Angie V. (abirdv) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
1984
1984
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1633
Review Date: 7/24/2009


Truly a must read.

There is only one thing to say about this book.


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1623
Review Date: 9/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyed this 2nd book in the series - every bit as much as I enjoyed the first book (Hunger Games).

If you liked this book, then you may also like (or if you liked one of the following, you may also like Catching Fire).... A Long Walk by Stephen King (writing at Bachman) and The Host by Stephanie Meyer (author of twilight).


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1949
Review Date: 12/5/2008


This is a VERY QUICK read. I only have time to read a little bit each night before I go to bed and I read this in two nights.

Unbelieveable what happens to Dave Pelzer. It is hard to understand why people abuse their children. What he endured goes beyond anything that I could have imagined.

I think that child abuse happens way more often than we think or know. I'm left wondering how in the world can you stop it? How can you really protect children? How can you change it so that abusers stop? How can the cycle be ended? Can we do more than each of us be aware and get our of our comfort box when we can?


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3336
Review Date: 8/10/2009


If you liked this book.... then also check out "The Eight" by Katherine Neville.


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2038
Review Date: 7/24/2009


I enjoyed this book. Borders romance a little. Think summer reading at the pool.

I liked it and I bought the set. HOWEVER - After reading the first three books in the series - I felt like it was all the same. Haven't picked up the rest.

The HBO show looked to graphic for me. I like the book better.

Does not compare to the Twilight series. ---- very different--- except that there are vampires in both. Twilight is the best.

-----One that I think is better than Sookie (and along the same lines) is "Undead and Unwed"


The Eight (Montglane Service, Bk 1)
The Eight (Montglane Service, Bk 1)
Author: Katherine Neville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 7/24/2009


I read this book because I heard,

"...if you liked The Da Vinci Code, you'll like this book"

Turned out to be very true. I liked it every bit as much. So...

--------If you liked The Da Vinci Code, you'll like this book.----------


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2511
Review Date: 7/24/2009


I got this book because of all the great reviews.

--- I could not get into this book. Didn't end up finishing it. Put it down part way through.

I was expecting something similar to lessons learned like viewing the different sides in A Christmas Carol - something like that.

I just didn't get into this book to appreciate what other's see.


Flowers in the Attic (Dollangagers, Bk 1)
Flowers in the Attic (Dollangagers, Bk 1)
Author: V. C. Andrews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Read this whole series when I was in middle school. Really got me interested in reading and reading more.

Would highly recommend for similar age. I may have to go back and read as an adult and see if enjoyable as an adult or just young adult. Not sure there.

I will note - the subject matter may not be acceptable to all families. I would be ok with my children reading, but I can understand some people's apprehension.

But if you are looking for something to get a girl reading - this is a good series.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2851
Review Date: 7/27/2009


I enjoyed this book. It is nice for a change to read about a character who struggles with her weight and how she feels about it.


The Heart of a Woman
The Heart of a Woman
Author: Maya Angelou
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 7/24/2009


I don't normally like biographies/autobiographies. But I'm changing my tune.

She writes well. Very real. Very true. It is her emotions and her life out there. Takes courage to write something like this.

This book makes me think. Makes me think about racial relations and how deep it runs.

Time that this book covers....She works part of the time with Martin Luther King, Jr (in a ny chapter). Meets with Malcolm X. Works to further the civil rights movement and spends part of the time in Africa.

She talks about her life/son/marriage in with the history.


The Hotel New Hampshire
The Hotel New Hampshire
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 7/24/2009


Absurd and fun.

This is my 2nd favorite John Irving book. First favorite is "A Prayer for Owen Meany"


The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 901
Review Date: 8/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Started and finished reading "The Hunger Games" today. First book in a while that I've wanted to keep reading, and reading, and reading. Had to go pre-order book 2 from amazon.com.

Young Adult fiction....? It is not only for young adults. Adults will enjoy this as well.

If you like this book, you may also enjoy "The Long Walk" by Stephen King (writing as Richard Bachman) and vice versa.


A Kiss Before Dying
A Kiss Before Dying
Author: Ira Levin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/7/2010


Quick, easy read. Enjoyable and memorable plot.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5695
Review Date: 7/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


One of THE BEST BOOKS I have EVER read.

It should also be mentioned that this is one of the MOST GRAPHIC/VIOLENT books I have ever read. The descriptions are very realistic. Forewarning if that is not your thing.

I will always remember this book. It's one I won't list for exchange on paperbackswap, because I want to keep my copy.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3362
Review Date: 7/24/2009


Enjoyed this book. Fun. Easy. I think even people who don't like reading might like this one. I would read it again (and I don't re-read books).


The Long Walk
The Long Walk
Author: Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 335
Review Date: 7/24/2009


----My favorite Stephen King book----

Disturbing. I just imagine myself on the walk. What would I do. Could you imagine?

Quick reading. Not a long book.

I can never forget the story.


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2497
Review Date: 7/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Ugh!

I tried to read this book a few times, because of all the good reviews. Never could get into or follow this one. My mind just kept drifting. Not for me.


The Pact: A Love Story
The Pact: A Love Story
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 742
Review Date: 12/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


If you like Picoult, you will enjoy this book. It's very within character of other books she writes. Not one of my favorites, but it was a nice read. Didn't leave me really pondering anything like I have with some of her other books. If you've never read books by Jodi Picoult, I suggest starting with another title - Nineteen Minutes is better and still has teenagers as the subject.


A Prayer for Owen Meany
A Prayer for Owen Meany
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/24/2009


One of my all time favorite books.

This book was my introduction to John Irving. After I finished I went and read many others. But in my mind - this one has remained the best.

Great plot. Easy, quick read. Great characters.


The Reader
The Reader
Author: Carol Brown Janeway (Translator), Bernhard Schlink
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1246
Review Date: 7/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Ugh.

Not my thing. Very boring read. Could not get into this. The description sounds so exciting, but the actual reading is not like that.

Could not finish this book to see if the ending was worth it. Just moved on.

And they made this into a movie? I hated it so much, I don't even care to watch the movie.


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: