Caryn C. (agschoolgrad) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
A Common Life (Mitford Years) (Audio Cassette)
A Common Life (Mitford Years) (Audio Cassette)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 11/14/2005


I enjoyed this one very much. I have read almost all of the Mitford books now. Although I have read them out of order, I still like to follow the charactes lives as they unfold.


Ecology of a Cracker Childhood
Ecology of a Cracker Childhood
Author: Janisse Ray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/30/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I enjoyed this book. Being from middle Georgia, I could relate to some of the stories, especially about the Goat Man, and no snake is a good snake. Opened my eyes to how forestry practices to support a growing population destroy the environment.


Ender's Game (Ender Quartet)
Ender's Game (Ender Quartet)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 7/26/2005


Hard to believe these are children.


Get More Done in Less Time
Get More Done in Less Time
Author: Donna Otto
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/19/2005


Good information, system can seem complex.


Ilse Witch (The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara, Book 1)
Ilse Witch (The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara, Book 1)
Author: Terry Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 9/20/2005


I don't normally read this genre, but enjoyed this one so much that I am going to look for all of the other books by this author.


In This Mountain (Mitford Years (Audio))
In This Mountain (Mitford Years (Audio))
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/29/2005


I love the characters in this series. They are very endearing.


Prey (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Prey (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Author: Michael Crichton, George Wilson (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/7/2005


I throughly enjoyed this book. Makes you wonder if we really understand all this technology we continue to create.


Sanctuary
Sanctuary
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 419
Review Date: 8/28/2005


Book is ok, but not one of my favorite from Nora. Took me a while to get into, but then held my interest.


The Stanislaski Brothers: Mikhail and Alex
The Stanislaski Brothers: Mikhail and Alex
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 310
Review Date: 7/2/2005


Both stories were enjoyable, and you did not know if it would be happily ever after until the very end. Nora does a good job of making these stand-alone books where you would not have had to read the other books about the family to understand what was happening.


Two-Hour Applique: Over 200 Original Designs
Two-Hour Applique: Over 200 Original Designs
Author: Leslie Allen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/23/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Overall, I was not impressed with the designs in this book. I am just beginning in applique, and need a lot of hand-holding, this book does not provide a lot of that, in my opinion.


The Viking Funeral (Shane Scully, Bk 2) (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Review Date: 3/1/2006


I think the abridgement of this books leaves a lot to be desired. Main points that were important to the development of the story were left out, in my opinion.


Villa, The (Nova Audio Books)
Villa, The (Nova Audio Books)
Author: Nora Roberts, Laural Merlington
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/6/2006


I did not like the narrator at first, but she grew on me. At times, it was difficult to distinguish among the characters - not enough difference in the voice used. I liked the story, though.


The Woman Who Rides Like a Man (Pierce, Tamora. Song of the Lioness (New York, N.Y.), Bk. 3.)
Review Date: 5/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Good, but wish I had read the books that come before this one to have gotten the relationships between some of the characters.


1 to 13 of 13