Lynn D. (LynnReader) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 419 - Page:
50% Off Murder (Good Buy Girls, Bk 1)
50% Off Murder (Good Buy Girls, Bk 1)
Author: Josie Belle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 7/23/2012
Helpful Score: 3


What a lovely summer read, took me maybe 8 hours to finish it! Was fast
moving, I didn't want to put it down once I started. Has a comical air about
it with good, believable characters with a tad of romance in it. Very
entertaining and I hadn't figured out who the killer was until they made
their move to kill off one of the Good Buy Girls! Was a pure pleasure to
read and I look forward to reading the next in the series!


The 7th Bullet (9 Lives of The Outlaw Known as Crazy Cat, Bk 3)
The 7th Bullet (9 Lives of The Outlaw Known as Crazy Cat, Bk 3)
Author: J. C. Loen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/20/2016


This was a entertaining incredible read! I haven't read the others in the series and it didn't hurt the story. Just made me more curious about the whole series! It starts off with Lee (might be Lily) standing at the gallows with the noose around her neck, ready to be hung..................and, ends up with her standing over the grave of her dear departed husband. (With nothing but adventure, fun, often gruesome details included.) Reminds me of "The Artful Detective or Murdoch series" on television --- a speedy fast (read it in a few hours) read! Now I have to go find the other two and wait for the rest to be written!


Abracadaver (Father Dowling, Bk 12)
Abracadaver (Father Dowling, Bk 12)
Author: Ralph McInerny
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/11/2014


I guess the movie shows of this spoiled us --- they were much better than this book. I was disappointed because Father Dowling really doesn't do that much in the written book --- but was still a good mystery!


The After House
The After House
Author: Michael Phillip Cash
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/1/2015


I enjoyed this book so much that I was really sorry it ended! The characters were well portrayed, explained and described well. Plot was good --- made me smile and even chuckle out loud! I especially enjoyed all the boating, whaling and the Captain! I would recommend this book to any one! Was a joy to read, didnt want to put it down and was so upset when it ended!


Against All Enemies (Jonathan Grave, Bk 7)
Against All Enemies (Jonathan Grave, Bk 7)
Author: John Gilstrap
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/12/2015


Jonathan Grave finds it hard to believe that a fellow combat vet has gone rogue, killing American agents and leaking sensitive intel to hostile foreign interests. With black ops assassins on the trail of his old friend, Grave sets out to get to him first. He finds far more than he bargained for. Not only the wily operative, but evidence of a conspiracy so dangerous, so far-reaching, that an unthinkable tragedy is in-motion. Grave and his elite team of specialists must expose a deadly high-level secret and do it in time to avert a catastrophe of historic proportions
This was an absolutely incredible read! I normally dont read books like this but this is fast-paced, moving action through every page! Its better than Lee Childs Reacher stories and, I dont know how to classify it it was scary and I could see something like this happening in our world but not thrilling amazingly well put together story! I enjoyed it so much that I am going to find all of Gilstraps other books and read them also!


Al-thar
Al-thar
Author: Sean Dow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/30/2016


This is an incredible series of books has absolutely everything in it Terrorists, Government, murder, adventure, suspense, patriotism and all tied up in a neat little bundle that you just can't put down once you start! From page one all the way through there is enough action to keep your heart thumping through the whole story the writing is great, the plot intriguing and the chapters are short enough that you can put down easily I really like how the author put in the feelings of Americans in the book - helped the reader to understand why they hate us so much....plus I didn't fall asleep anywhere in this book!....plus I didn't fall asleep anywhere in this book!


Alternate Hilarities (Volume 1)
Alternate Hilarities (Volume 1)
Author: Giovanni Valentino
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/16/2014


An anthology of humorous stories in the Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror genres.

A most interesting read! A combination of authors: Aaron Austin, Adam Millard, Dan Doerflein, Eric James Spanneman, A.B. Rinkin, Felicia Lee, Gavin Cruickshank, Jason Bougger, John H.Dromey, Josh Strnad, Lance Manion etc., have put a combination of stories: science fiction, horror, humor together in one book. Some of these stories just plain startled me, some made me just out and out laugh out loud, some made me think really hard about life here on earth and some were almost scary! It was fun, entertaining and nothing I expected it to be! Normally I never read short stories but this book is well worth the read! Anyone who enjoys to read should find a lot of these stories to their liking!


Angel's Flight (Five Star Mystery Series)
Angel's Flight (Five Star Mystery Series)
Author: Alice Duncan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/19/2012


DUNCAN, ALICE ANGEL'S FLIGHT 978-1-59414-783-8 7/18/2012 2009 Print Length: 222 pages
Publisher: Five Star/Cengage; 2 edition (September 20, 2009)
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
Language: English
978-1-59414-783-8 HARDBACK
2009

Its a warm August morning in 1926 Los Angeles, California. Mercedes Louise Allcutt (Mercy to her friends) is thrilled to be going to her job as secretary to private investigator Ernie Templetonuntil she opens the door and discovers her mother on the doorstep. Known to her friends as Honoria and her daughters as the Wrath of God, Mrs. Allcutt is the very last person on earth whom Mercy wants to see, barring a couple of cold-blooded murderers shes met in the past few weeks. But thats only the beginning of Mercys latest adventure. Add a couple of phony spiritualists, a Hollywoodland gossip columnist who gets bumped off during a séance, a semi-famous starlet, and several other colorful characters, and Mercy manages to find herself in very deep waters indeed. - back of book

What a delightful series! The story was entertaining, suspenseful (I didn't figure out who the killer was until author let us know.) with a lot of humor in it! The characters were very engaging and I enjoyed Buttercup, her French poodle! This is the first in this series that I've read and now I know why I'm always so far behind in my reading, I try to read a book a day and my "too read" pile of books just never gets smaller! I get a book, read it and then have to go grab the rest of the series because it's just "too good" to miss! A charming, engaging story! This is based on the hardback version of "Angel's Flight". Thank you Alice Duncan!


Anni Moon and The Elemental Artifact: An Elemental Fantasy Adventure (The Anni Moon Series) (Volume 1)
Review Date: 10/31/2014


"Anni doesn't know about Elementals, Funk, Zephyrs, excited talking Bat-Rat creatures, and, least of all, Dragons. All that changes when her best friend, Lexi, is kidnapped and forces beyond Annis control trap her on a hidden, floating island in the Elemental world.

In a race against time, Anni sets out to save her friend. Along the way she finds allies among the Elementals, but she is also presented with a choice, one that might help save Lexi. If Anni agrees to an ancient, open-ended contract, will her sacrifice cost her more than shes bargained for? Or will it land her in the middle of an age-old war between the humans, the Elementals, and the dreaded Fectus?"

I enjoyed this book --- was fun reading a book that goes off to another world that no one knows - relaxing and entertaining. It's really well written, very imaginative - the illustrations were great and covered so many subjects - kidnapping, being an orphan.....my only complaint is that it was a tad too long! And it is a fantasy but wasn't very believable!


An Anniversary to Die For (Susan Henshaw, Bk 14)
An Anniversary to Die For (Susan Henshaw, Bk 14)
Author: Valerie Wolzien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/22/2010


This is the 2nd time I've read this book and I adore Valerie Wolzien and particulary like here Susan Henshaw Series but this was just not good! Too many characters involved in the story, not sure where they came from or what happened to them or where they went back to, too many of her family popping in and out with all their dogs and just not enough on the story itself. but I've still been reading all her books and many a 2nd time that are just great!


Antiques Flee Market (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 3)
Antiques Flee Market (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 3)
Author: Barbara Allan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 5/15/2015


Divorcée Brandy Borne and her eternally glamorous if somewhat annoying mother, Vivian, are busy preparing for the Christmas rush in the small Midwestern town of Serenity. Then Walter Yeager, a fellow antiques dealer, dies of cyanide poisoning soon after it becomes public knowledge that the WWII veteran owned a valuable first edition of Tarzan of the Apes, which disappears from the crime scene. Walter's 20-year-old British goth granddaughter, Chaz, becomes the top suspect due to her prison record, but Brandy and Vivian believe she's innocent. Told primarily from Brandy's viewpoint with Vivian sneaking in quips for extra pizzazz, this bubbly tongue-in-cheek cozy also includes flea market shopping tips and a recipe.

This is a cute, comical cozy mystery I enjoy the characters the supposedly mother-daughter team are like oil and water just making the series even more comical! My on problem is that the chapters are too long --- I like lots of breaking spots! But the series is quite good!


The Art of Deception (Boldt / Matthews, Bk 8)
The Art of Deception (Boldt / Matthews, Bk 8)
Author: Ridley Pearson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 7/22/2010


this book got me from page one and kept my attention through the whole story! I learned a lot of things and immediately ran out and got more of this books! Great story!


As Crime Goes by (Old Gang of Mine, Bk 2)
As Crime Goes by (Old Gang of Mine, Bk 2)
Author: Richard F. West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/4/2015


Former jewel thief Peter Benington and Mafia runaway Benny Ashe found a quiet life in the Coral Sands retirement residence. But somehow murder and mayhem follow them wherever they go... The Coral Sands gardener has been murdered, and his body hidden under the rose bushes. Peter and Benny are determined to solve their friend's sudden death--especially when it seems to be linked with an internet friend of their lovely fellow resident, Mildred!

