Reviews - Lianne E. (lianne)

1 to 11 of 11
Happiness Sold Separately
Happiness Sold Separately
Author: Lolly Winston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 8/23/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Overall, a good story about a marriage that is falling apart and the paths each half of the couple choose to take. I wish the ending gave me more closure though."


The History of Love
The History of Love
Author: Nicole Krauss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 469
Review Date: 12/7/2007
7 member(s) found this review helpful.


"At first, I wasn't sure if I was going to really like this book or really dislike it - and so put it down for almost 2 months. However, I picked it back up a few nights ago and absolutely got drawn in to the story.

Simply, it is a book about two people - elderly Leo Gurksy and teenager Alma Singer - who are lonely and looking for love and answers. Ultimately, those answers come in the form of the book "The History of Love." While the concept is fairly simple, the storytelling is not. It's multi-layered and complex, goes back and forth in time, and leaves the reader little clues along the way that you don't recognize until the end. In the end, I thoroughly enjoyed it and was sad to finish it."


How to Turn Your Boyfriend into a Love Slave  Other Spells to Inspire Passion, Romance, and Seduction
Review Date: 7/28/2007


"A cute bachelorette gift from when I got married a few years ago...time for someone else to enjoy it!"


Intuition
Intuition
Author: Allegra Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 12/19/2007


"Overall, I really enjoyed this book. Having worked in cancer research, it is amazing how Goodman (who is not a scientist) captured the personalities, thrills, frustrations, dilemmas, and downfalls that are so prevalent in the field. The ethical struggles of determining whether a scientist had fabricated results or not kept me coming back for more. My only disappointment was with the ending - I wish she had chosen to give the reader more closure. However, I think that was intentional, as was everything else in the story.

Interesting, illuminating read. Recommended."


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2454
Review Date: 11/10/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Although it took me a while to read this book, I enjoyed the story from both a literary and scientific perspective. I have heard complaints about the backstory elements, the character development of Cal's grandparents and parents, but I found it fascinating. I particularly enjoyed the section of the book about Cal's life, though, and his coming of age and transformation, and the blurred lines between female and male. I do wish there was more of that part of the story - I understand that the book was structured around the development and occurence of Cal's two births, but I wanted to know more about how his life unfolded after his second. All in all, a really good read."


Next
Next
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 445
Review Date: 1/29/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved the idea of this book - what are the implications of the rapid-fire genetic discoveries that are currently happening? What will the future look like?

However, for about 2/3 of the sheer number of storylines made the book difficult to follow. It seemed like Crichton would think of something that could possibly be related to advances in genetics, and put it into the story. The book could have used a stronger editor.

Overall, though, I enjoyed it, and it made me think about the extremes that could happen in the near future"


Son of a Witch (Wicked Years, Bk 2)
Son of a Witch (Wicked Years, Bk 2)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 7/31/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really loved Wicked, and was so excited for the sequel that I bought a hardcover copy (which I hardly ever do). I was disappointed in this book, however. I felt the story of Elphaba's son, Liir, was left twisting in the wind - it was a winding, kind of long-winded story, and I wasn't really engaged in it as much as I could have been. Liir as a character annoyed me. I thought, for most of the book, he was weak and whiny. Maybe that's why I liked it less than I thought I would!"


Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers
Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers
Author: Mary Roach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 595
Review Date: 11/30/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was an excellent, fascinating book, though clearly not for everyone. As the summary describes, it is a book about the many potential uses for our bodies once we die. Mary Roach writes with both respect for the bodies and their previous owners and a great deal of humor. It's a fantastic combination that kept me coming back for more, and got me through some of the more graphic descriptions and unpleasant mental images. I would definitely recommend this book to all who are interested in science or even mildly curious about the lives of cadavers."


The Truth about Angels: Highlights from What the Bible Says About Angels
Review Date: 7/28/2007


"Sweet "gift book" with angel quotes."


Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1001
Review Date: 11/10/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the story of Bella, a high school girl who falls in love with Edward, a vampire. I read this book on my husband's recommendation - he saw a review of it that called this series the next thing to read for Harry Potter fans. I found it more similar Buffy the Vampire Slayer (without the slaying) than HP, but, for the most part, enjoyed it. However, it was certainly melodramatic at times (I guess that can be expected, since it is told in the voice of a 17-year-old girl), and I'm ambivalent about how much I like Bella as a heroine (especially because I read the excerpt of the next book included with this one), but will continue to read the series and see how the next book develops."


Watermelon
Watermelon
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 11/9/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Watermelon was great plane reading! I've now read 2 of Marian Keyes' books, and I've had similar reactions: I expect 'light and fluffy' chick lit, but her stories always seem to dig a little bit deeper, deal with issues more realistically, and give me more satisfaction than other books in this genre. I also find myself annoyed with the flightiness and weakness of her characters sometimes, but they seem to come out stronger on the other end - as Claire did at the end of this book. I think that's a testament to her writing and understanding how real people might behave when faced with crappy situations in the real world."


1 to 11 of 11