Mary W. (edfan) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
101 Essential Tips: Basic Meditation
101 Essential Tips: Basic Meditation
Author: Naomi Ozaniec
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/1/2014


This is a book I will never repost. I keep buying copies for other people. It is simple and sweet, covers the eseentials. Pictures and information make it user-friendly.


About Face (Guido Brunetti, Bk 18)
About Face (Guido Brunetti, Bk 18)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 2/6/2017


I love the Inspector Brunetti series and rank those I have read with either a four or five star review. I like the way the author weaves the personal life of Guido and his wife, her parents, his children, into the stories. I like being the "tourist" in Venice, Italy, where the mysteries are set. I am sure Venetians are not fond of the way Leon depicts Italian, and especially Venetian, governmental corruption, but it seems she has a real handle on life in Italy.
If you are new to the series, they are stand-alone mysteries, but starting with the first one will provide you with more details about Brunetti's family and professional life. Recurring characters are interesting!


Hard Times, Third Edition (Norton Critical Editions)
Hard Times, Third Edition (Norton Critical Editions)
Author: Charles Dickens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/10/2012


While some in my book group found this book difficult to get into, others were intrigued by the similarity of themes to contemporary times. Are we not concerned about those with rigid beliefs that defy understanding and who reject any attempt to reason? That would be the characters of Gradgrind and Bounderby. Do we not sympathize with workers subjected to inhumane conditions, miners, factory workers, particularly in foreign countries? That would be the workers in Coketown, Dickens' fictional setting for this novel. Love thwarted, parents who misunderstand children, people who spy on others, people stuck in their unfortunate circumstances, bad marriages, these are all interesting themes explored in this book, one of Dickens shorter novels. Give it a chance beyond the first 20 pages.


Hardball (V.I. Warshawski, Bk 13)
Hardball (V.I. Warshawski, Bk 13)
Author: Sara Paretsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 7/20/2016


Particularly relevant to current events, this book examines racial history and police corruption in an interesting case that started as a missing person. In addition to Vic and friends from previous books, we also are introduced to her cousin, Petra, and other characters who reflect much of Paretsky's own Chicago history. Some in my book group felt that V.I. is getting a little too old for all of the violent things that happen to her body, and her quick recovery. We hope future books will emphasize her problem solving more than her physical prowess.


In the Electric Mist with Confederate Dead (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 6)
In the Electric Mist with Confederate Dead (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 6)
Author: James Lee Burke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 3/24/2015


I jumped into the Dave Robicheaux series with this book on the recommendation of William Kent Krueger who likes Burke's books very much; based on this one book, I do too.
Great title which leads to one of the mysteries, exactly what and who did see what in the mist! Also, there are a series of interesting mysteries surrounding a central mystery. Complex characters as well as a complicated plot keep the story moving quickly.
This falls in the category of a darker mystery series, not an "English cozy" mystery.


Murder in the Marais (Aimee Leduc, Bk 1)
Murder in the Marais (Aimee Leduc, Bk 1)
Author: Cara Black
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 7/14/2015


My book group read this book for one of our summer selections, one of two mysteries set in Europe - this one and Donna Leon's Doctored Evidence. As a whole, our group preferred Leon's book and main character. However, many of us enjoyed the mystery at the center of Murder in the Marais, and thought of its contemporary application. I will look for additional books featuring Aimee Leduc and her sidekick. As an additional bonus, this book does give a nice feel for the area of the Marais, and inspires me to visit the home of Victor Hugo on my next visit to Paris!


The Rainaldi Quartet (Castiglione and Guastafeste, Bk 1)
The Rainaldi Quartet (Castiglione and Guastafeste, Bk 1)
Author: Paul Adam
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/11/2017


Interesting characters and setting in Italy form a foundation for a mystery involving - violins! I learned so much about the making of and the counterfeiting of violins. The Quartet of the title are an interesting combination of amateur musicians including, of course, a police inspector.
Really good mystery; only wish the author would continue writing more. There is one more, Paganini's Ghost. Check it out, too!


To Kill a Mockingbird
To Kill a Mockingbird
Author: Harper Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2958
Review Date: 4/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


To Kill a Mockingbird is an American classic, beautifully written with vivid characters and compelling themes. Scout, Jem, and Atticus Finch come alive to us in the small town where they live and meet the challenges of southern racism and bigotry. Although the movie version with Gregory Peck as Atticus is outstanding, so much wonderful detail is omitted that reading the book is a must.


A Trouble of Fools (Carlotta Carlyle, Bk 1)
A Trouble of Fools (Carlotta Carlyle, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Barnes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 10/5/2012


The first in the Carlotta Carlyle series, the author takes a little time at the beginning to introduce us to the main character who will anchor the series. She is interesting and fun, smart and adventurous. She takes a case of a missing brother, but the plot has more twists and turns, with surprises along the way, just the way a good mystery book should. I will surely read more in this newly-found series.


1 to 9 of 9