This is just a delightful series and mystery can be read individually or in order. I read this years and years ago and just loved the book ---this time it was as good as the first time! For everyone who things 55+ yr olds are old ----got news for you, this senior citizen housing group is more than even the police can handle and a GREAT read.


At the End of the Day
At the End of the Day
Author: Madelyn Killion
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/21/2014


"All is not what it seems. Or at least thats what Frank Ravenelle thinks. A beleaguered postman with a hobby of reading others mail, Frank lives his life vicariously through the people on his route, at times envious or bewildered, but always shocked by the immorality that has been creeping along the shady streets of his postal route. At least his life is untouched by scandal. Or is it? Set on a wintry Saturday, "At The End of The Day" unveils the lives of five seemingly normal people, who each at his core, is riddled with tumors of doubt, self-loathing and jealousy."

The characters in this book were interesting, each in their own ways. At times I had to concentrate way too hard to figure out who was who - and also found parts of the story rather depressing. Sorry that at the end of the day most of these people were just plain miserable. But the book was well written and I did like the ending so gave it a 4 stars! I even appreciated that it was a short book making for a quick read. A book club might enjoy reading this, would be lot to discuss on all the various characters.


At the Sign of the Jack O'Lantern
At the Sign of the Jack O'Lantern
Author: Myrtle Reed
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/5/2014


"The story follows a newly married couple to a newly inherited house. A slightly creepy old house that quickly fills with more than slightly unsavory guests. Uncle Ebenezer has left the house to Harlin and Dorothy, but they've also inherited his uninvited summer visitors. There are newlywed misunderstandings, uncontrolled children, secrets, and a book-in-progress."

This was such a pure pleasure to read. As old as it is --- it still applies to today and today's families....had me chuckling and laughing out loud and remembering relatives on both sides of our family! Don't believe will ever go out of style. Myrtle Reed really writes in a classical style! Believe anyone would enjoy this book!


Atlantis Found (Dirk Pitt, Bk 15)
Atlantis Found (Dirk Pitt, Bk 15)
Author: Clive Cussler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 7/22/2010


This is the 1st Clive Cussler Book I've read, I did see one in a movie and even though it's #15 in the series I didn't feel left out and the story was good, plot line great! Really good entertaining read!


Before the Wind: A novel
Before the Wind: A novel
Author: Jim Lynch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/28/2016


Joshua Johannssen has spent all of his life surrounded by sailboats. His grandfather designed them, his father built and raced them, his Einstein-obsessed mother knows why and how they work (or not). For Josh and his two siblings, their backyard was the Puget Sound and sailing their DNA. But both his sister and brother fled many years ago: Ruby to Africa and elsewhere to do good works on land, and Bernard to god-knows-where at sea, a fugitive and pirate. Suddenly thirty-one, Josh--who repairs boats of all kinds in a Steinbeckian marina south of Seattle--is pained and confused by whatever the hell went wrong with his volatile family. His parents are barely speaking, his mystified grandfather is drinking harder, and he himself--despite an endless and comic flurry of online dates--hasn't even come close to finding a girlfriend.

But when the Johannssens unexpectedly reunite for the most important race in these waters--all of them together on a classic vessel they made decades ago--they will be carried to destinies both individual and collective, and to a heart-shattering revelation. Past and present merge seamlessly and collide surprisingly as Jim Lynch reveals a family unlike any other, with the grace and humor and magic of a master storyteller.

What a trip! I laughed, I cried and will remember the Johannssens for the rest of my life! What a marvelous, wonderful family and their adventures in ship building and sailing is just awesome! Any boater of any type (sail, power, canoe, kayak, playing with a boat in the bathtub) will adore this magnificent story! I was so very sorry when the story ended --- not enough stars to rate this book!


Being a Captain is Hard Work: A Captain No Beard Story (Volume 10)
Review Date: 3/13/2016


This was a well written, greatly illustrated young readers read! As an adult I found it well worth reading and adored the lesson it taught that could be for every human being --- really liked how she had a last page showing, listing and explaining all our types of clouds!


The Best Revenge (Alan Gregory, Bk 11)
The Best Revenge (Alan Gregory, Bk 11)
Author: Stephen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 7/22/2010


This man can write, a thoroughly enjoyable, entertaining great read! and even though I didn't read the whole series, I did not feel left out by not reading all the others first but will get to more of them!


Beware
Beware
Author: Richard Laymon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 4/10/2010


Caught my attention, held it, and made you think....hard and long!


1 to 20 of 419 - Page: