outsmarting the Cat."

Not sure how to fix this since they both have the same ISBN. . .


American Horticultural Society Plant Propagation: The Fully Illustrated Plant-by-Plant Manual of Practical Techniques
Review Date: 10/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I've recently become interested in plant propagation as a hobby, and this book is AMAZING. Seriously, I think with this book, I won't need any others. Clear and concise, and FULL of pictures, this book is the holy grail of plant propagation books for hobbyists. Honestly, I wouldn't wait to get this book on PBS. It's one I'd actually go out and buy normally since it's so good. I cannot rave about this book enough.


Antediluvian Tales
Antediluvian Tales
Author: Poppy Z. Brite
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/23/2008


Contents:

Drink Up, Dreamers, You're Running Dry: A Foreword
The Feast of St. Rosalie
Four Flies and a Swatter
Henry Goes Shopping
The Working Slob's Prayer (Being A Night in the History of the Peychaud Grill)
Crown of Thorns
Wound Man and Horned Melon Go to Hell
The Devil of Delery Street
The Last Good Day of My Life (A True Story)
Appendix: Alternate Order of Stories


Bad Girls of Pulp Fiction
Bad Girls of Pulp Fiction
Author: Thomas Campbell, Nancy Armstrong, Jason Rekulak
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is actually a mini book. Not bad, but I'd suggest making sure you get the full size version as the pictures deserve to be bigger.


Belushi
Belushi
Author: Judy Belushi Pisano, Tanner Colby
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/23/2008


If you're interested in learning about John Belushi, this book is a MUST. Great read and A+ eye candy.


The Big Blow
The Big Blow
Author: Joe R. Lansdale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/7/2006


From the inside flap:

"Galveston, 1900.
Local fighter, future legend, Jack Johnson versus a professional street fighter brought in to put the black upstart in his place.

Galveston, 1900.
Whorehouses, gambling, racial tension, the intersection between myth, history, legend and reality.

Galveston, 1900.
The hurricane of the century is coming to destroy it all."

-----

This book is a masterpiece. Joe R. Lansdale is The King of Storytellers.


The Big Blow
The Big Blow
Author: Joe R. Lansdale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/23/2008


From the inside flap:

"Galveston, 1900.
Local fighter, future legend, Jack Johnson versus a professional street fighter brought in to put the black upstart in his place.

Galveston, 1900.
Whorehouses, gambling, racial tension, the intersection between myth, history, legend and reality.

Galveston, 1900.
The hurricane of the century is coming to destroy it all."

-----

This book is a masterpiece. Joe R. Lansdale is The King of Storytellers.


Black Beauty/Book and Necklace
Black Beauty/Book and Necklace
Author: Anna Sewell, M. J. Carr, John Speirs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/20/2006


From the back cover:

"Black Beauty meets both kind masters who care for him, and cruel grooms who mistreat him. As the gentle thoroughbred is sold and resold, he moves from a home in a wealthy country stable to the difficult life of a cab horse on the busy streets of London.

"This well-loved classic has been cherished for over 100 years and is now available in this beautifully illustrated keepsake edition.

"This book comes with a Black Beauty charm for you to wear, and to keep for your very own."


The Book of the Damned
The Book of the Damned
Author: Charles Fort
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


FRONT COVER: "The original and greatest compilation of 1,001 attested phenomena that science cannot answer and deliberately ignores."


INSIDE: "One of the most startling, unconventional books ever written! The Book of the Damned

Few books ever published have stirred such violent controversy as THE BOOK OF THE DAMNED. Its slashing attack on the blind dogmatism of science has excited the wrath of and evoked fervent support from some of the world's first-rate minds. Its record of the astonishing, strange events that have occurred in the world on which science is strangely silent, have provided entertainment and excitement for many thousands of readers.

Of its brilliant, unorthodox author, Charles Fort, Ben Hecht has written:

Charles Fort has made a terrible onslaught upon the accumulated lunacy of fifty centuries . . . . He has delighted me beyond all men who have written books in this world. . . . He has shot the scientific basis of modern wisdom full of large, ugly holes."


Boring Postcards USA
Boring Postcards USA
Author: Martin Parr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/24/2008


They really were boring.


Bumper Crop
Bumper Crop
Author: Joe R. Lansdale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/22/2007


A great collection of stories.

Contents:

Foreword: The Remains of My Days. . .
God of the Razor
The Dump
Fish Night
Chompers
The Fat Man
On a Dark October
The Shaggy House
The Man Who Dreamed
Walks
Last of the Hopeful
Duck Hunt
Down by the Sea Near the Great Big Rock
I Tell You It's Love
Pilots (with Dan Lowry)
In the Cold, Dark Time
Bar Talk
Listen
Personality Problems
A Change of Lifestyle (with Karen Lansdale)
The Companion (with Keith Lansdale and Kasey Jo Lansdale)
Old Charlie
Billie Sue
Bestsellers Guaranteed
Fire Dog
Cowboy
Master of Misery


Cabal
Cabal
Author: Clive Barker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/25/2008


This book is not printed in english.


The Chris Farley Show: A Biography in Three Acts
The Chris Farley Show: A Biography in Three Acts
Author: Tom Farley Jr., Tanner Colby
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Great book. There were parts that actually made me laugh out loud, parts that were just plain interesting and others that were absolutely heartbreaking. Also included are two sets of photographs. I definitely recommend this one.

(P.S. If you're interested in John Belushi, be sure to check out BELUSHI by Judy Belushi Pisano and Tanner Colby. Both The Chris Farley Show and Belushi are set up similarly, meaning, mostly made up of quotes about Chris and John from interviews with the people who knew them.)


Courtney Love
Courtney Love
Author: Poppy Z. Brite
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Good book. Quick and interesting read.


The Curse of Lono
The Curse of Lono
Author: Hunter S. Thompson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is an absolutely gorgeous edition of Thompson's The Curse of Lono. If you like Ralph Steadman's artwork, this version of the book is really a must-have. (Check the dimensions. It's enormous, and the illustrations didn't suffer. If anything, they're even better with this bigger size.)


The Day of the Dead: And Other Mortal Reflections
The Day of the Dead: And Other Mortal Reflections
Author: Frank Gonzalez-Crussi
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/7/2008


"Collected essays by a noted pathologist that lead the reader into an animated world of cadavers, coroners, graveyards, and death rituals. With keen insight and wicked wit, the author explores the culture of death from the perspective of one who routinely confronts mortality head-on."


The Drive-in 2: Not Just One of Them Sequels
The Drive-in 2: Not Just One of Them Sequels
Author: Joe R. Lansdale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/27/2008


The Drive-In 2: Not Just One of Them Sequels is a very bizarre book, even by Lansdale standards (so that's saying something!). I liked it quite a bit, but it's not for the faint of heart. If you know Lansdale, and like his odder books and stories, you'll love this. Even if you don't know him, but would like something off-beat and don't mind some grit, I'd recommend this one. Also, as the title says, it's second to The Drive-In, but I had no problem following the story (haven't read the first book yet, but it's definitely on my TBR list).


D*U*C*K (Liquor)
D*U*C*K (Liquor)
Author: Poppy Z. Brite
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/24/2008


Great book. If anyone is interested, there's an excerpt available on the publisher's website. (http://www.subterraneanpress.com/public/brite10.pdf)


Fist Full of Stories (And Articles)
Fist Full of Stories (And Articles)
Author: Joe R. Lansdale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/26/2007


Includes:

A Fist Full of Words (Introduction)
Master of Misery
Bar Talk
Lansdale Raves (Part I)
Mummy Buyer
Trash Theater: Human Tornado, Dolomite
Listen
Lansdale Raves (Part II)
Personality Problem
Two Bear Mambo (Chapter Six)
A Change of Lifestyle
Trash Theater: Parents, The Bible
The Pasture
The Companion
Billie Sue
Beyond the Light
Trash Theater: Viva Las Vegas, Clam Bake
Old Charlie
An All American Hero
Drive-in Date (The Play)
Story Notes


Fragile Things : Short Fictions and Wonders
Fragile Things : Short Fictions and Wonders
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


One day, I came across this book and decided to check it out. I'd heard of Gaiman, but never read anything by him (Anyone with a monstrous list of "to read" books will understand). Anyway, I'm really glad I checked out this book, because he became one of my favorite authors. I'd recommend it to anyone who is interested in fantasy/mythology, odd things, and/or great writing.


1) An introduction
2) A Study in Emerald
3) The Fairy Reel (poem)
4) October in the Chair
5) The Hidden Chamber
6) Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves in the Secret House of the Night of Dread Desire
7) The Flints of Memory Lane
8) Closing Time
9) Going Wodwo (poem)
10) Bitter Grounds
11) Other People
12) Keepsakes and Treasures
13) Good Boys Deserve Favors
14) The Facts in the Case of the Departure of Miss Finch
15) Strange Little Girls
16) Harlequin Valentine
17) Locks
18) The Problem of Susan
19) Instructions
20) How Do You Think It Feels?
21) My Life
22) Fifteen Painted Cards from a Vampire Tarot
23) Feeders and Eaters
24) Diseasemaker's Croup
25) In the End
26) Goliath
27) Pages from a Journal Found in a Shoebox Left in a Greyhound Bus Somewhere Between Tulsa, Oklahoma and Louisville, Kentucky
28) How to Talk to Girls at Parties
29) The Day the Saucers Came
30) Sunbird
31) Inventing Aladdin
32) The Monarch of the Glen


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: